3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Amplitube 3, surprised
Adrian Figallo
post Mar 2 2010, 05:58 PM
Post #1


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



Hey guys, so i just got amplitube 3 in my pc, i'm testing it for something like 3 hours already, and i gotta say it's rocking hard.
I'm a big fan of GuitarRig4, but i gotta say amplitube 3 is not too far from the sound i like, and considering im only using it for 3 hours that's a good thing to say.

I dont really like the user interface tho, guitar rig ROCKS, super easy to edit, save, recall presets, but amplitube looks soooo complex and old school for me.

Will put up some sound samples later on, so anyone tried it so far?

Adrian


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jafomatic
post Mar 2 2010, 06:03 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.049
Joined: 6-May 09
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 7.145



I think someone in my old MTP group used amplitube... NoSkill maybe?



--------------------
::jafomatic


http://jafomatic.net/tunes/ <-- Here lies the master collection of my collaboration and other improvisation recordings.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ruzz
post Mar 2 2010, 06:49 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 10-May 09
Member No.: 7.165



I tried it for a few hours.. There are alot of cool new stuff.. But quality wise I think the Amplitube 2 sounds just as good..


--------------------
Sincerely
Ruzz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Mar 2 2010, 09:23 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



i kind off feel a difference, hear it more "real", will play some more later on, my ears are tired already sad.gif


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 3 2010, 02:17 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I will test it soon. I just got GR4 so I'm testing that. I can notice the difference in the feel of the software, definitely more dynamic. Not that big improvement tho, I think the version deserves 3.5 name, not 4. Manufacturers switch numbers fast these days because of piracy..


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Mar 3 2010, 01:07 PM
Post #6


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



Please post some samples if you can smile.gif

I've tested Guitar Rig 4, and I like it better than number 3 for sure..
The high-gain tones are much better in the newer version, and easier to dial in good tones.

But the clean tones and effects are pretty much the same imo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deleted
post Mar 3 2010, 02:03 PM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 181
Joined: 4-June 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 5.240



I love Guitar rig 4, expecially the grafitier sound. I also like Amplitube clean sound, for example the EJ clean. I'm going to try the 3rd version.

This post has been edited by Deleted: Mar 3 2010, 02:07 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Giacinto
post Mar 3 2010, 02:27 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 11-January 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 1.069



u cant use guitar rig 4 with a pod x3 properly right? problem is the delay?! is there a cheap hardware to get ur a signal without delay which works with guitar rig 4 ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jafomatic
post Mar 3 2010, 03:30 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.049
Joined: 6-May 09
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 7.145



QUOTE (Giacinto @ Mar 3 2010, 07:27 AM) *
u cant use guitar rig 4 with a pod x3 properly right? problem is the delay?! is there a cheap hardware to get ur a signal without delay which works with guitar rig 4 ?


Sure you can. The sound you hear in your headphones is processed by the POD X3, but all the line-6 devices allow you to record the dry signal if you choose. If that's what you tell the DAW to record you then have a pristine dry track that you can assign to a mixer insert that has GR4 or whatever plugins you choose.

So:

- create a sound that you want in the pod X3, the only difference should be "it doesn't sound quite good enough to me"
- record the dry sound
- assign that track to a mixer insert in your daw
- assign guitar rig (or other) plugin(s) to that mixer insert
- create the tone in that plugin(s) that you think sounds better
- render and listen
- didn't like it? change the tone in the plugin as many times as you want
- render and listen
- repeat wink.gif




--------------------
::jafomatic


http://jafomatic.net/tunes/ <-- Here lies the master collection of my collaboration and other improvisation recordings.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Mar 3 2010, 05:35 PM
Post #10


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (Giacinto @ Mar 3 2010, 02:27 PM) *
u cant use guitar rig 4 with a pod x3 properly right? problem is the delay?! is there a cheap hardware to get ur a signal without delay which works with guitar rig 4 ?


