Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pre Amp Into Power Amp Volume Weirdness
Marc_Maiden
post Nov 11 2009, 07:55 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



hey guys, i was hoping someone can explain this to me:


i am plugging my digitech rp500 as a pre amp into the power amp of my blackstar ht-5 (5 watt) head.

the weird thing is, the volume is MUCH MUCH MUCH louder!



right now i am playing with the master volume at 9 o clock (a quarter of the way up) and it is playing with the volume i usually would get at maybe 10-12 o clock...i cant even turn it to 12 o clock with out 1 palm muted pick shaking the entire house.



can anyone explain this?


thanks!
MArc


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
post Nov 11 2009, 10:21 PM
Post #2


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 3.185
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 2.164



I think your Digitech rp500 is just pushing the Poweramp of the Blackstar harder than the actual Preamp of the HT-5.
Can you lower the output of your Pedal?


--------------------


Gear:
- Jackson USA Select KV2 King V with EMG 81/85
- Gibson Les Paul Custom Arctic White with EMG 81/85
- Ibanez Rg 8527 J Custom 7-String with DiMarzio Evolution and Air Norton

- Peavey 6505+ head with Marshall 1960AV 4x12 cab
- Peavey Vypyr 30 Practice Amp
- Dunlop Crybaby From Hell, Maxon OD808, Boss TU-2, MXR CarbonCopy, ISP Decimator, MXR Custom Audio Electronics Booster

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Nov 11 2009, 10:30 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



yeah i can,


its not a problem, i just think its a cool fix to the "blackstar" not being loud enough problem...i guess ill be using this pedal as pre amp for practice and gigs then smile.gif


i guess the next obvious question would be....is it bad? the only thing i see going south is that it might wear out the poweramp tubes faster than normal


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Nov 11 2009, 11:02 PM
Post #4


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Hmm I think this should be safe. Your digitech is giving out hotter signal to poweramp thus power increase. Nice tweak you found out.. smile.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
post Nov 11 2009, 11:05 PM
Post #5


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 3.185
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 2.164



I dunno how much the poweramp can take...if it's built to withstand the full output of the amps preamp, you might damage it with putting more than the preamps maximum output into it...

To be on the safe side: Try not to crank it to the max and it should be fine!


--------------------


Gear:
- Jackson USA Select KV2 King V with EMG 81/85
- Gibson Les Paul Custom Arctic White with EMG 81/85
- Ibanez Rg 8527 J Custom 7-String with DiMarzio Evolution and Air Norton

- Peavey 6505+ head with Marshall 1960AV 4x12 cab
- Peavey Vypyr 30 Practice Amp
- Dunlop Crybaby From Hell, Maxon OD808, Boss TU-2, MXR CarbonCopy, ISP Decimator, MXR Custom Audio Electronics Booster

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 11 2009, 11:11 PM
Post #6


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Nov 11 2009, 10:30 PM) *
i guess the next obvious question would be....is it bad? the only thing i see going south is that it might wear out the poweramp tubes faster than normal

The signal is stronger from the Digitech than from the actual preamp.

Is it bad? A slight signal strength increase isn't bad, it's like an OD into the preamp, or an EQ with boost in the loop.
It'll just wear out the poweramp tube quicker, that's all. If that's bad or not depends on weather you think it's worth it or not wink.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Nov 14 2009, 02:20 AM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Several techs told me that putting processors with hot signals in front of a tube amp can damage it. Not sure if this applies to HT5, but I wouldn't consider this a proper way to make it more louder.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Nov 14 2009, 06:48 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



dont worry ivan, i havent been cranking it at all,

i just use it to "hear" what im playing. when i use the processor live, i put it in the loop and work it like a stompbox with modeling off


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Nov 16 2009, 01:00 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Ah, no problem mate, just gave my opinion. I'm not entirely sure if this can damage the amp to be honest, but just wanted to give a "better safe than sorry" kind of opinion. smile.gif

cheers


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 04:18 PM