Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pod X3 Live - Amp Connection
Rated Htr
post Nov 11 2009, 11:49 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.095
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Leiria, Portugal
Member No.: 3.056



How do I connect the pod with an amp? I'm using two leads and the connection I have is my guitar to the guitar in from the pod and the phones from the pod to the amp but I know there has to be a better way :S.


--------------------
Currently Practicing

Rhythm: Finnish Power Metal III: Nightwish
Legato: Ben's Land Of Legato
Alternate Picking: Alternate Picking Workout #5
Chords: Chord Melody Technique

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dexxter
post Nov 11 2009, 11:58 PM
Post #2


Learning Tone Guru
*

Group: Members
Posts: 645
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.196



I connect the pod to my amp via "LIVE OUT". Works perfectly for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rated Htr
post Nov 12 2009, 12:01 AM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.095
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Leiria, Portugal
Member No.: 3.056



but, do you use two leads? one for right, one for left, and where do you connect the in the amp? I hear sound, but it's not as good sad.gif


--------------------
Currently Practicing

Rhythm: Finnish Power Metal III: Nightwish
Legato: Ben's Land Of Legato
Alternate Picking: Alternate Picking Workout #5
Chords: Chord Melody Technique

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dexxter
post Nov 12 2009, 12:17 AM
Post #4


Learning Tone Guru
*

Group: Members
Posts: 645
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.196



Hmm, no I'm not using double tones. Sorry, don't know how you should connect it then sad.gif

I usually put the cable from the right "Live out" straight into the amp input.

Have checked in the manual? I know they have a page there which shows different ways of connecting and using the pod with an amp
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rated Htr
post Nov 12 2009, 12:23 AM
Post #5


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.095
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Leiria, Portugal
Member No.: 3.056



QUOTE (Dexxter @ Nov 11 2009, 11:17 PM) *
Hmm, no I'm not using double tones. Sorry, don't know how you should connect it then sad.gif

I usually put the cable from the right "Live out" straight into the amp input.

Have checked in the manual? I know they have a page there which shows different ways of connecting and using the pod with an amp


Yeah, I tried to do that...But the sound on low volume doesn't sound that good...Maybe it's because of the tone or the halfstack? i'm not using double tone, it's because you have right and left entries.


--------------------
Currently Practicing

Rhythm: Finnish Power Metal III: Nightwish
Legato: Ben's Land Of Legato
Alternate Picking: Alternate Picking Workout #5
Chords: Chord Melody Technique

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dexxter
post Nov 12 2009, 12:30 AM
Post #6


Learning Tone Guru
*

Group: Members
Posts: 645
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.196



QUOTE (Rated Htr @ Nov 12 2009, 12:23 AM) *
Yeah, I tried to do that...But the sound on low volume doesn't sound that good...Maybe it's because of the tone or the halfstack? i'm not using double tone, it's because you have right and left entries.


But why do you need a stereo output, when the guitar tone is mono? Sorry, I just don't understand why you need that if you're not using double tones.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rated Htr
post Nov 12 2009, 12:33 AM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.095
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Leiria, Portugal
Member No.: 3.056



QUOTE (Dexxter @ Nov 11 2009, 11:30 PM) *
But why do you need a stereo output, when the guitar tone is mono? Sorry, I just don't understand why you need that if you're not using double tones.


Well, I'll see tomorrow with more volume. Sorry Dexxter, I'm the stupid one that doesn't know how this works tongue.gif


--------------------
Currently Practicing

Rhythm: Finnish Power Metal III: Nightwish
Legato: Ben's Land Of Legato
Alternate Picking: Alternate Picking Workout #5
Chords: Chord Melody Technique

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dexxter
post Nov 12 2009, 12:37 AM
Post #8


Learning Tone Guru
*

Group: Members
Posts: 645
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.196



QUOTE (Rated Htr @ Nov 12 2009, 12:33 AM) *
Well, I'll see tomorrow with more volume. Sorry Dexxter, I'm the stupid one that doesn't know how this works tongue.gif


I'm sure it's just the volume, an amp always sounds better cranked smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rated Htr
post Nov 12 2009, 12:38 AM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.095
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Leiria, Portugal
Member No.: 3.056



QUOTE (Dexxter @ Nov 11 2009, 11:37 PM) *
I'm sure it's just the volume, an amp always sounds better cranked smile.gif


Specially if it's a halfstack tongue.gif


--------------------
Currently Practicing

Rhythm: Finnish Power Metal III: Nightwish
Legato: Ben's Land Of Legato
Alternate Picking: Alternate Picking Workout #5
Chords: Chord Melody Technique

