Reply to this topicStart new topic
> It Arrived, zoom g9.2 tt
Captain Insaino
post Sep 3 2010, 11:33 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 25-August 10
From: Armpit of California
Member No.: 11.081



So I have been eye balling this thing for two months now, reading all about it, wandering if its worth it. You know all the work that goes into a product before you pull the trigger on a large investment. (To me anything over $100 bones is a large investment.) I finaly did the dead and ordered it off a reputable web site for a good price (no shipping costs). Waited all week for it to arrive, and finaly last night it showed up at my door while I was out running errunds. I got home at 10 pm took it in the house, unwrapped the thing from the big ugly brown box and placed it on the dinning room table.

As I was about to open the manual I hear this faint voice coming form inside my head saying, you better not, or you will be up all night messing with it and you have to be up at 5am to go to work. sad.gif So with a saddend heart I place the board back in the box with all its beautifyl technical data in the users manual and head for bed.

So I have been sitting here all day waiting to go home to mess with my new toy. I cant believe I went to bed instead of checking out new gear. I must really be getting old. Of course because I have somehting to look farward to tongiht at home this has been the slowest day of my life.

Well when I do get a chance to mess with it Ill send you guys some pictures and a small review if your interested. I you want to know what Im talking about check it out here.
http://www.zoom.co.jp/english/products/g92tt/

CI


--------------------
If you cant say something nice, dont say anything at all
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fkalich
post Sep 3 2010, 11:42 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.713
Joined: 12-February 07
From: People's Republic of Lawrence Kansas
Member No.: 1.189



I have owned one of these. I assume you got it from AmericanMusical. They have good prices on them (Zoom is updating its models I think).

However for a multi item, this is your best bang for the buck. About half the price as those Line 6 people here talk about, and just as good, maybe better.

Myself, I have been looking at eventide, but those cost a fortune. In the $500 and under range, I would go the way you went. But I often practice with a zoom g1n (the updated g1...I do think they improved them a bit, nothing huge, but a little). I am never unhappy with it, has a lot of nice sounds, and pretty good effects, even for their lowest price item.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Sep 4 2010, 01:49 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



congrats buddy!! looks like fun smile.gif


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post Sep 4 2010, 02:14 AM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.486
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



Wwooooooooowwwww!!! ohmy.gif Cooooooll lookin' man! Can't wait to get some pictures from ya. wink.gif

I've been thinking about getting a Boss. I have an ME20...was thinking between the GT10 and the ME70. I'm thinking the GT10 is better for me since I wanna rock straight to the computer via USB. I guess it would work well with my amps as well.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Sep 4 2010, 04:18 AM
Post #5


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



QUOTE (thefireball @ Sep 3 2010, 09:14 PM) *
Wwooooooooowwwww!!! ohmy.gif Cooooooll lookin' man! Can't wait to get some pictures from ya. wink.gif

I've been thinking about getting a Boss. I have an ME20...was thinking between the GT10 and the ME70. I'm thinking the GT10 is better for me since I wanna rock straight to the computer via USB. I guess it would work well with my amps as well.


Well I got the GT-10 and still haven't figured out how to use the USB. When you get yours and figure out how to use the USB, give me a shout smile.gif


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Sep 4 2010, 04:26 AM
Post #6


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Mudbone, This doesn't help? You might need to install a driver if it needs.



--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OzRob
post Sep 4 2010, 05:29 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 468
Joined: 26-September 08
From: QLD, Australia
Member No.: 5.967



I record direct from GT-10 via USB.

You do need to go to the Boss website and download the driver. You also need to enable the USB output on the GT-10. Check the manual to ascertain you've done it all correctly. Once it's installed, inside your DAW you should have an option to select the GT-10 as your input device.


--------------------
------------------------
My website (Flash) My other website (non-Flash)
------------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Sep 4 2010, 08:03 AM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



QUOTE (maharzan @ Sep 3 2010, 11:26 PM) *
Mudbone, This doesn't help? You might need to install a driver if it needs.



Hey maharzan, thanks for your feedback. That video didn't quite solve my problem, but it set me in the right direction smile.gif

QUOTE (OzRob @ Sep 4 2010, 12:29 AM) *
I record direct from GT-10 via USB.

You do need to go to the Boss website and download the driver. You also need to enable the USB output on the GT-10. Check the manual to ascertain you've done it all correctly. Once it's installed, inside your DAW you should have an option to select the GT-10 as your input device.


Ok, I managed to record with it, but haven't really dialed in a good metal rhythm tone yet. I can't get the sound to come out from the computer, it only comes out from the GT-10. Is there anyway you got the sound to come out from the computer?


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 4 2010, 08:04 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.775
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Let me know how the ZOOM sounds! It looks great smile.gif And the price is right too. I'm still using a GNX3 as I have yet to find another multi pedal with enough gain. I tried the PRICEY Rocktron G500 multi pedal and found it WEEEAAAAAKK on Thick/Crunch/Metalic type gain. For Rock, Pop, works great, for Death Metal, just not gonna cut it.
Attached Image
Todd


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Sep 4 2010, 08:18 AM
Post #10


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



cool man.. glad it helped a bit. So, post what you have recorded and lets see if we can help. smile.gif When I recorded with my GNX4, I had the headphones from GNX4 as well or the speakers from the computers did the job too. smile.gif


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OzRob
post Sep 4 2010, 08:44 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 468
Joined: 26-September 08
From: QLD, Australia
Member No.: 5.967



QUOTE (Mudbone @ Sep 4 2010, 05:03 PM) *
I can't get the sound to come out from the computer, it only comes out from the GT-10. Is there anyway you got the sound to come out from the computer?