Are You meaning latency or delay (in the meaning of echo)?
I also find GR4 a lot better than GR3, and yes, also Amplitube is better for clean tones, especially the Fender edition.

//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Giacinto
post Mar 3 2010, 05:52 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 11-January 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 1.069



oh thanks for the answers. yeah i mean latency problems sorry .. thought i could play with the guitar rig 4 sounds via the pod without latency.. so all in all with my pod guitar rig is just a possibility to work on the tone after its been recorded right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jafomatic
post Mar 3 2010, 05:56 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.049
Joined: 6-May 09
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 7.145



QUOTE (Giacinto @ Mar 3 2010, 10:52 AM) *
oh thanks for the answers. yeah i mean latency problems sorry .. thought i could play with the guitar rig 4 sounds via the pod without latency.. so all in all with my pod guitar rig is just a possibility to work on the tone after its been recorded right?


Correct. If there's some other no-latency solution for what you've described, it might require replacing hardware; doesn't seem worth it given what you already have.



--------------------
::jafomatic


http://jafomatic.net/tunes/ <-- Here lies the master collection of my collaboration and other improvisation recordings.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 3 2010, 09:18 PM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You must buy a better soundcard. EMU0404 PCI might be a good solution if you are on the budget, it will have little latency to work with. Some latency will always be present tho, depending on the bulkiness of the DAW project and amount of processors used in the chain.


BTW I just tested REvalver MKIII, who hasn't tried it, it's definitely better than GR4 for overdrive.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deleted
post Mar 3 2010, 09:36 PM
Post #14


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 181
Joined: 4-June 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 5.240



It's great the idea to a multitrack audio editor, but I think GR4 sounds much more better!

This post has been edited by Deleted: Mar 3 2010, 09:37 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Mar 3 2010, 09:47 PM
Post #15


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Mar 3 2010, 09:18 PM) *
You must buy a better soundcard. EMU0404 PCI might be a good solution if you are on the budget, it will have little latency to work with. Some latency will always be present tho, depending on the bulkiness of the DAW project and amount of processors used in the chain.


BTW I just tested REvalver MKIII, who hasn't tried it, it's definitely better than GR4 for overdrive.


+1 EMU0404 is outstanding in that price range, and I also found Revalver very good for overdrive sounds, but more for metal-like sounds though. But as I said in another post, the thing that really does the trick here, is the convolution reverbs in these simulators, and I bet I can just take a line-signal from the amp or a distorsion box and put a convolution reverb on it (simulating a tube amp & box) and make it sound just as good as this software in itself.....

//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Mar 3 2010, 10:58 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



i tested it, and i didn't liked it too much, yeah the overdriven tones are good, but i find them a little bit too sharp, not sure why.


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 3 2010, 11:10 PM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Perhaps you tried the previous version MKII? I didn't liked that one as well, but I've tried a new one and it's very good for metal.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Mar 4 2010, 01:21 AM
Post #18


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



oww could be, do you have a link for the new version?
i remember it sonded good for dist sounds, maybe now it's improved ohmy.gif!


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 4 2010, 01:31 AM
Post #19


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Sure, here's the link! smile.gif
http://www.peavey.com/products/revalver/index.cfm


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Mar 5 2010, 04:48 AM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



hey guys, here are some samples of Amplitube 3, didn't have the time to get into much details with the sound, but i liking it so far, sounds very organic to me, one of the things i like about amplitube now, is the organic feel of the sound with the volume knob of the guitar.

So far my fav amp is the orange, sounds better to me than the GuitarRig4 orange:
Attached File  orange.mp3 ( 3.06MB ) Number of downloads: 331


This is a nice marshall:
Attached File  marshall.mp3 ( 2.31MB ) Number of downloads: 272


And im not sure what's this, but love the thick tone:
Attached File  tube_lead.mp3 ( 1.67MB ) Number of downloads: 284







--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th January 2017 - 04:26 PM