Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Logitech Pro 9000 + Line 6 Ux1 + Reaper
eaglesnh4
post Mar 28 2010, 06:51 PM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 8-January 10
From: UK
Member No.: 9.072



hi guys, i have a Logitech Pro 9000 + Line 6 Ux1 + Reaper. Can someone give me a step by step guide on how to record a video to place in the REC.
So for example. open logitech, click record, open reaper etc...
thanks in advance,
ste


--------------------
Mexican Fender Stractocaster
Vox VT100
Line 6 Flextone iii
Vox VFS5 Footswitch
Boss Tu-3
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skewlbuzz
post Mar 28 2010, 10:33 PM
Post #2


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 295
Joined: 14-July 07
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 2.313



1. Open the programs (quickcam, pod farm, reaper etc.).

2. Load your POD Farm settings.

3. Start recording the video with your webcam software.

4. Start recording the audio with Reaper.

5. Play your track.

6. Stop recording with Reaper.

7. Stop recording with your webcam software.

8. Save and edit everything.

9. Mix video and audio together (for example with Windows Movie Maker).

10. Upload on YouTube.

11. Post on the GMC forum tongue.gif


This isn't a very detailed guide, you might need help from someone else since I'm not that much into recording wink.gif

This post has been edited by Skewlbuzz: Mar 28 2010, 10:34 PM


--------------------

Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Standard 2008
Fender Squier '51

---------------------
Amp(like):
Blackstar Series One 45
Line6 POD Studio UX1
Marshall MG15CDR

---------------------
Effects:
Dunlop Crybaby 535Q
DigiTech Whammy
Z.Vex Fuzz Factory
Dunlop MXR Carbon Copy

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Mar 28 2010, 10:39 PM
Post #3


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Skewlbuzz wrote the exact steps.

You will need to record audio and video in separate applications and then mix them together in a video editing software like (Win Movie Maker, Vegas, Premier etc)...

Let us know if you have problem with any of the steps mentioned.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 28 2010, 11:57 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



In addition to that, what I like to do is place the backing 4 times (with precounts) in Reaper on one channel and record guitar in the other channel. This way I record 4 takes, and one of them should be good if I make a mistake (usually the first is the best tho, but you never know.. cool.gif )

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Mar 28 2010, 11:57 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antonskv
post Mar 30 2010, 07:26 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 27-June 09
From: New York City
Member No.: 7.333



Hi Guys,

I have exact same setup, Line6 UX1 with Logitech Cam.

Unless you need effects which are done through Reaper, or any other software (I use Ableton Live), that's not the only way right? I mean that's assuming person has an amp and a good mic.

I mean for myself, when i record a video for YouTube, i just use UX1 as a primary Microphone in Logitech Web Cam software, and that way i can skip all the mixing that will need to be done afterward to match Audio and Video tracks. Works OK for me....

If there are some really good benefits of doing it the way you described above let me know, maybe all this time I've been making a huge mistake of bypassing Ableton Live for my YouTube video recording, and i haven't even known it.


Thanks


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Daniel Realpe
post Apr 4 2010, 12:31 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.655
Joined: 11-October 09
From: Bogota
Member No.: 7.694



it's a good idea also to create some sort of reference for syncing purposes, kind of like the clapping thingy that they use on the movies before shooting an scene, so that later on your editing it becomes very easy to syncronize both audio and video

it just has to be a clicking very short sound that goes both on the audio (sounds loud enough to be recorded) and it's visible (so that the cam can pick it up)


--------------------
Visit my:
INSTRUCTOR PROFILE

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music."
Gustav Mahler


Subscribe to my Youtube Channel here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Apr 4 2010, 02:49 PM
Post #7


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



You're way is very good -using UX1 as primary sound card in logitech recording software. But are you able to caputre guitar sound + backing track or just a guitar sound??? I remember having dificulty capturing that way both signals (from guitar and backing playback)...

QUOTE (antonskv @ Mar 30 2010, 08:26 AM) *
Hi Guys,

I have exact same setup, Line6 UX1 with Logitech Cam.

Unless you need effects which are done through Reaper, or any other software (I use Ableton Live), that's not the only way right? I mean that's assuming person has an amp and a good mic.

I mean for myself, when i record a video for YouTube, i just use UX1 as a primary Microphone in Logitech Web Cam software, and that way i can skip all the mixing that will need to be done afterward to match Audio and Video tracks. Works OK for me....

If there are some really good benefits of doing it the way you described above let me know, maybe all this time I've been making a huge mistake of bypassing Ableton Live for my YouTube video recording, and i haven't even known it.


