Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pod Hd
Gabriel Leopardi
post Oct 12 2010, 03:03 PM
Post #1


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.225
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Hey guys! I discovered that Line 6 realised the new Pod HD series. You'll find the 300, 400 and 500 versions. I've been checking some video tests and it sound good. However I'm not sure if there is a big difference with X3. I've been reading on the web and some of the differences are that the new version doesn't include the double tone option and it neither includes bass & vocal preamps. This makes me think that maybe they decided to only include top level features. Line 6 also says that this new version has M series quality effects as well as a looper.
Any thoughts about it? Do you think that X3 users should buy it and get the new one??


Here I found a test comparing it to axe. However you must have in mind that this comparition is also US$500 vs US$2700.



--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lian Gerbino
post Oct 12 2010, 04:00 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.426
Joined: 14-April 08
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Member No.: 4.895



I'm a big fan of PODs... I would love to try one of these soon! thanks for sharing Gab!

This post has been edited by Lian Gerbino: Oct 12 2010, 04:01 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Oct 12 2010, 04:01 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.755
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



From what I"ve read, the HD pod you are talking about is using a much broader sample rate than the previous POD floor series. Essentially, it's using faster chips to process more of the audio you don't hear so that the overtones impact the audio you do hear. The result is supposed to be a sound that is more "warm" and analogue sounding and more true to the original emulated tone. I can't wait to try one of these.

Todd


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr T
post Oct 12 2010, 04:57 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 323
Joined: 26-December 07
From: Enschede, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.618



As far as I can tell from this video, I like the sound of the axe fx better. It feels more powerfull to me.


--------------------


Roland Cube 30; Toneport GX; Cort kx1; Ibanez RG1570; Ibanez EW35ABE-NT

http://www.last.fm/user/Mr_T83
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Oct 12 2010, 06:15 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.225
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



QUOTE (Lian Gerbino @ Oct 12 2010, 12:00 PM) *
I'm a big fan of PODs... I would love to try one of these soon! thanks for sharing Gab!


me too! smile.gif

QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Oct 12 2010, 12:01 PM) *
From what I"ve read, the HD pod you are talking about is using a much broader sample rate than the previous POD floor series. Essentially, it's using faster chips to process more of the audio you don't hear so that the overtones impact the audio you do hear. The result is supposed to be a sound that is more "warm" and analogue sounding and more true to the original emulated tone. I can't wait to try one of these.

Todd


I didn't know about the sample rate difference. Thanks Todd for the info!


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Oct 12 2010, 08:57 PM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.940
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



New "toys" from Line-6 are always great to check smile.gif

I don't think I will be upgrading my X3 anytime soon anyway, serves me well, and it already has far too many things to tweak laugh.gif


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JamesT
post Oct 12 2010, 09:06 PM
Post #7


Accomplished Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 757
Joined: 12-April 08
From: USA, NV
Member No.: 4.872



I've been watching for the release of HD too.

There's a video at the line 6 site that demos several of the new amp models. The guy in the demo talks about how the dynamics of the amp models have been greatly improved. I think that is something that's a bit lacking in the current POD for live playing. I'm anxious to try an HD out myself though I'm a little hesitant to plunk down the cash sight unseen. I did read that the new HDs don't offer the ability to record a completely dry signal over USB. Instead, they recommend that you route the dry signal to the secondary analog outputs for recording and then monitor from the main output. This is a drawback to me since these days when I record, I always capture the dry signal and then re-amp with POD farm (or other plugin model). I'm not sure how readily I could re-amp back through the HD if I were to want to. I looked for a users guide on the Line 6 site for the HD, but it wasn't there the last time I checked.

I'd really like to find a music store that can demo both the Axe-FX and then new Pod HD side-by-side. The HD will be a lot less expensive of the two for sure.


