Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Vid With Macbook Pro
Shredly
post May 16 2010, 10:47 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 3-July 09
Member No.: 7.353



Hi, how do I use guitar rig to produce the sound instead of using the cpu mic and a live amp?

Thanks,

Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post May 16 2010, 05:53 PM
Post #2


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Hmm I'm not sure I quite understand the question. For audio recording you would want to have a nice sound card (interface). Usually I recommend POD Studio UX1 as its very easy to use and versatile. Then you just hook it up to computer, plug your guitar in the POD and hit the record button in your favorite recording software (Reaper, Cubase, Garageband etc...)...

Can you describe exactly what you want to record and with what equipment?

Cheers,
Bogdan


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Daniel Realpe
post May 16 2010, 10:53 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.655
Joined: 11-October 09
From: Bogota
Member No.: 7.694



The computer needs to receive the signal from your guitar cable,

It's better to have a sound card, a USB might be good that will allow you to do this,

Guitar Rig is a standalone software and also a Vst Plugin

Standalone, just open the program and select as input your sound card,

as VST open a channel with the plug in on it and the input of that channel has to be your sound card where the guitar is connected,

that's it

ah, turn up your speakers biggrin.gif


--------------------
Visit my:
INSTRUCTOR PROFILE

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music."
Gustav Mahler


Subscribe to my Youtube Channel here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post May 17 2010, 12:30 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



First, you need an audio interface - an audio card with instrument inputs, so you can plug in your guitar. Then you can turn on Guitar Rig software, and within options you choose that audio card (and inputs on it) from where the guitar sound (that needs to be processed) is coming.
After that it's all about tweaking the tone you need, and recording it in some software.
Let us know if you need additional info! smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shredly
post May 18 2010, 05:32 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 3-July 09
Member No.: 7.353



Hey guys, thanks for the info. I use a korg pandora as a usb interface with guitar rig or garageband. Im trying to record video with imovie(comes with a mac) and have my guitar sound go straight to the imovie software instead of the sound coming out of the cpu speakers and then back into the cpu via the cpu's onboard mic. Follow me?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post May 18 2010, 06:51 AM
Post #6


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Hi Shredly,

Unless, you are recording with the inbuilt mic (sound from your speakers), I don't think you can record both audio and video in iMovie as one. You will have to record your audio separately and video separately (at the same time though). So, for example, garageband can record audio and the webcam (any software) can record your video (or better if you have a separate video camcorder).

The other option can be You can play on your amp and record directly via camcorder both audio / video. Audio will not be best though. If you are using Snow Leopard, I think you can try using Quicktime Player's New Movie Recording Option to record. I haven't tried this but this looks like a good option. I will try and post if I succeed.

I record my audio into Pro Tools LE via Mbox 2 Pro and record video from a camcorder then later I sync them in iMovie or Final Cut.

Thanks.


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post May 18 2010, 10:09 AM
Post #7


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Just a note, if you are trying to record just one channel, that is possible. I was thinking a different scenario.. playing backing track and playing solo with your guitar at the same time and record video. This isn't possible because you can only record one track at a time. You can record directly to Quicktime Player X if you just want your video and one audio track. Let me know if you want to know this (should be simple).


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shredly
post May 18 2010, 12:44 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 3-July 09
Member No.: 7.353



QUOTE (maharzan @ May 18 2010, 07:09 PM) *
Just a note, if you are trying to record just one channel, that is possible. I was thinking a different scenario.. playing backing track and playing solo with your guitar at the same time and record video. This isn't possible because you can only record one track at a time. You can record directly to Quicktime Player X if you just want your video and one audio track. Let me know if you want to know this (should be simple).


Thanks, Im going to try recording video with imovie and sync a garageband track with it. Hopefully that wont be too hard.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post May 18 2010, 02:22 PM
Post #9


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Yep, sounds good. Thats the way it is. smile.gif You can bring the audio and try syncing in iMovie.

BTW, are you using iMovie 09? I don't know how hard it is in that coz I have 08 version and it was a kind of pain to drag audio around the video. smile.gif


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shredly
post May 19 2010, 01:57 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 3-July 09
Member No.: 7.353



QUOTE (maharzan @ May 18 2010, 11:22 PM) *
Yep, sounds good. Thats the way it is. smile.gif You can bring the audio and try syncing in iMovie.

BTW, are you using iMovie 09? I don't know how hard it is in that coz I have 08 version and it was a kind of pain to drag audio around the video. smile.gif



Gave this a try today. I wasnt able to get it perfectly synced up. I didnt put a whole lot of thought into it though. I basically started imovie and then Gband recorded and dragged the sound clip around trying to make it fit. It was always a little off.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post May 22 2010, 06:05 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Can you record guitar pro processed sound directly in garage band, and in the same time record video in iMovie software?

What my suggestion is, is to after that import the direct audio sound (which will be of better quality), into iMovie, and then sync the video and audio together.

regarding syncin, try to put audio file a notch "behind" the video. If that doesn't work, try several combinations of audio shifts, render it all and see what version sound the best. Some experimenting of this sort will pay of for later. Sometimes software doesn't render, as it shows in the monitor window in the project.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post May 29 2010, 01:43 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.149
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Todd here smile.gif This is a great question, as Mac Guy, I've run in to the same thing. Here is the easy anser.

Use the Quicktime Application.

Yup. The cheap little quicktime application is about $30 (you'll need to buy it ) and will let you specify different audio and video sources to record to a single quicktime file. You can then do whatever you like with the quicktime such as upload or even pull it in to iMovie to edit it smile.gif

Todd


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post May 30 2010, 11:14 PM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Nice advice Todd, wasn't aware that QuickTime had this option. I know QuickTime represents a whole framework, but didn't know that the actual program performs capture.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post May 31 2010, 07:00 PM
Post #14


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ May 29 2010, 02:43 AM) *
Todd here smile.gif This is a great question, as Mac Guy, I've run in to the same thing. Here is the easy anser.

Use the Quicktime Application.

Yup. The cheap little quicktime application is about $30 (you'll need to buy it ) and will let you specify different audio and video sources to record to a single quicktime file. You can then do whatever you like with the quicktime such as upload or even pull it in to iMovie to edit it smile.gif

Todd


Very good tip! smile.gif

I didn't know Quicktime could do that... But I also found out that my logitech cam app can do it too (capture audio and video from different sources), also ustream.com has that option... Maybe there is a free software that can do such capture?


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 03:51 PM