Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tele Rewire
Joe
post May 28 2010, 12:08 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 2-April 10
Member No.: 10.030



Hi GMC,

I have an 'aerodyne' telecaster put out by fender that I acquired a couple years ago. It's accumulated some electronics problems, and I bought new pickups. I want to completely rewire this thing, but I don't know how. Luckily, I know someone that can do it for me, but what I need to know is what I need for the rewire.

The guitar has a seymour p-90 in the neck and a hot rails for tele in the bridge position. Also the switch is in kind of gibson LP position on the upper shoulder. I have some pics here, it doesn't look like I need a lot of wire. Should I replace caps? Input jack? Switch? I'm going to get some new knobs as well, but I won't show you guys the front of the guitar til it's finished smile.gif I found this site, acmeguitarworks.com which has rewiring kits, can anyone take a look at the telecaster kit for me and see if it's good?

Anyway, on to the pictures. I hope these will give you guys what you need to know to tell me what I need to get wink.gif

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image


--------------------
Gear: Mesa Boogie F-30 Combo, Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson Flying V '67 RI
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joe
post May 28 2010, 10:00 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 2-April 10
Member No.: 10.030



Do you guys think this would work?


--------------------
Gear: Mesa Boogie F-30 Combo, Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson Flying V '67 RI
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post May 28 2010, 10:27 PM
Post #3


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Looks sufficient except for the 3 way switch that should be the LP toggle.
Sounds like fun, and not too much of a cord pit in there to struggle with smile.gif

But... there's a white cord with a shrink hose and no other cords attached. That looks fishy to me. Is that right?


EDIT: Assuming your friend has all the soldering tools?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joe
post May 28 2010, 11:48 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 2-April 10
Member No.: 10.030



He does have all the tools.

About the wire, I don't really know tongue.gif Not sure which one you're talking about..

Hopefully I could get a gibson switch thrown in there if I ask, instead of the tele.


--------------------
Gear: Mesa Boogie F-30 Combo, Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson Flying V '67 RI
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post May 29 2010, 03:07 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I would love to rewire that Tele for you. biggrin.gif

this kit looks OK, but I'm not sure about that 5-way switch. Shouldn't you get a 3 way one?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2017 - 01:01 PM