Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Transcribing / Sheetmusic / Guitar?
antonskv
post Apr 30 2010, 12:43 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 27-June 09
From: New York City
Member No.: 7.333



Hi Guys,

I have some questions.... First i have a friend who needs something to help him automate writing process for sheet music. I recommended Sibelius since i heard it does that. Does anybody have any experience with that? I have Sibelius 6 i borrowed from somebody for a short time. I wanted to make it work myself so i can show it to him when he buys it, but for the love of God i cant seem to get it to write sheet music from my MIDI controller in real time. Can somebody point me into the right direction? Thanks. (Or maybe recommend another software if Sibelius doesn't do that?)

Then another thing... MIDI from guitar. I've looked for such and found a guitar that has it built in... Heh for over 4000 dollars: http://www.guitarcenter.com/Parker-Guitars...835-i1440224.gc
(Figured - NO WAY)

I have read previous thread on this subject somewhere in the forum and you guys were discussing something called GK-3, made by Roland. Just wanted to make sure.... GK-3 has a simple MIDI output that i can plug into my EMU? So only GK-3 would be required? (Obvious question: It actually works? hehe lol)

I guess if GK-3 works, Sibelius can also be used in same way with guitar(equipped with GK-3) as with MIDI keyboard? For transcribing sheet music from the instrument in real time? Even if its not super-exact.

Thanks for your input guys.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Apr 30 2010, 01:04 PM
Post #2


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (antonskv @ Apr 30 2010, 11:43 AM) *
Hi Guys,

...

I have read previous thread on this subject somewhere in the forum and you guys were discussing something called GK-3, made by Roland. Just wanted to make sure.... GK-3 has a simple MIDI output that i can plug into my EMU? So only GK-3 would be required? (Obvious question: It actually works? hehe lol)

I guess if GK-3 works, Sibelius can also be used in same way with guitar(equipped with GK-3) as with MIDI keyboard? For transcribing sheet music from the instrument in real time? Even if its not super-exact.

Thanks for your input guys.


Afraid not Anton - the GK3 hexaphonic pickup uses a special cable and connector which terminates in a special 19 pin plug. That is then connected to a Gi20 midi convertor or a GR50 synth, or similar, which can then send the midi signal to where ever you want.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Clare
post Apr 30 2010, 01:59 PM
Post #3


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 255
Joined: 25-September 08
From: nova scotia,canada
Member No.: 5.959



hi guys just wanted to let you know i have a gk-3 pickup on my guitar and the cable your talking about tony has 13 pins, i use it with my vg-99, but on the back of the vg-99 it has the 5 pin midi in and out so maybe it would work then, but it you use just the gk-3 then it would be impossible cause there is no 5 pin connection, so in a way you are right tony but going through the vg-99 then i believe it would be possible...hope that helps a little bit Antonskv?????
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Daniel Realpe
post Apr 30 2010, 04:47 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.655
Joined: 11-October 09
From: Bogota
Member No.: 7.694



what I've done in the past is to play the part in a midi track, say in Nuendo, quantize really good, note starts and note ends, and then export as MIDI file and import it on, say Guitar Pro and it shows you the sheet music,

of course you have to do some tweaking like, key armor, time signatures,

I'm sure sibelius has the option to import midi


--------------------
Visit my:
INSTRUCTOR PROFILE

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music."
Gustav Mahler


Subscribe to my Youtube Channel here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Apr 30 2010, 05:10 PM
Post #5


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



Both Sibelius and Finale are excellent tools to use in conjunction with a Hex-pickup (GK-3 and similars) and a guitar to midi -interface. However, the critical point here is the interface and the tracking of the notes. For this I will suggest the plain Axxon converter or Rolands GM50 which seems to be the fastest one's atm. It takes some time to adjust the software & hardware to match, but when it's done it works well - provided that the playing are accurate. Of course can the input quantization been adjusted in the software to match what You are playing.

//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antonskv
post Apr 30 2010, 06:35 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 27-June 09
From: New York City
Member No.: 7.333



QUOTE (THE BUZZARD @ Apr 30 2010, 08:59 AM) *
hi guys just wanted to let you know i have a gk-3 pickup on my guitar and the cable your talking about tony has 13 pins, i use it with my vg-99, but on the back of the vg-99 it has the 5 pin midi in and out so maybe it would work then, but it you use just the gk-3 then it would be impossible cause there is no 5 pin connection, so in a way you are right tony but going through the vg-99 then i believe it would be possible...hope that helps a little bit Antonskv?????


Yeah that's what i got from this older post:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Parker-Guitars...835-i1440224.gc

That in fact GK-3 has regular MIDI cable, unless i'm totally misunderstood. Didn't want to post before looked at somebody stating something specific. Since that old post was not corrected by anybody about some special MIDI cable, i assumed it to be true.

*shrugs*

Thanks all.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Apr 30 2010, 09:54 PM
Post #7


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (antonskv @ Apr 30 2010, 07:35 PM) *
Yeah that's what i got from this older post:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Parker-Guitars...835-i1440224.gc

That in fact GK-3 has regular MIDI cable, unless i'm totally misunderstood. Didn't want to post before looked at somebody stating something specific. Since that old post was not corrected by anybody about some special MIDI cable, i assumed it to be true.