Yeh, in your DAW you will need to find an option that lets you monitor the incoming sound. Otherwise if you use a standard 1/4" lead (in addition to the USB connection) to connect the mono out from the GT-10 to an amp or your soundcard, that will give you a rough monitor effect but it will still be recording the digital signal - assuming you have the settings correct in your DAW.

The GT-10 will also operate as a soundcard which means you can plug headphones into the phone out jack on the GT-10. Then set your DAW to output via the GT-10 and you will be able to hear the entire song through the GT. This is useful if you don't have a great quality soundcard.


--------------------
------------------------
My website (Flash) My other website (non-Flash)
------------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Sep 4 2010, 09:03 AM
Post #12


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



QUOTE (OzRob @ Sep 4 2010, 03:44 AM) *
Yeh, in your DAW you will need to find an option that lets you monitor the incoming sound. Otherwise if you use a standard 1/4" lead (in addition to the USB connection) to connect the mono out from the GT-10 to an amp or your soundcard, that will give you a rough monitor effect but it will still be recording the digital signal - assuming you have the settings correct in your DAW.

The GT-10 will also operate as a soundcard which means you can plug headphones into the phone out jack on the GT-10. Then set your DAW to output via the GT-10 and you will be able to hear the entire song through the GT. This is useful if you don't have a great quality soundcard.


Cool dude, thanks for the advice smile.gif So have you been able to get any good metal tones out of your GT-10? I can't get any good palm mutes out of it... yet mad.gif I've had much better success with the Line6 Tone Port. The palm mutes on the GT-10 are tinny and kinda weak, while on the Tone Port they're pretty, you know... chugga chugga loool laugh.gif


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OzRob
post Sep 4 2010, 09:30 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 468
Joined: 26-September 08
From: QLD, Australia
Member No.: 5.967



QUOTE (Mudbone @ Sep 4 2010, 06:03 PM) *
So have you been able to get any good metal tones out of your GT-10?


Nup! laugh.gif At least not on it's own. It's great for everything but heavy stuff. There is a gadget to fix it but it costs. Read my wiki review for the goods.

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=34220

I also use a real Metal Zone and now I've added Rammfire to my arsenal for heavy stuff.


--------------------
------------------------
My website (Flash) My other website (non-Flash)
------------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Sep 4 2010, 10:17 AM
Post #14


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



QUOTE (OzRob @ Sep 4 2010, 04:30 AM) *
Nup! laugh.gif At least not on it's own. It's great for everything but heavy stuff. There is a gadget to fix it but it costs. Read my wiki review for the goods.

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=34220

I also use a real Metal Zone and now I've added Rammfire to my arsenal for heavy stuff.


Ya it seems like no one is satisfied with the metal tones on the GT-10. Have you tried using it in the effects loops of an amp just as an effects unit? Thats what I use it for now. I was actually thinking of selling it and getting the Digitech RP1000, seeing how I can't use it to record any heavy stuff. Supposedly the Digitech has better amp modeling and works better as an effects unit in the loop. Have you compared the two of them yet?


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OzRob
post Sep 4 2010, 10:56 AM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 468
Joined: 26-September 08
From: QLD, Australia
Member No.: 5.967



Hey Mudbone,

I haven't tried the Digitech but it depends what you want. The GT-10 for me, is a great direct recording solution as I have no real use for an amp (I've got a great Fender amp rusting in the spare room!) and I get my metal tones from pedals and plugins. But the GT-10 has a great range of effects and limiters and compressors, all of which I regularly use. Also the GT has very flexible programming options and doubles as a soundcard.

If you need a one-stop multi-fx with great high gain, I would check out the options from TC Electronics. I've only heard good things about them. A lot of guys find a happy solution by keeping the GT-10 for its very good effects and the very useful ASSIGN feature, but using their amp and/or a good pedal for high gain/heavy work.


--------------------
------------------------
My website (Flash) My other website (non-Flash)
------------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Sep 4 2010, 12:24 PM
Post #16


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



QUOTE (OzRob @ Sep 4 2010, 05:56 AM) *
Hey Mudbone,

I haven't tried the Digitech but it depends what you want. The GT-10 for me, is a great direct recording solution as I have no real use for an amp (I've got a great Fender amp rusting in the spare room!) and I get my metal tones from pedals and plugins. But the GT-10 has a great range of effects and limiters and compressors, all of which I regularly use. Also the GT has very flexible programming options and doubles as a soundcard.

If you need a one-stop multi-fx with great high gain, I would check out the options from TC Electronics. I've only heard good things about them. A lot of guys find a happy solution by keeping the GT-10 for its very good effects and the very useful ASSIGN feature, but using their amp and/or a good pedal for high gain/heavy work.


Hey OzRob,

Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it smile.gif I was looking at the TC Electronics stuff, but I just can't justify dropping even more money on effects tongue.gif The GT-10 is great - except for the high gain stuff for recording - I think I'm gonna stick with it for now smile.gif


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OzRob
post Sep 4 2010, 12:34 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 468
Joined: 26-September 08
From: QLD, Australia
Member No.: 5.967



You're welcome. smile.gif

Sorry to the Captain for going off topic. Lol.

This post has been edited by OzRob: Sep 4 2010, 12:35 PM


--------------------
------------------------
My website (Flash) My other website (non-Flash)
------------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd January 2017 - 09:16 AM