--------------------


Check out my YouTube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bmckenn
post May 25 2011, 02:15 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16-March 08
Member No.: 4.605



Hey Guys! I don't know much about 88 subsonic gigawatts and digial recording flux capacitors, but I'll share my experience so far with the Pod hd. I traded my L6 Jm4 looper towards a HD 400. I am constantly tweaking to find "The Tone" and the JM4 was very limited and I hated the tedious menus. I found the menus on the HD400 to be more of the same...the software made it easier and I downloaded some cool sounds from the custom tone site. But, I still was not blown away. About 2 weeks ago I took back the 400 and got the 500. I am very impressed. The menus are very easy...I am trying amp and effects combinations that I would have never tried before. The abiltiy to roll from clean to distortion and control the amount of effects with the pedal is the coolest thing ever (X3 might be able to do that...never had any other pod so this is new to me). Favorite amp is the Brit P-75 (based on the Parker/Marshall) because it sits right in the sweet spot of play light or roll back volume for clean and dig in break up that I (everyone!!) is after. Put a treadplate with it or put a tube screamer or rat in front of it and roll on the distortion with the pedal...Brilliant!! Yes, my wife hates it!

I have one of the unbalanced outs of the HD500 playing through the FX loop return on my L6 Flextone III and for practicing I have the other out going to my monitors. Together and separately both sound great!!! Reaper saw it instantly and the recordings sound fantastic compared to my M-audio fast track.

I definetely don't hear $2200 difference in the sounds from the video. I highly recommend the HDs, especially the HD500 for the large screen, easy menus, and control over its countless features.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TylerT
post May 25 2011, 03:24 AM
Post #9


Guitar Hero
*

Group: Members
Posts: 295
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 2.856



I have an X3 Live right now and love it, though I would rather have an HD biggrin.gif


--------------------
My Website
My Youtube

Main Guitars:
- Agile Interceptor Pro 725
- EBMM John Petrucci Signature
- Axl Badwater

Amps/Effects:
- Avid Eleven Rack
- Hughes & Kettner Switchblade
- Pod X3 Live
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post May 25 2011, 02:56 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



This comparison in tone is not realistic, because of several reasons:

1. When playing through a device, feel and response is equally important as tone quality
2. When using the device, it's more important how tone sits within the mix, then without it
3. When comparing tones of two devices, comparing all other features (along with price) is equally important, not just comparing 3 models of amps
4. The person who is comparing could tweak/change the tones before uploading to YT (conspiracy theory biggrin.gif )


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post May 25 2011, 03:08 PM
Post #11


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.940
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



I guess I'm too lazy to actually take the time to get a nice tone from line 6 stuff. I know the tones are in there, but I just get bored of trying in 5 minutes. As a matter of fact one of the reasons I'm not recording tracks/vids for a year now is that actually thinking of setting the pod tones stops from trying.

I just plug my guitar into my stomps and amp, and rock. But that way I can't record... sigh. And I'm sure if I buy some mic I won't get a good tone from the real amp either, since it's not that simple...



--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rokchik
post May 26 2011, 05:16 PM
Post #12


Moderator - The Dark Canuck
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.726
Joined: 22-March 07
From: The Great White North
Member No.: 1.395



QUOTE (Fran @ May 25 2011, 11:08 AM) *
I guess I'm too lazy to actually take the time to get a nice tone from line 6 stuff. I know the tones are in there, but I just get bored of trying in 5 minutes. As a matter of fact one of the reasons I'm not recording tracks/vids for a year now is that actually thinking of setting the pod tones stops from trying.

I just plug my guitar into my stomps and amp, and rock. But that way I can't record... sigh. And I'm sure if I buy some mic I won't get a good tone from the real amp either, since it's not that simple...


I sold my PodXT about a year ago now actually. I also was a little too lazy to really play around with it. Plus I bought my new amp and just figuring that out was enough work. I decided to streamline a little and got rid of a lot of what I had. A buddy of mine was doing some gigs and needed some gear so I he bought a lot of it... at least he'd use the stuff instead of it collecting dust at my place. Now I just have a DF7 distortion and a wah which is more than enough for what I'm doing right now.

I am playing a lot more now and maybe down the line I'll look at reinvesting in some sort of POD... the HD looks pretty sweet but again maybe more than I actually need for what I'm doing. But the Line 6 gear is certainly fun to play with at the music store smile.gif

rok
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Azzaboi
post May 26 2011, 08:00 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.485
Joined: 23-March 09
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 6.965



Sure there's a general setup with any of the Pod series, but once it's setup nicely there's normally little to no muck around. Flick a switch and your onto the next tone. Plug in a cable and your connected to the pc. The HD series they even got rid of the power switch for you lazy lot! rolleyes.gif


--------------------


Play Games Arcade
Take a break, Play Games! Play the best free online flash games at Aaron's Game Zone like Bloons Tower Defense 4!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2017 - 11:39 PM