*shrugs*

Thanks all.


I never heard that the GK-3 should work with a regular 5-pin MIDI-cable, but maybe it does?? The 13-pin cable is standard as far as I know, and every GK-3 I've seen has been using this. Still You have to use an interface, since the GK-3 is based on one piezo-mic for each string and has to be converted to MIDI-data. That cannot been done without some outer interface like Roland, Axion etc.
Btw. Parker may have done a model with a built-in converter, I guess Zakk knows for sure if he reads this....
(Gibsons new awful looking guitars has this built-in as well)

//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antonskv
post May 1 2010, 06:53 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 27-June 09
From: New York City
Member No.: 7.333



QUOTE (Staffy @ Apr 30 2010, 04:54 PM) *
I never heard that the GK-3 should work with a regular 5-pin MIDI-cable, but maybe it does?? The 13-pin cable is standard as far as I know, and every GK-3 I've seen has been using this. Still You have to use an interface, since the GK-3 is based on one piezo-mic for each string and has to be converted to MIDI-data. That cannot been done without some outer interface like Roland, Axion etc.
Btw. Parker may have done a model with a built-in converter, I guess Zakk knows for sure if he reads this....
(Gibsons new awful looking guitars has this built-in as well)

//Staffay


Guys...... My bad...

REVELATION: THAT LINK I PASTED DON'T WORK!
I keep thinking you read it!

Here it is REAL link to REAL thread where "GK-3 with nothing" is discussed:-----> https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=19648
(So did i misunderstand, or they actually found out that its possible?)


BTW: Thanks for 'MIDI Record -> Quantize -> Import GP5/Sibelius' TIP! I'll give that a try.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post May 1 2010, 07:22 AM
Post #9


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (antonskv @ May 1 2010, 07:53 AM) *
Guys...... My bad...

REVELATION: THAT LINK I PASTED DON'T WORK!
I keep thinking you read it!

Here it is REAL link to REAL thread where "GK-3 with nothing" is discussed:-----> https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=19648
(So did i misunderstand, or they actually found out that its possible?)


BTW: Thanks for 'MIDI Record -> Quantize -> Import GP5/Sibelius' TIP! I'll give that a try.


Oki, I have read it. The guys here actually says that a GI-20 interface was used, there are also some talk bout what is needed on the soundcard to receive MIDI-input. Nevertheless, no one says that it shall work without an interface of some kind. Btw. I consider going through GP5 before Sibelius seems to be like an unnecessary step, since the functions for quantization etc. is far more versatile in Sibelius than GP5.

//Staffay

EDIT: The Hex-pickup (aka. GK-3) doesn't output MIDI-data, it outputs the sound from EACH string by piezo-magnets, then its picked up by the MIDI-interface and each string sound is converted to MIDI-data.

This post has been edited by Staffy: May 1 2010, 07:24 AM


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antonskv
post May 1 2010, 08:10 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 27-June 09
From: New York City
Member No.: 7.333



QUOTE (Staffy @ May 1 2010, 02:22 AM) *
Oki, I have read it. The guys here actually says that a GI-20 interface was used, there are also some talk bout what is needed on the soundcard to receive MIDI-input. Nevertheless, no one says that it shall work without an interface of some kind. Btw. I consider going through GP5 before Sibelius seems to be like an unnecessary step, since the functions for quantization etc. is far more versatile in Sibelius than GP5.

//Staffay

EDIT: The Hex-pickup (aka. GK-3) doesn't output MIDI-data, it outputs the sound from EACH string by piezo-magnets, then its picked up by the MIDI-interface and each string sound is converted to MIDI-data.



Sorry Staffy, i guess i need to find my lost brains and IQ, and also learn English. Cause seems i misunderstood that thing then.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post May 1 2010, 08:39 AM
Post #11


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (antonskv @ May 1 2010, 09:10 AM) *
Sorry Staffy, i guess i need to find my lost brains and IQ, and also learn English. Cause seems i misunderstood that thing then.


Nah, the discussion is a little bit confusing... tongue.gif I think there are a lot of other threads that also discusses this in the forum. However, there are guitars that output core MIDI-data, Parker MIDI-fly seems to do that directly. I've just checked out Gibson's new ROBOT-guitars and figured out that they have 13-pin output as well as USB, but the story doesn't tell whether core MIDI-output is used... An old device is also the Synth-Axe, but thats hardly a guitar imo.

//Staffay


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antonskv
post May 1 2010, 08:41 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 27-June 09
From: New York City
Member No.: 7.333



QUOTE (Staffy @ May 1 2010, 03:39 AM) *
Nah, the discussion is a little bit confusing... tongue.gif I think there are a lot of other threads that also discusses this in the forum. However, there are guitars that output core MIDI-data, Parker MIDI-fly seems to do that directly. I've just checked out Gibson's new ROBOT-guitars and figured out that they have 13-pin output as well as USB, but the story doesn't tell whether core MIDI-output is used... An old device is also the Synth-Axe, but thats hardly a guitar imo.

//Staffay



Well Staffay,

Bro at least gimme credit for even researching the forum before asking questions smile.gif
This is something most never do smile.gif LOL

Thanks


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2017 - 11:24 AM