How To Put The Loop Out Of The Effects Loop, Where to plug what ?
Keilnoth
Mar 23 2010, 09:44 AM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 686
Joined: 10-April 09
From: Switzerland
Hey guys,

So yesterday I plugged all my pedals, here's the chain :

guitar > wah > (compressor) > disto > delay > loop pedal > Amp

I don't have the compressor pedal but will receive it today or tomorrow.

The problem is that I identified the loop pedal as a noise generator. It produces a hum and I can't get rid of it for now. smile.gif

Loop pedal is a Boss RC-20
My amp is a Peavey Bandit 112

My question is pretty simple, how can I put the loop pedal out of the effects chain so I don't hear that hum anymore ? In fact I don't care to have it in the effect chain but I would like it be able to record the effect chain so I can play a loop with effects and overdub with different effects.

The amp has a return/send, pre amp, pwr amp input output so my thought is to plug the loop in the return (out) > loop in > loop out > send (in). Is that correct ? I don't wanna break anything down. wink.gif

Thanks for your help,

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------

My Guitars: Fender Stratocaster Billy Corgan Signature, Ibanez RG270
My Amp: Peavey Bandit 112
My Pedals: Blackstar HT-Dual, Boss DD-7, Boss CS-3, Boss RC-20
My Wishlist: New bridge + Pickups for my Ibanez, EHX POG2, EHX Cathedral / Holy Grail
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sted
Mar 23 2010, 11:27 AM
Learning Rock Star
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Conceivably you can put any pedal in the effects loop, iys just that some sound good in there and some dont! I suspect that the loop pedal should go further up the chain before any signals it produces is augmented by the likes of your distortions which will multiply any noises a lot.
The general school of though is drives, distortions etc into the front end and modulations, delays in the loop but if you just play about you can get some interesting results, lso check your cable quality as this can cause a lot of noise regeneration.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Keilnoth
Mar 23 2010, 01:28 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 686
Joined: 10-April 09
From: Switzerland
Well, I've turned everything around with and without effect loop and found out the hum comes from my power supply plugged in my loop pedal. I switched to another transformer and the hum disappeared.

But at the same time I've learned how to use the effect loop. biggrin.gif

This is related to this discussion :
https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=34066

wink.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------

My Guitars: Fender Stratocaster Billy Corgan Signature, Ibanez RG270
My Amp: Peavey Bandit 112
My Pedals: Blackstar HT-Dual, Boss DD-7, Boss CS-3, Boss RC-20
My Wishlist: New bridge + Pickups for my Ibanez, EHX POG2, EHX Cathedral / Holy Grail
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
Mar 23 2010, 03:17 PM
Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
nice man!, try to put the loop and delay on the loop fx of your amp wink.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sted
Mar 23 2010, 05:30 PM
Learning Rock Star
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
QUOTE (Keilnoth @ Mar 23 2010, 12:28 PM) *
Well, I've turned everything around with and without effect loop and found out the hum comes from my power supply plugged in my loop pedal. I switched to another transformer and the hum disappeared.

But at the same time I've learned how to use the effect loop. biggrin.gif

This is related to this discussion :
https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=34066

wink.gif


Sound like it needs an isolated supply mate, to be honest if you can live with it then batteries are still the best way to power pedals hum free!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Keilnoth
Mar 23 2010, 06:10 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 686
Joined: 10-April 09
From: Switzerland
Well, I really hate batteries and don't use them at all for anything. smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------

My Guitars: Fender Stratocaster Billy Corgan Signature, Ibanez RG270
My Amp: Peavey Bandit 112
My Pedals: Blackstar HT-Dual, Boss DD-7, Boss CS-3, Boss RC-20
My Wishlist: New bridge + Pickups for my Ibanez, EHX POG2, EHX Cathedral / Holy Grail
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Mar 25 2010, 01:26 AM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
I used to use my delay pedal Boss DD20 in the FX Loop, and used the same pedal as a looper as well. It didn't have noise tho, I just wanted to loop the overdrive from the amp properly, and the overdrive was happening in the preamp section, which was in that case - in front of the loop pedal.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th April 2021 - 12:09 AM