Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Broken Effects Loop?
JVM
post Nov 4 2009, 02:44 AM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



What does a broken effects loop or send/record output sound like, if anyone knows? As some of you may know, I just bought ReCabinet in hopes of hooking up my amp directly to the computer. Well, my main amp (a mesa boogie f-30) needs new tubes I think. But I also have a mesa f-50 head and cab (looking to sell, if anyone is interested) laying around, and I decided to lug that over to the computer and try it, but all I get is a scratchy fuzzy sound coming out of the daw.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Clare
post Nov 4 2009, 02:50 AM
Post #2


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 255
Joined: 25-September 08
From: nova scotia,canada
Member No.: 5.959



I didn,t know you could hook up an amp directly to your computer??????? unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Nov 4 2009, 03:10 AM
Post #3


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



You can hook up the preamp with a line level output that a lot of newer amps have, into an audio interface like a toneport.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Clare
post Nov 4 2009, 03:17 AM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 255
Joined: 25-September 08
From: nova scotia,canada
Member No.: 5.959



Ahhh..i got cha now, yeah i forgot about going in to the audio interface wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Nov 4 2009, 02:04 PM
Post #5


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Maybe you overloaded the recording interface input. Try lowering input gain on the amp and same in the Gearbox software to get a clearer sound.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Nov 4 2009, 06:00 PM
Post #6


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Nov 4 2009, 08:04 AM) *
Maybe you overloaded the recording interface input. Try lowering input gain on the amp and same in the Gearbox software to get a clearer sound.


It's a strange thing. It makes this signal in the daw even when the amp's volume is turned all the way off (and gain), the guitar's volume is down, the amp can be on standby and it will still make the signal. I've tested each amp and they both work fine, gearbox and podfarm both work fine as well with just the guitar plugged in.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Nov 4 2009, 10:24 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Did you use some cabinet modeling, or you are monitoring the direct signal from the head?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 4 2009, 11:40 PM
Post #8


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I'm a little confused and maybe I misunderstood all of it, you're not patching into the effects loop signal like the thread subject implies, are you unsure.gif

I think weäre talking about the Line out, right?
And if you're doubtful about the Line out you could listen with headphones straight out from it, if you hear the same buzz and fuzz you do in the DAW it's safe to say the Line out isn't working.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Nov 5 2009, 01:38 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (MickeM @ Nov 4 2009, 11:40 PM) *
I'm a little confused and maybe I misunderstood all of it, you're not patching into the effects loop signal like the thread subject implies, are you unsure.gif

I think weäre talking about the Line out, right?
And if you're doubtful about the Line out you could listen with headphones straight out from it, if you hear the same buzz and fuzz you do in the DAW it's safe to say the Line out isn't working.


Yes this makes sense... Also, Line out usually doesn't produce very good sound on it's own, not sure how good is speaker emulation on it tho..


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th March 2017 - 11:04 PM