Thanks


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Apr 4 2010, 03:30 PM
Post #8


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.834
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Apr 4 2010, 03:49 PM) *
You're way is very good -using UX1 as primary sound card in logitech recording software. But are you able to caputre guitar sound + backing track or just a guitar sound??? I remember having dificulty capturing that way both signals (from guitar and backing playback)...


Exactly, same thing happenned to me, that's why I need reaper + movie maker too.


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Apr 4 2010, 04:19 PM
Post #9


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Fran @ Apr 4 2010, 03:30 PM) *
Exactly, same thing happenned to me, that's why I need reaper + movie maker too.


Not my area as I only do post-prod audio but I would imagine that you need both as Video and Audio will use two different formats - former mp4 (or similar), latter as wave etc.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antonskv
post Apr 5 2010, 08:51 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 27-June 09
From: New York City
Member No.: 7.333



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Apr 4 2010, 09:49 AM) *
You're way is very good -using UX1 as primary sound card in logitech recording software. But are you able to caputre guitar sound + backing track or just a guitar sound??? I remember having dificulty capturing that way both signals (from guitar and backing playback)...



Hi Bogdan, and everybody else,

You are absolutely right, though software has an option for "Instrument + Mic1" it never works on UX1. Maybe this is an option for UX2 and UX8?

Since i record vocals sometimes too, i naturally need both signals.... So i solved it by just using a good condenser mic and placing it on one side of myself and amp. I set my mic to record "everything in front" instead of "omnidirectional" and it seems to work fine for YouTube videos. For mic I use AKG Perception 420.

There is one plus in this setup, especially if you have a tube amp.... You get quality of the sound made by the amp recorded as well. I cant afford a tube amp, but still my amp makes pretty good tone and its nice to get to record it.

Cause i think if you plug guitar straight into UX1, you just getting a raw signal. Though i imagine with a good amp modulation software its not a problem. I always considered GTR Solo being much better than POD Farm.

If you turn POD Farm or GTR Solo on before you start Logitech Quick Cam Software on, you get something in between the UX1 and your microphone, so you can add extra effects there too.

This is not in ANY WAY a professional setup, but for an amateur hobbyist like me - it really works nicely.

What you guys think?

(I mean perfect setup would be to use 2 microphones through the interface, one for amp and one for vocals, but then with UX1 we run into same problem.... UX1 does not allow recording of 2 signals at once.)

This post has been edited by antonskv: Apr 5 2010, 08:53 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Apr 5 2010, 12:13 PM
Post #11


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



UX1 should allow to caputre instrument+mic. In the recording software's recording channels you have to set the right inputs. I think UX1 calls them "send 1-2" and "send 3-4". On one you will have instrument input on other one mic. Try experimenting with that...

You're setup seems fine for recording guitars, I just don't how do you caputre backing track too (in the same take withouth editing). Do you just play back backing on the speakers and let the condenser mic pick it up as well as your guitar amp?


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antonskv
post Apr 5 2010, 02:42 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 27-June 09
From: New York City
Member No.: 7.333



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Apr 5 2010, 07:13 AM) *
UX1 should allow to caputre instrument+mic. In the recording software's recording channels you have to set the right inputs. I think UX1 calls them "send 1-2" and "send 3-4". On one you will have instrument input on other one mic. Try experimenting with that...

You're setup seems fine for recording guitars, I just don't how do you caputre backing track too (in the same take withouth editing). Do you just play back backing on the speakers and let the condenser mic pick it up as well as your guitar amp?



Oh! Nice, i didn't think of that. I will definitely give that a try, i'll write back to this thread if it worked out and i managed to do both.
Backing tracks i record same way as you said, i play the track through my studio monitors and let the mic pick everything.

Its not the best setup, but it works for youtube videos. I'm waiting for my E-MU 1616M PCIe, when it arrives maybe i'll hook up a better setup, but setup i got now has served me good for last year that i've been playing.

I'll let you know how it will work out, thanks for the tip!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 5 2010, 03:28 PM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



AS Bogdan said, UX1 has 4 audio streams that are being sent to DAW software (Reaper).

Try to find where you can setup these inputs in Reaper. They are named like this:

SEND 1
SEND 2
SEND 3
SEND 4

UX1 sends whatever you put in POD Farm. For example if you put "instrument+mic" it will put out these audio streams into reaper:

SEND 1 - instrument with modeling
SEND 2 - instrument dry signal
SEND 3 - mic with modeling
SEND 4 - mic dry signal



--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th January 2017 - 08:06 AM