Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Video And Audio At The Same Time, Any software?
K1R
post Dec 18 2010, 01:21 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 460
Joined: 10-August 10
From: Riga, Latvia
Member No.: 10.996



Hi guys! I've been using Sonar, but it's seems too boring to synchronize the audio with the video. The question is: is there any software which can record the video and the audio at once? My webcam software supports this function but it can't record the backing track. So I'm looking for some DAW with video recording function. I count on your help. smile.gif


--------------------

Guitar Altamira M01D, Samick Royale 3, Musima Lead Star 1
Effects Boss ME-25
Amp Stagg 40 GA DSP
DAW SONAR LE

YouTube | Facebook | Last.fm
“One day you pick up the guitar and you feel like a great master, and the next day you feel like a fool. It’s because we’re different every day, but the guitar is always the same…beautiful.” ~ Tommy Emmanuel
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"You have a whole collection of musical ideas and thoughts that you’ve accumulated through your musical history plus all the musical history of the whole world and it’s all in your subconscious and you draw upon it when you play” ~ Joe Pass
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sollesnes
post Dec 18 2010, 01:26 PM
Post #2


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.940
Joined: 18-January 09
Member No.: 6.623



How about a video editing software that can record audio and video? Like Vegas? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
K1R
post Dec 18 2010, 01:42 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 460
Joined: 10-August 10
From: Riga, Latvia
Member No.: 10.996



Is there a function to play the backing track during recording? I just can't find it.


--------------------

Guitar Altamira M01D, Samick Royale 3, Musima Lead Star 1
Effects Boss ME-25
Amp Stagg 40 GA DSP
DAW SONAR LE

YouTube | Facebook | Last.fm
“One day you pick up the guitar and you feel like a great master, and the next day you feel like a fool. It’s because we’re different every day, but the guitar is always the same…beautiful.” ~ Tommy Emmanuel
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"You have a whole collection of musical ideas and thoughts that you’ve accumulated through your musical history plus all the musical history of the whole world and it’s all in your subconscious and you draw upon it when you play” ~ Joe Pass
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Dec 18 2010, 02:57 PM
Post #4


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.921
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



QUOTE (K1R @ Dec 18 2010, 01:42 PM) *
Is there a function to play the backing track during recording? I just can't find it.


I'd be interested to know that as well.

I use reaper to record audio and logitech webcam for video. But I don't find a way to do it all at the same time with the backing.


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Dec 18 2010, 03:13 PM
Post #5


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Nope You cannot do that.. smile.gif The only way to get rid of sync issue is to record with your speakers. I recorded one today and it gave one hell of a time trying to sync.. god knows why the video or the audio went like 0.1% faster.. while it synced perfectly at the beginning but lagged like 0.4 secs at the end. sad.gif

I tried using soundflower on mac sometime back which was supposed to record both computer sound and external input but I haven't yet figured it out.


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sollesnes
post Dec 18 2010, 03:26 PM
Post #6


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.940
Joined: 18-January 09
Member No.: 6.623



QUOTE (K1R @ Dec 18 2010, 01:42 PM) *
Is there a function to play the backing track during recording? I just can't find it.


Oh I dont know about that, sorry.. I usually record from two different sources (webcam software or photo camera, and DAW), and then sync them in Vegas or Movie Maker smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Dec 18 2010, 03:27 PM
Post #7


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (maharzan @ Dec 18 2010, 03:13 PM) *
...god knows why the video or the audio went like 0.1% faster.. while it synced perfectly at the beginning but lagged like 0.4 secs at the end. sad.gif

...


Sounds to me like a mismatch between sample rates. Possibly your audio is 44.1k but the video is at 48k.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Daniel Realpe
post Dec 18 2010, 04:15 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.655
Joined: 11-October 09
From: Bogota
Member No.: 7.694



you need somekind of sync noise at the beginning of the recording which also clearly appears on the video. That's why they use those on professional film industry. When they go: ACTION!

You can do that with your hands even, just make sure audio from the camera, audio in the DAW AND video pick the same "event" such as clapping your hands. It's got to be very clear. It will make syncing a lot easier later.

I personally don't do it because in Adobe you can see the audio waveform of both the audio from the DAW and audio from the camera, so you just put one below the other and it's going to be in sync, just zoom a lot.


--------------------
Visit my:
INSTRUCTOR PROFILE

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music."
Gustav Mahler


Subscribe to my Youtube Channel here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 18 2010, 08:57 PM
Post #9


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



You are actually looking for video editing software that will have this feature (to choose different capture source for audio and video). Though depends a lot on the sound card you have. You'll have to be able to make a mix between the backing and the guitar and capture that channel. I'm not sure though I think Vegas and Windows Movie Maker can use different audio capture sources.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JamesT
post Dec 18 2010, 11:30 PM
Post #10


Accomplished Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 757
Joined: 12-April 08
From: USA, NV
Member No.: 4.872



It would be cool to find a video camera that has a line level audio input. Then, you could just take the signal from the mixer directly into the camera. Mix the backing track and the audio from your live take and send it to the camera. It would save a step for sure. I looked around for such a camera before I settled for a basic web-cam and couldn't find anything.


--------------------


Check out my YouTube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 28 2010, 03:55 AM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I would recommend that you sync your files. It will prove better. There isn't any product that does both things well. Audio is for DAW, and video is for video editing apps. Just use audio and visual signals at the beginning of the video, and you will have no problems syncing. Or you can use waveforms.

I'm not sure what video editing software you use, but Vegas is very good, and you will have no problem syncing with it.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 30 2010, 02:01 PM
Post #12


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (JamesT @ Dec 18 2010, 11:30 PM) *
It would be cool to find a video camera that has a line level audio input. Then, you could just take the signal from the mixer directly into the camera. Mix the backing track and the audio from your live take and send it to the camera. It would save a step for sure. I looked around for such a camera before I settled for a basic web-cam and couldn't find anything.


Yes this is definitely the easiest option though its not that versatile. Usually more expensive cams have this option of mic/line input. Though I recommend it as such cam will be much more useful in different situation then the one without it (for interviews and stuff like that).


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mguimaraes777
post Sep 15 2011, 06:23 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 18-September 10
From: Brazil
Member No.: 11.199



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Dec 30 2010, 01:01 PM) *
Yes this is definitely the easiest option though its not that versatile. Usually more expensive cams have this option of mic/line input. Though I recommend it as such cam will be much more useful in different situation then the one without it (for interviews and stuff like that).


Hi guys.... reading the postings here I am also facing same chalenges... By the way, there a Sony cam XR160 with those line inputs required. Take a look on it. It costs about 550 US dollars.

Take care all !!! Keep rocking !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 26 2011, 09:25 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



It's better to sync the files in the end, provides more control smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MrUK
post Apr 15 2015, 08:37 AM
Post #15


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 31-December 14
From: Sweden
Member No.: 20.566



How about this one, then recordning video & audio at the same time? smile.gif

http://www.virtualdub.org/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 16 2015, 02:26 AM
Post #16


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.462
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Just to keep things simple, you use the QUICKTIME utility from apple and set the video input to be your web cam and the audio input to be your line in on your computers internal sound card. Just run a cable from your external soundcard/interface using the headphone output to your line in on your computer. That way everything coming out of your daw will go in to quicktime along with your video smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2017 - 08:00 AM