3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Software Tip - Recabinet Sale
Staffy
post Oct 27 2009, 09:45 PM
Post #21


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (Fingerspasm @ Oct 27 2009, 05:51 PM) *
Plus I can try the Recabinet also. I just remembered that this thread was originally about the Recabinet. I got off on a tangent talking about recording gear and amps. smile.gif


Nah, this is not off-topic. Everything is connected here, what You say about amps & recording & microphones is exactly what Recabinet tries to emulate. The interesting thing with Recabinet is that You can really have different instances running on the same time emulating just what You are trying to do. E.g different mics, different distances etc. And You can even try to emulate several stacks with the same preamp by just duplicate the original track, have some different mics,boxes on each channel (or the same, but with slightly different EQ and maybe a little delay between them?) Ooh, I can hardly wait to try this out, but I'm still working right now.... sad.gif

//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Oct 27 2009, 10:31 PM
Post #22


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



Hmm, I guess I just scratched the surface in this area, I found these links as well:

Free Impulse Responses:
Guitar and Speaker Cabs from Noisevault:
http://noisevault.com/nv/index.php?option=...tcat&cat=18

A ton of cab impulses available, requires free registration to download - well worth your time, I promise:
http://www.guitarampmodeling.com/viewforum.php?f=32

Vintage Amp Reverb Impulse Responses
http://noox.sitesled.com/

More good reverb impulses (Get the file "Springreverbs.zip" and look for the Plate reverb as well, it's excellent). You can use the Babelfish translater from www.altavista.com to translate the web page from German to English if you have trouble navigating it:
http://www.echochamber.ch/

There are free impulse for Bass cabinets/mics as well. They all will work well with a host like keFIR (http://habib.webhost.pl/_vst_keFIR.php
) , that is both VST/RTAS-compatible....

//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Oct 27 2009, 10:53 PM
Post #23


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I heard about recabinet before, and investigated a bit about impulses, but didn't quite get into the whole story, I need THD Hotplate first. My Hiwatt DR103 doesn't have any kind of output besides speaker output at the back.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Oct 28 2009, 12:06 AM
Post #24


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



Wow... I just tested this stuff very quickly (not focusing on the playing as You can hear...).
I just routed the line-out from my Fender Hotrod Deluxe "hot" channel directly into the DAW, without any effects.
Then I used keFIR and loaded the greenback/SM57 Sim. It really makes a difference as You can hear below.
And the mikings/cabinets all sounds very different.... Great software for practically nothing....


//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fingerspasm
post Oct 28 2009, 01:07 AM
Post #25


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 234
Joined: 19-October 08
From: Missouri
Member No.: 6.104



QUOTE (Staffy @ Oct 27 2009, 06:06 PM) *
Wow... I just tested this stuff very quickly (not focusing on the playing as You can hear...).
I just routed the line-out from my Fender Hotrod Deluxe "hot" channel directly into the DAW, without any effects.
Then I used keFIR and loaded the greenback/SM57 Sim. It really makes a difference as You can hear below.
And the mikings/cabinets all sounds very different.... Great software for practically nothing....


//Staffay


Hey Staffy thanks for all this great info. I am really looking forward to digging into this stuff. I still have not had time today. I do not want to start until I have at least 2 hours to spare. I have learned not to mess with stuff like this unless there is plenty of time available because time just flies once your start playing with this stuff smile.gif
Your demo sounds good. Thanks for posting it.


--------------------
My Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/user/FingerSpasm?feature=mhum

Courage does not always roar. Sometimes its the quiet voice at the end of the day that says I will try again tomorrow.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Oct 28 2009, 01:19 AM
Post #26


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (Fingerspasm @ Oct 28 2009, 01:07 AM) *
Hey Staffy thanks for all this great info. I am really looking forward to digging into this stuff. I still have not had time today. I do not want to start until I have at least 2 hours to spare. I have learned not to mess with stuff like this unless there is plenty of time available because time just flies once your start playing with this stuff smile.gif
Your demo sounds good. Thanks for posting it.


It was just for demonstrate a little what it actually can do, all the harshness from the preamp disappeared, and if I have ´been a little more cautious with the basic sound and made some adjustments in the DAW, im pretty convinced that the sound would have been great...

