ReverendRando
post Feb 2 2011, 01:17 AM
Post #1

Learning Rock Star

Group: Members
Member No.: 10.807

Hello GMC and welcome to my first post!
Isn't this exciting! biggrin.gif
I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now, and for those two years I've only used a single electric guitar. That guitar is my ESP LTD F-50 which is a low-end model in the F series. I received this guitar as a gift and for the first year it had a great sound, or so I thought. Now that I've been playing longer I have really become dissatisfied with the tone. I really love the body of the F-50 and I want something like it because I've used it for so long. So should I replace the pickups on my guitar, if so which pickups should I get, or should I just move up to the ESP LTD F-350 which is exactly like the F-50 but with Floyd Rose, and EMG-81 pickups with a $620 price tag? I would rather have the cheaper option honestly, lol.
Lengthy question, but can anyone help me out?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Feb 2 2011, 01:25 AM
Post #2

GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Member No.: 8.794

Putting an expensive pickup set and nice trem on that guitar may be a bit much. Your basically over-upgrading it. Have you ever seen a cheap car with really nice rims/wheels? It would be kinda like that.The pups are gonna be 200 bux, not to mention the whammy and Tech/luthier work. Honestly for just a bit more you could get a nice guitar with all that already in it. Or a really nice guitar with that stuff in it that is a year or so old.