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Nov 12 2009, 12:39 AM
Post #10


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Left lead is usually (mono) out on those multieffects units that have an option of stereo sound (space effects etc). You should be fine connecting just to the left out and that is how you should connect pod to the amp. Now bear in mind that you need to tweak sound on the POD and amp to get one you like. POD sounds much different when played directly through headphones and when played through amp. Tweak your amp/pod to find the guitar tone you like.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dexxter
post Nov 12 2009, 01:08 AM
Post #11


Learning Tone Guru
*

Group: Members
Posts: 645
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.196



QUOTE (Rated Htr @ Nov 12 2009, 12:38 AM) *
Specially if it's a halfstack tongue.gif


Haha laugh.gif


QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Nov 12 2009, 12:39 AM) *
Left lead is usually (mono) out on those multieffects units that have an option of stereo sound (space effects etc). You should be fine connecting just to the left out and that is how you should connect pod to the amp. Now bear in mind that you need to tweak sound on the POD and amp to get one you like. POD sounds much different when played directly through headphones and when played through amp. Tweak your amp/pod to find the guitar tone you like.


Good advice for everyone! When I connected my pod to my amp I got a completely different sound than I got on my computer speakers. It sounded really good on the speakers but on the amp it was very discant. Now after I fixed it I like the sound I get from the amp a LOT more biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rated Htr
post Nov 12 2009, 01:31 AM
Post #12


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.095
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Leiria, Portugal
Member No.: 3.056



QUOTE (Dexxter @ Nov 12 2009, 12:08 AM) *
Haha laugh.gif




Good advice for everyone! When I connected my pod to my amp I got a completely different sound than I got on my computer speakers. It sounded really good on the speakers but on the amp it was very discant. Now after I fixed it I like the sound I get from the amp a LOT more biggrin.gif


Maybe that's what's happening to me, considering I didn't change anything smile.gif


--------------------
Currently Practicing

Rhythm: Finnish Power Metal III: Nightwish
Legato: Ben's Land Of Legato
Alternate Picking: Alternate Picking Workout #5
Chords: Chord Melody Technique

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dexxter
post Nov 12 2009, 01:37 AM
Post #13


Learning Tone Guru
*

Group: Members
Posts: 645
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.196



QUOTE (Rated Htr @ Nov 12 2009, 01:31 AM) *
Maybe that's what's happening to me, considering I didn't change anything smile.gif


Maybe smile.gif play around with it tomorrow with some nice volume wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Daniel Realpe
post Nov 12 2009, 02:20 AM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.655
Joined: 11-October 09
From: Bogota
Member No.: 7.694



QUOTE (Rated Htr @ Nov 11 2009, 11:49 PM) *
How do I connect the pod with an amp? I'm using two leads and the connection I have is my guitar to the guitar in from the pod and the phones from the pod to the amp but I know there has to be a better way :S.


You have to check what tone are using, either 1 or 2. Assuming it´s 1, in the "outputs" page, where it says 1/4 inch outputs, turn the first (out of the 4) knob right to when it says "stack front" or "combo front",

Also you see tone 1 and tone 2, make sure tone 1 is ON, and 2 can be muted,

To use two leads you would need two amps, or an amp and some speakers,




--------------------
Visit my:
INSTRUCTOR PROFILE

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music."
Gustav Mahler


Subscribe to my Youtube Channel here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rated Htr
post Nov 12 2009, 02:53 AM
Post #15


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.095
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Leiria, Portugal
Member No.: 3.056



QUOTE (Daniel Realpe @ Nov 12 2009, 01:20 AM) *
You have to check what tone are using, either 1 or 2. Assuming it´s 1, in the "outputs" page, where it says 1/4 inch outputs, turn the first (out of the 4) knob right to when it says "stack front" or "combo front",

Also you see tone 1 and tone 2, make sure tone 1 is ON, and 2 can be muted,

To use two leads you would need two amps, or an amp and some speakers,


Didn't know about that! Thanks Daniel smile.gif


--------------------
Currently Practicing

Rhythm: Finnish Power Metal III: Nightwish
Legato: Ben's Land Of Legato
Alternate Picking: Alternate Picking Workout #5
Chords: Chord Melody Technique

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yakazor
post Nov 12 2009, 06:07 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-November 09
Member No.: 7.787



A lot of people recommend putting the POD into your amp's effect loop (if that's possible for you) - Just search for POD and effects loop and you should be able to find something. It requires a few cables though, but should give better sound quality

This post has been edited by Yakazor: Nov 12 2009, 06:07 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th March 2017 - 03:37 PM