//Staffay

EDIT: Btw. I also used it in conjunction with Studio Devil in the "Aeolian collab" for those who is interested.... (a couple of these impulses are included with this software)

This post has been edited by Staffy: Oct 28 2009, 01:22 AM


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fingerspasm
post Oct 28 2009, 01:24 AM
Post #27


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 234
Joined: 19-October 08
From: Missouri
Member No.: 6.104



QUOTE (Staffy @ Oct 27 2009, 07:19 PM) *
It was just for demonstrate a little what it actually can do, all the harshness from the preamp disappeared, and if I have ´been a little more cautious with the basic sound and made some adjustments in the DAW, im pretty convinced that the sound would have been great...

//Staffay

EDIT: Btw. I also used it in conjunction with Studio Devil in the "Aeolian collab" for those who is interested.... (a couple of these impulses are included with this software)


Yes there is a noticeable difference between the two. Am looking forward to playing with it. I have some old tracks already recorded I am curious to see if I can use it on those to see if I can improve the sound quality.


--------------------
My Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/user/FingerSpasm?feature=mhum

Courage does not always roar. Sometimes its the quiet voice at the end of the day that says I will try again tomorrow.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Oct 28 2009, 01:43 PM
Post #28


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Very nice Staffy, I like both the signal and playing! smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neurologi
post Oct 29 2009, 02:38 PM
Post #29


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 370
Joined: 28-August 09
From: Vaasa, Finland
Member No.: 7.566



Just thought that if VictorUK has an FX Send on his 5150 combo then that could be used as a line out signal in combination with Recabinet? If it has one that is of course. It certainly would be a tad cheaper solution than forking out the dough for a power attenuator.

This post has been edited by Neurologi: Oct 29 2009, 02:40 PM


--------------------
My gear? Mesa Boogie Triaxis - TC Electronic G-Major - Marshall 9200 Dual MonoBloc (2x100W) - Fender Roc Pro 4x12 (300W) + a whole lot more!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Oct 29 2009, 05:42 PM
Post #30


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



How well does amp sound translate through line out? Can you crank the amp and get a safe level and signal for your computer? In other words can you basically use this kind of software to silently record your amp into the computer, model the speaker with the software and get a better tone than something like pod farm?


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Keilnoth
post Oct 29 2009, 07:41 PM
Post #31


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 686
Joined: 10-April 09
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 7.035



QUOTE (JVM @ Oct 29 2009, 05:42 PM) *
How well does amp sound translate through line out? Can you crank the amp and get a safe level and signal for your computer? In other words can you basically use this kind of software to silently record your amp into the computer, model the speaker with the software and get a better tone than something like pod farm?


I am using it like Guitar Rig or Pod Farm directly plugged as an effect (using Kefir VST to do that) on the guitar channel in my DAW (Ableton). I turned my POD cabinet to Off and go through Recabinet and I am getting a cool sound to record in my DAW.

So I think the answer is Yes. wink.gif


--------------------

My Guitars: Fender Stratocaster Billy Corgan Signature, Ibanez RG270
My Amp: Peavey Bandit 112
My Pedals: Blackstar HT-Dual, Boss DD-7, Boss CS-3, Boss RC-20
My Wishlist: New bridge + Pickups for my Ibanez, EHX POG2, EHX Cathedral / Holy Grail
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neurologi
post Oct 29 2009, 07:46 PM
Post #32


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 370
Joined: 28-August 09
From: Vaasa, Finland
Member No.: 7.566



QUOTE (Keilnoth @ Oct 29 2009, 08:41 PM) *
I am using it like Guitar Rig or Pod Farm directly plugged as an effect (using Kefir VST to do that) on the guitar channel in my DAW (Ableton). I turned my POD cabinet to Off and go through Recabinet and I am getting a cool sound to record in my DAW.

So I think the answer is Yes. wink.gif


Glad to hear it is working out well for you. I haven't really tested out all possibilities just yet but I managed to get good results quite fast.


--------------------
My gear? Mesa Boogie Triaxis - TC Electronic G-Major - Marshall 9200 Dual MonoBloc (2x100W) - Fender Roc Pro 4x12 (300W) + a whole lot more!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Oct 29 2009, 08:12 PM
Post #33


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (JVM @ Oct 29 2009, 05:42 PM) *
How well does amp sound translate through line out? Can you crank the amp and get a safe level and signal for your computer? In other words can you basically use this kind of software to silently record your amp into the computer, model the speaker with the software and get a better tone than something like pod farm?


Since the line out in most amps are based on the pre-amp section, there is no need to crank the amp, just put the master on Zero if You like.... The levels can U adjust on the soundcard instead. All reviews I read with users who has POD and tried this is positive and says it sounds a lot better, but I cant tell since I doesn't own a POD...

