2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Gmc Videos.. Slow?
Melodic Axeman
post Apr 21 2007, 12:47 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 20-March 07
From: Rome, Italy
Member No.: 1.389



HI all,
I just want to question this: I have a 2MBit adsl, and i don't have any problems with other video source (Youtube for ex.), but i can't see GMC videos without waiting at least 5 minutes to load them.
Does it happen to anyone of you? Is the server overloaded or just me?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JCJXXL
post Apr 21 2007, 04:12 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 22-January 07
From: AMERICA THE BEAUTIFUL!
Member No.: 1.101



Which browser are you using (which version)? And which version of the Flash plugin are you using? And are you running any of those "Internet Security Suites" such as Norton, McAfee,etc?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Melodic Axeman
post Apr 21 2007, 06:46 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 20-March 07
From: Rome, Italy
Member No.: 1.389



I use firefox 2.0.0.3 and ZoneAlarm, but with IE and without the firewall is the same..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Apr 21 2007, 08:03 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



I think its your browser.


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ezravdb
post Apr 21 2007, 08:49 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 597
Joined: 20-July 06
From: Holland
Member No.: 764



me no probs smile.gif


--------------------
The coolest new community: Lockerz Wanna join Lockerz?
Send me a PM with your mailadress.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Apr 21 2007, 09:00 PM
Post #6


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



QUOTE (JCJXXL @ Apr 21 2007, 05:12 PM) *
Which browser are you using (which version)? And which version of the Flash plugin are you using? And are you running any of those "Internet Security Suites" such as Norton, McAfee,etc?



Hey is that Andre Olbrich of Blind Guardian on your avatar? He's great guitarist! Love his solos - they are simple but so F!"#&( great!

And - i have no problems with the videos - i can open them in IE, Mozilla and Opera and they work fine for me.


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Melodic Axeman
post Apr 21 2007, 10:48 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 20-March 07
From: Rome, Italy
Member No.: 1.389



QUOTE (Pavel @ Apr 21 2007, 10:00 PM) *
Hey is that Andre Olbrich of Blind Guardian on your avatar? He's great guitarist! Love his solos - they are simple but so F!"#&( great!

And - i have no problems with the videos - i can open them in IE, Mozilla and Opera and they work fine for me.


Yes, it's him! laugh.gif The one who inspired me to start playing guitar! smile.gif

For the videos, i think is just my ISP that is too slow =|
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JCJXXL
post Apr 22 2007, 01:08 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 22-January 07
From: AMERICA THE BEAUTIFUL!
Member No.: 1.101



Go to this site

CODE
http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/


And report back what your speed test results are.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ron
post Apr 22 2007, 01:44 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 22-February 07
From: UK
Member No.: 1.238



QUOTE (Melodic Axeman @ Apr 21 2007, 06:46 PM) *
I use firefox 2.0.0.3 and ZoneAlarm, but with IE and without the firewall is the same..



QUOTE (Eat-Sleep-andJam @ Apr 21 2007, 08:03 PM) *
I think its your browser.


Just to reassure you - it's not your browser. I use the same version of firefox with no probs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gaelan
post Apr 22 2007, 05:03 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 6-April 07
Member No.: 1.497



QUOTE (Melodic Axeman @ Apr 20 2007, 05:47 PM) *
HI all,
I just want to question this: I have a 2MBit adsl, and i don't have any problems with other video source (Youtube for ex.), but i can't see GMC videos without waiting at least 5 minutes to load them.
Does it happen to anyone of you? Is the server overloaded or just me?

Thanks


on the main page of GMC, locate Kris' welcome video

right click it and go to Settings

locate the Local storage slider by clicking the tab with the folder icon on it along the bottom of the settings window and jack it up to Unlimited.

save it by clicking close, reload the browser and try again

doing this will increase the buffer of the flash plugin and should let the video start playing properly before it downloads completely

G.


--------------------
wanna save more money for gear?
Check out the site your cell phone company doesn't want you to see!
http://www.gaelansplace.info
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Apr 22 2007, 09:56 PM
Post #11


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.258
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (Gaelan @ Apr 22 2007, 06:03 PM) *
on the main page of GMC, locate Kris' welcome video

right click it and go to Settings

locate the Local storage slider by clicking the tab with the folder icon on it along the bottom of the settings window and jack it up to Unlimited.

save it by clicking close, reload the browser and try again

doing this will increase the buffer of the flash plugin and should let the video start playing properly before it downloads completely

G.



