Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Picking Question, Need help with right hand technique...
Anastasio123
post Apr 5 2007, 12:58 AM
Post #1

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 1.365

So I've been practicing seriously for a few months now on my alternate picking and have fortunately seen great progress. However, sometimes when I'm practicing a lick or exercise with my metronome, I sometimes find myself having trouble with keeping a small picking motion whilst skipping to other strings in the lick, phrase, etc. Because of this, I keep hitting unwanted strings. Is this sometime that will fix itself with more practice or do I need to make a change in the way I use my right hand?
Another problem I am having is with the angling of my pick. I know it helps to angle the pick so I can pick more smoothly, but I always have trouble getting more accent and volume in my notes. Am I angling my pick too much? Or is that how it sounds without an amp? Also take into consideration that I dont use an amp usually when I practice.
Any help I would greatly appreciate, If you have only a tip or two to give, that would be just fine. I'm just looking for a way to get through this wall in my playing. Thanx smile.gif

--------------------
IPB Image
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Jazzie
post Apr 5 2007, 12:25 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 1.177

Hey Anastasio123!

Pavel sent me a small vid with different angles and close ups of his picking stye. It helped me a lot, (but I still drop a pinky now and then! Sorry Pav, I tried doing it your "fist" method, but it was too unatural! laugh.gif ) I took a variation of it that works for me. Now and then I still hit dead strings, but not as much or often... I will send it over to you l8ter on tonight if that is ok with you.

l8ter
Jazzie

+Quote Post
Scott Gentzen
post Apr 5 2007, 05:11 PM
Post #3

Member No.: 1.080

QUOTE (Jazzie @ Apr 5 2007, 11:25 AM) *
Hey Anastasio123!