//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Oct 29 2009, 09:24 PM
Post #34


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



QUOTE (Staffy @ Oct 29 2009, 03:12 PM) *
Since the line out in most amps are based on the pre-amp section, there is no need to crank the amp, just put the master on Zero if You like.... The levels can U adjust on the soundcard instead. All reviews I read with users who has POD and tried this is positive and says it sounds a lot better, but I cant tell since I doesn't own a POD...

//Staffay


Cool. Lots of technical info in this thread I didn't understand smile.gif I listened to your takes, I should have done that first. Nice demo and thanks for the tip.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Oct 29 2009, 09:39 PM
Post #35


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (JVM @ Oct 29 2009, 09:24 PM) *
Cool. Lots of technical info in this thread I didn't understand smile.gif I listened to your takes, I should have done that first. Nice demo and thanks for the tip.


Thats cool, just ask me bout anything, if I can, I will be happy to help !!!


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Oct 31 2009, 07:38 PM
Post #36


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



I got recabinet. I'll upload some samples in the next couple days.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Oct 31 2009, 08:34 PM
Post #37


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



So just to be sure, I can take a guitar cable from the out on my amp (which has both an FX loop with send/return and a 'record/phones' output, I guess I'd use the latter?) and plug that into my toneport GX which should give me signal in a DAW, right?


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Oct 31 2009, 08:44 PM
Post #38


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (JVM @ Oct 31 2009, 08:34 PM) *
So just to be sure, I can take a guitar cable from the out on my amp (which has both an FX loop with send/return and a 'record/phones' output, I guess I'd use the latter?) and plug that into my toneport GX which should give me signal in a DAW, right?


You should be able to connect from record/phones output to the toneport GX and then turn off all the cabinet/amp modeling in the Gearbox/Pod farm software. You should be able to get a signal from your amp in a DAW that way.
P.s. Hopefully that output is mono, I'm not sure how it will work if its stereo.
p.p.s. also fx send output should work too.

Just make sure that you don't connect anything to the speakers output (other then amps cabinet/speakers).

This post has been edited by Bogdan Radovic: Oct 31 2009, 08:46 PM


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Oct 31 2009, 09:14 PM
Post #39


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



I got it working, but I have a problem. I was happily playing away with my headphones on getting a nice sound in the DAW, when I start hearing farting noises come out of the amp itself. They're not particularly loud, and they seem to be pretty random - the speaker is actually muted, I tried using different cables, same issue, the tubes look fine, but still this farting noise. In fact it still does this when the amp has no guitar (or cable) plugged into it, all on its own, with the speaker muted. Any ideas? I've never heard this before. I definitely didn't hook anything up to the speaker outputs btw.

It sounds sort of like bubble-wrap, pop, poppoppop pop pop etc

This post has been edited by JVM: Oct 31 2009, 09:21 PM


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neurologi
post Nov 1 2009, 11:21 AM
Post #40


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 370
Joined: 28-August 09
From: Vaasa, Finland
Member No.: 7.566



Another Tip:
By popular request, the Recabinet Complete $14.99 sale has been extended indefinitely.

I subscribed to the newsletter and the above popped into my mailbox just moments ago. So for anyone who may have missed it, you still have a chance to pick this up at a great discount.

QUOTE (JVM @ Oct 31 2009, 10:14 PM) *
I got it working, but I have a problem. I was happily playing away with my headphones on getting a nice sound in the DAW, when I start hearing farting noises come out of the amp itself. They're not particularly loud, and they seem to be pretty random - the speaker is actually muted, I tried using different cables, same issue, the tubes look fine, but still this farting noise. In fact it still does this when the amp has no guitar (or cable) plugged into it, all on its own, with the speaker muted. Any ideas? I've never heard this before. I definitely didn't hook anything up to the speaker outputs btw.

It sounds sort of like bubble-wrap, pop, poppoppop pop pop etc


Tubes look fine? Doesn't mean they are fine. You may need a retube. When was the last time they were replaced? That is my first guess ... What do you mean by muting the speaker? It is a combo right? It could be a grounding issue or dodgy power supply ... The list goes on ... smile.gif

Actually, I think Bogdan's post is a little misleading. It may have been lost in translation? There should always be something connected to the poweramp output ... as in speaker cabinet or dummy load. I don't know what kind of connections your amp has so I am clutching at straws here as to your problem.

This post has been edited by Neurologi: Nov 1 2009, 06:13 PM


--------------------
My gear? Mesa Boogie Triaxis - TC Electronic G-Major - Marshall 9200 Dual MonoBloc (2x100W) - Fender Roc Pro 4x12 (300W) + a whole lot more!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 10:54 AM