Good advice - everyone should do this. This will be especially helpful for people on a slow connection - I would definately recommend you to set the slider to "unlimited".


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FmX
post May 5 2007, 11:37 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-April 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.700



Sorry for bumping this thread but I have this problem too and it's damn annoying. It takes like 30 minutes to load a video and as you can imagine it's torture..

I've set it on "unlimited" and I got 8 mbit broadband. I think I got a bad connection to the host server for this site, any ideas? Please help me because it's hard to learn anything if it takes so long to load different parts of a lesson.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ryan
post May 7 2007, 05:19 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.286
Joined: 14-March 07
From: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Member No.: 1.345



Setting the slider to unlimited...for me....sped everythign up...thx guys biggrin.gif


--------------------
“Obey the principles without being bound by them.”
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
warchild
post May 14 2007, 07:28 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-May 07
From: Northumberland, UK
Member No.: 1.832



I am having problems with the videos stopping and starting. I have taken advice and I have been told it is probably to do with the server being located in the States! (And the amount of traffic on the site!). Kris, you were looking into the problem - any updates?

This post has been edited by warchild: May 14 2007, 07:28 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post May 14 2007, 09:04 PM
Post #15


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.258
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (warchild @ May 14 2007, 08:28 PM) *
I am having problems with the videos stopping and starting. I have taken advice and I have been told it is probably to do with the server being located in the States! (And the amount of traffic on the site!). Kris, you were looking into the problem - any updates?


Yes! We have purchased a server in the UK today - Henrik will get working on this next week...

Kris


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mattacuk
post May 15 2007, 09:38 AM
Post #16


Lets go fishing!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.526
Joined: 21-December 06
From: illinois
Member No.: 1.001



QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ May 14 2007, 09:04 PM) *
Yes! We have purchased a server in the UK today - Henrik will get working on this next week...

Kris


That is exciting news for us Brits! biggrin.gif


--------------------
mysql> SELECT * FROM master_name WHERE ((firstname = 'Paul') AND (lastname = 'Gilbert'));


"The Fundimental Difference between Paul Gilbert and Buckethead is that Paul Explores the Good side of the force, while Buckethead Explores the Dark Side of the Force" :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post May 15 2007, 11:52 AM
Post #17


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (mattacuk @ May 15 2007, 10:38 AM) *
That is exciting news for us Brits! biggrin.gif

For Swedes aswell, videos became very slow lately. Expect us to be there biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post May 15 2007, 12:56 PM
Post #18


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ May 14 2007, 04:04 PM) *
Yes! We have purchased a server in the UK today - Henrik will get working on this next week...

Kris


I'm curious how the load balancing will work - standard DNS swithching, or something more sophisticated based on hop number? Maybe that's one for Henrik smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Henrik Skotth
post May 15 2007, 03:10 PM
Post #19


GMC Tech & Community Manager
*

Group: Members
Posts: 443
Joined: 19-December 06
Member No.: 994



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ May 15 2007, 01:56 PM) *
I'm curious how the load balancing will work - standard DNS swithching, or something more sophisticated based on hop number? Maybe that's one for Henrik smile.gif


Maybe it is smile.gif

As the main problems are with the videos, we will start by sending our european users to the new server only when watching a video, based on IP-numbers. If you have a european IP, you'll load the videos from a different subdomain (europe.guitarmasterclass.net or something like that) than the users from north america.

The other parts of the site will initally remain on the US server. If everything works well, we will most likely mirror more of the site on the EU server in the next step though.

The servers will be mirrored using rsync, btw. Overall it's a quite simple solution. But effective, I hope smile.gif


--------------------
Tech manager @ GMC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post May 16 2007, 04:06 AM
Post #20


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Henrik Skotth @ May 15 2007, 10:10 AM) *
Maybe it is smile.gif

As the main problems are with the videos, we will start by sending our european users to the new server only when watching a video, based on IP-numbers. If you have a european IP, you'll load the videos from a different subdomain (europe.guitarmasterclass.net or something like that) than the users from north america.

The other parts of the site will initally remain on the US server. If everything works well, we will most likely mirror more of the site on the EU server in the next step though.

The servers will be mirrored using rsync, btw. Overall it's a quite simple solution. But effective, I hope smile.gif


Very cunning smile.gif And I'm a big fan of rsync cool.gif How can we fail with technical backup of this caliber ??

For that to work, you'd need to be generating the lesson pages dynamically I guess?


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2017 - 11:49 AM