Reply to this topicStart new topic
> What To Buy?, video set up spec's
steph
post Apr 12 2010, 07:33 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-December 09
Member No.: 8.310



Hi All,
I want to get set up to use the site to its full potential, as best I can, so can anyone give me a spec, for a type of cam that would be suitable for recording and posting, on the tutorials etc ??. (this is new ground for me)
Ta,
Steph
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Apr 12 2010, 07:58 PM
Post #2


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.959
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



Many here use Logitech quickvam pro 9000, it's a webcam that works pretty well smile.gif


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
superize
post Apr 12 2010, 08:01 PM
Post #3


Ultimate Tone Guru
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 4.343
Joined: 26-July 07
From: Glommersträsk. Sweden
Member No.: 2.410



QUOTE (Fran @ Apr 12 2010, 08:58 PM) *
Many here use Logitech quickvam pro 9000, it's a webcam that works pretty well smile.gif


I have used it alot and it works great


--------------------
My Gear

Ibanez RG
Jackson js30 warrior
jackson rr24
Line 6 Spider III amp
Line 6 pod xt live
Washburn acoustic

Youtube Account
My bands Myspace


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
relaxenjoy
post Apr 12 2010, 08:13 PM
Post #4


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 25-March 10
From: Ontario
Member No.: 9.956



I also bought a Logitech Quickcam Pro 9000 last week and it's GREAT!

I was using my digital camera for video and PC for audio which was a huge pain in the arse...

Now I can do both from my PC only and life is easier.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Santiago Diaz Ga...
post Apr 13 2010, 06:41 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.769
Joined: 28-April 09
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Member No.: 7.117



Logitech 9000 is the best you can get for starting. It works fantastic


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Apr 13 2010, 02:44 PM
Post #6


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



If you have a decent PC Logitech 9000 will do wonders! I also have it and its very practical. Other than that, you can get any decent camcorder (MiniDV will work nice) with a firewire port (you'll need firewire on your PC too in order to use direct streaming).


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
steph
post Apr 18 2010, 09:24 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-December 09
Member No.: 8.310



Thanks guys, Ill get it sorted.
Steph
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 19 2010, 02:57 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



In addition to that cam, you will need a nice audio interface (if you don't have one). Most suitable for starting is POD Studio GX.
As for cam, Logitech 9000 is great choice. Also, it would be good to consider some extra lightning for that cam, the more the better. Using cheap halogen lights works great and they are cheap.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post Aug 26 2011, 05:44 PM
Post #9


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.493
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



I'm thinking of buying this Samsung HMX-Samsung HMX-Q10 HD camera. Do you think it would do a good job recording my guitar stuff? I just need something that's better quality..or want something haha. For the price it seems like a good buy.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sinisa Cekic
post Aug 26 2011, 09:20 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.649
Joined: 15-October 08
From: Belgrade,Serbia
Member No.: 6.085



I also use Logitech , all recommendations !!!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 26 2011, 09:37 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.018
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



QUOTE (Fran @ Apr 12 2010, 02:58 PM) *
Many here use Logitech quickvam pro 9000, it's a webcam that works pretty well smile.gif


Well played! That's a killer suggestion. It leverages the power of your computer and saves wads of cash on the camera! Getting that kind of quality in a stand alone camera would cost hundreds more. Go Fran!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Aug 28 2011, 07:31 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.547
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



I also bought a Logitech 9000 the last week and it's really good! I'm happy with it.


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Aug 29 2011, 01:16 AM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



logitech 9000 over here too smile.gif


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Aug 29 2011, 07:52 AM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.547
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



QUOTE (Adrian Figallo @ Aug 28 2011, 09:16 PM) *
logitech 9000 over here too smile.gif


haha we should be sponsored! tongue.gif


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Aug 29 2011, 08:12 AM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I bought Logitech CX270 couple of days ago, it has 720p recording, and works very well. With proper lightning the cam is actually pretty good, and it costed me around 30 bucks.




That Samsung HD camcorder is pretty good, but you will need proper lightning. The camcorder has very small chip, and it probably has noise when used indoors. It's very well priced camcorder, so they cut the features they needed to. For proper lightning, chances are you will need at least 1KW of lightning power.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Aug 29 2011, 10:39 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Good topic! I've got a Microsoft Lifecam 3000, which works ok, until I'm trying to record myself with it. I don't have the mood to set up the lights and pro recording devices all the time, so i wanna use the webcam...But, it says that it can't record due to resolution issues. I tried to drop the resolution to a minimum, but still it won't record. Any of you guys have any experience with this sort of stuff?

thank you

Cosmin


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Aug 30 2011, 06:56 AM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Aug 29 2011, 02:12 AM) *
I bought Logitech CX270 couple of days ago, it has 720p recording, and works very well. With proper lightning the cam is actually pretty good, and it costed me around 30 bucks.




That Samsung HD camcorder is pretty good, but you will need proper lightning. The camcorder has very small chip, and it probably has noise when used indoors. It's very well priced camcorder, so they cut the features they needed to. For proper lightning, chances are you will need at least 1KW of lightning power.


That looks pretty cool man, does it record 24fps @ 720?


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2017 - 06:16 PM