Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pick Grip And Hand Position For Sweeping And Alt Picking
Shredly
post May 18 2010, 12:57 PM
Post #1

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 7.353

Ive been working heavily on ap and sweep technique for the last 6 months. Im practicing picking exercises 2-6 hours a day. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and ive gotten faster and more accurate. I have hit a roadblock and slower progress and im questioning my practice now. I find myself changing how i grip the pick and position my hand constantly. I cant find anything comfortable and really dont know what to stick with. There are so many ways to grip the pick (2 or 3 fingers, angled, various sides of the forefinger, thumb barely on, pick way down the thumb etc.) I also cant figure out what to do with my hand. I leave it anchored on the bridge but im always changing the rotation of the wrist towards and away from higher and lower strings. This is frustrating because i dont want to practice something that isnt efficient or that holds me back. Advice?

Thanks,

Andy
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post May 18 2010, 01:06 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 4.733

QUOTE (Shredly @ May 18 2010, 12:57 PM) *