Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Forum Width Problem With Large Images
twist
post Apr 16 2010, 02:24 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 8-August 09
From: germany
Member No.: 7.487



Hi,

while searching though some older threads in the forum i noticed something. Some threads have images posted in there that are to wide for the fixed width of the forum. Example: https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...?showtopic=7852

This makes the text go out of the frame so you cant read all the words.

If this is not a problem only i have i think it should be fixed smile.gif


--------------------
rivers just happen

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rik Veldhuizen
post Apr 16 2010, 02:26 PM
Post #2


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: 27-July 07
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 2.420



Yeah, got the same problem. I'm using Safari browser...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Apr 16 2010, 02:33 PM
Post #3


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



Hum, are both of you guys using Safari? I have no problems with Firefox. Seems fine in Explorer as well.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 16 2010, 02:37 PM
Post #4


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (skennington @ Apr 16 2010, 03:33 PM) *
Hum, are both of you guys using Safari? I have no problems with Firefox. Seems fine in Explorer as well.

Works with Chrome too.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jafomatic
post Apr 16 2010, 03:36 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.049
Joined: 6-May 09
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 7.145



QUOTE (skennington @ Apr 16 2010, 08:33 AM) *
Hum, are both of you guys using Safari? I have no problems with Firefox. Seems fine in Explorer as well.


I have the same problem in firefox. Usually those are "look at these giant-yet-blurry pics of my new guitar" thread so I don't feel like I'm missing much.


--------------------
::jafomatic


http://jafomatic.net/tunes/ <-- Here lies the master collection of my collaboration and other improvisation recordings.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Apr 16 2010, 03:45 PM
Post #6


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



I works fine for me in Firefox! What happens is that while the image is being loaded text goes out of frame. But as soon as the image is loaded its re sized automatically to fit the forum width and text goes back to normal. You just have to wait for all the images to get fully loaded.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jafomatic
post Apr 16 2010, 03:49 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.049
Joined: 6-May 09
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 7.145



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Apr 16 2010, 09:45 AM) *
I works fine for me in Firefox! What happens is that while the image is being loaded text goes out of frame. But as soon as the image is loaded its re sized automatically to fit the forum width and text goes back to normal. You just have to wait for all the images to get fully loaded.


There is a resizing after all the images load but it doesn't actually fix the problem entirely on my installation of firefox. I suspect there must be some addon that I have which is causing the difference in behavior. It could also be this insanely wide monitor? I dunno.



--------------------
::jafomatic


http://jafomatic.net/tunes/ <-- Here lies the master collection of my collaboration and other improvisation recordings.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NoSkill
post Apr 16 2010, 04:29 PM
Post #8


Experienced Tone Seeker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.039
Joined: 30-January 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 1.135



I have had this problem for some time and reported it back in the infancy of the new site design. I have the same problem using IE, Firefox and Chrome across Windows and OS X platforms. https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...st&p=447172 It's the reply under this as the side of my frame gets clipped and I don't get a reply #. FYI.


--------------------


Still looking for my soul mate, guitar.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jafomatic
post Apr 16 2010, 04:35 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.049
Joined: 6-May 09
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 7.145



ok I just tossed the browser window onto the smaller monitor and after the picture resizing it works. I think this is a bug in GMC's "image resize" code OR in firefox's implementation of whatever GMC's resize is doing. And only when working with certain monitor dimensions (1920x1080)

EDIT: Ok, it happens in chrome as well. GMC's javascript to resize images is (a) bad math making some assumptions about possible display area and (cool.gif basing its numbers on the monitor dimensions rather than the client rectangle of the browser. That's how you fix it smile.gif

This post has been edited by jafomatic: Apr 16 2010, 04:39 PM


--------------------
::jafomatic


http://jafomatic.net/tunes/ <-- Here lies the master collection of my collaboration and other improvisation recordings.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joruus
post Apr 16 2010, 04:39 PM
Post #10


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 306
Joined: 22-May 08
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 5.158



I have the same thing, using IE
The pictures dont resize, they stay large, out of the screen along with text. Eventhough i have a widescreen so there is lots of space on the sides of the forum but the text disappeares there anyway.

Members could do something about it too though! its not hard to resize things before you upload them, we dont need huge pictures anyway, and it saves loading time for people that don't have as fast internet aswell smile.gif


Edit: saw jafo post screen resolution, though it may help if i add mine too: 1920x1080

This post has been edited by Joruus: Apr 16 2010, 04:41 PM


--------------------
Gear:
Guitars: Ibanez Jem 7vwh, Ibanez RG 350 DX, Gibson Les Paul Studio
Effects: Line 6 PODxt + FBV MKII Express pedal
Amp: Line6 SpiderIII 15
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
twist
post Apr 16 2010, 11:27 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 8-August 09
From: germany
Member No.: 7.487



I have 1920x1080 too smile.gif

And it happens with my firefox, waiting till everything is loaded doesnt fix it. It just stays too large... smile.gif


--------------------
rivers just happen

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rik Veldhuizen
post Apr 21 2010, 07:45 AM
Post #12


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: 27-July 07
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 2.420



Yes, they don't resize after loading in Safari either... sad.gif

Got 1920x1080 as well as resolution
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jafomatic
post Apr 21 2010, 03:59 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.049
Joined: 6-May 09
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 7.145



Ok, to clarify: the forum always attempts the resizing. But it completes this action incorrectly on client areas equal to 1920x1080.

If I drag the window to my other monitor (at a smaller resolution) the resizing that is performed will be correct.


--------------------
::jafomatic


http://jafomatic.net/tunes/ <-- Here lies the master collection of my collaboration and other improvisation recordings.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Apr 26 2010, 01:35 PM
Post #14


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.346
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (jafomatic @ Apr 21 2010, 04:59 PM) *
Ok, to clarify: the forum always attempts the resizing. But it completes this action incorrectly on client areas equal to 1920x1080.

If I drag the window to my other monitor (at a smaller resolution) the resizing that is performed will be correct.


Thanks a lot for summarizing Jafo - reporting!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Sep 9 2010, 08:43 AM
Post #15


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.346
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (jafomatic @ Apr 21 2010, 04:59 PM) *
Ok, to clarify: the forum always attempts the resizing. But it completes this action incorrectly on client areas equal to 1920x1080.

If I drag the window to my other monitor (at a smaller resolution) the resizing that is performed will be correct.


This should now be fixed - please let me know if problems remain!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 07:05 AM