Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Lenny Jam, Fender Amplitube/Saffire 6 testing
Brandon Earman
post Mar 23 2011, 02:58 AM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



Hey GMC, here's a take using my new setup: Fender Amplitube with Focusrite Saffire 6 USB interface. I'm still trying to get everything figured out, I'm not getting the exact sounds I want yet but I'm making progress. I'm also running into a buffer issue, I think my computer may be too old. So I'm having to play with around 10-11ms of delay dry.gif

A new computer is probably next on my list for sure... Anyways, enjoy the jam.



--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JamesT
post Mar 23 2011, 05:12 AM
Post #2


Accomplished Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 757
Joined: 12-April 08
From: USA, NV
Member No.: 4.872



Nicely done man. You're getting some good sounds out of that guitar. cool.gif


--------------------


Check out my YouTube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Mar 23 2011, 05:16 AM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



Great playing, sounds really nice biggrin.gif So what amp model and/or pedals is this supposed to be?


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brandon Earman
post Mar 23 2011, 01:18 PM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



QUOTE (Mudbone @ Mar 22 2011, 11:16 PM) *
Great playing, sounds really nice biggrin.gif So what amp model and/or pedals is this supposed to be?


Thanks guys. It's a Fender Vibroverb Custom (1964 I think?) with a compression pedal, again all using Fender Amplitube.


--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Mar 23 2011, 02:38 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



cool sounds brandon!, i like it dude.
about the latency, 10-15m of latency is pretty normal for modeling, i dont think the computer is the problem, i have a macbook pro now, and use to have a quadcore pc, and still you got that latency.

in the other hand, i heard that you can avoid it with a firewire system, you will get used tho, is not that bad!


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brandon Earman
post Mar 23 2011, 04:14 PM
Post #6


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



Maybe I'm asking for too much then as far as latency goes. I would just like to get it down to 7-8ms, but when I lower it to that, I get a bunch of "crackling" and it sounds terrible.

QUOTE (Adrian Figallo @ Mar 23 2011, 08:38 AM) *
cool sounds brandon!, i like it dude.
about the latency, 10-15m of latency is pretty normal for modeling, i dont think the computer is the problem, i have a macbook pro now, and use to have a quadcore pc, and still you got that latency.

in the other hand, i heard that you can avoid it with a firewire system, you will get used tho, is not that bad!



--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 23 2011, 11:50 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.765
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I used to have the same issues for quite some time as far as latency. Each device will have it's own set latency and then software modeling increases that a bit. For me it did get better when switching to a semi monster rig from non monster rig. I'm using a quad core xeon 3ghz Mac Pro Tower with 8 GB of Ram. Even then it was still there til I upgraded to the newest version of the Macintosh operating system which makes more use of 64 Bit technology. So my DAW can address wads of ram, hit all four cores etc.

I've used two firewire interfaces and once USB. They were all really close on latency but this varies per unit. One thing to look out for is "Zero Latency Monitoring" on your next audio interface. This is a feature common to many consumer grade interfaces these days. But I feel your pain as latency used to just annoy me to death.

WORKAROUND

I started recording without any fx, just dry and applying the modeling after the fact. This is semi crap as the fx can impact what you play/how you play etc, and when it's just raw and dry the vibe is not there. It's a workaround though until you get another solution.

**That said, your work here is great and your tone is fantastic. If there is latency, I can't really hear it having any ill effect. Well done smile.gif

Todd

QUOTE (Brandon Earman @ Mar 23 2011, 10:14 AM) *
Maybe I'm asking for too much then as far as latency goes. I would just like to get it down to 7-8ms, but when I lower it to that, I get a bunch of "crackling" and it sounds terrible.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brandon Earman
post Mar 24 2011, 02:07 AM
Post #8


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



Wow Todd, I'm jealous of your computer rig smile.gif Question: If you mic a real amp into your USB interface (like my Saffire 6), will you have as much latency? I realize you will always have some latency, but will it be minimal when mic'ed as opposed to all modeling/VST?


--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 26 2011, 08:54 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.765
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Thanks smile.gif It's been a great rig. I can safely suggest the Mac Pro Tower to anyone doing music. You will notice those large silver cheese grater looking boxes in lots of studios. Fan noise can be like a jet though. Cooling all that is work.

Great question btw. The latency is created partially by the signal itself passing through the usb bus/interface in "some" cases and compounded by the cpu cost of modeling. So Recording with a Mic VS Going direct, still requires you to go through your USB Interface so no latency reduction there really. As I mentioned, try to record just plain dry if at all possible just to see if it eliminates enough latency. Then start adding things back on.

When I'm doing rock/blues I'm much less sensitive to latency than when doing metal/speed stuff. So if I"m doing lots of fast picking and plan to model, I"ll either record tone with distortion on it (gnx3 through bass combo amp) or dry and add fx later. Playing a lead bone dry is tough. Sounds nothing like what it will sound like later but shy of making hardware changes, it's the easiest fix.

Hope this helps. Keep it up!
Todd

QUOTE (Brandon Earman @ Mar 23 2011, 08:07 PM) *
Wow Todd, I'm jealous of your computer rig smile.gif Question: If you mic a real amp into your USB interface (like my Saffire 6), will you have as much latency? I realize you will always have some latency, but will it be minimal when mic'ed as opposed to all modeling/VST?



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 31 2011, 02:27 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I watched this couple of days ago, and I really liked it, well done mate! smile.gif

BTW What's your PC config mate? Perhaps there is a solution to this problem. Also, could you tell us the software setup as well, it will help. Saffire should provide enough power for less latency.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Mar 31 2011, 02:40 PM
Post #11


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Very nice and warm sound. I like your playing and feeling! Fender Amplitube is a great modeling software - clean sounds amazing.
You can get rid of all the latency , 10-11 ms sounds fine to me. But good PC with lots of RAM is a must for music production (especially if you are going to use modeling).


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Mar 31 2011, 03:22 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



I like the tone from that guitar, what model is it?

I have Saffire Pro24, and my latency is about 5 - 8ms, I think it´s hard to get any lower than that, and really no need.

If you hear some popping and crackling it´s probably something computer related, rather then the interface, Focusrite makes only top quality products. If you have other programs running they can cause unwanted noice, specially if you have old computer, and even with newer ones.


--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brandon Earman
post Mar 31 2011, 03:39 PM
Post #13


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



Thank you everyone, I'm glad my playing was enjoyable. I think a lot of my latency issue is coming from my computer setup. Here's my specs:

Pentium4 3ghz (what is THAT!?) haha I know it's old
2gb ram, or something
too small of hard drives.. 1x20gb 1x80gb

So yeah it's old.. however...

I am building a new PC which all my parts will arrive Monday:

Pentium i7-950
1TB HD
6GBDD3 ram


So I am hoping this will allow me to come down 2-3ms on my latency.

QUOTE (Gilmore @ Mar 31 2011, 09:22 AM) *
I like the tone from that guitar, what model is it?


It was a Fender Vibroverb custom with a compressor pedal running, that's it.


--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Mar 31 2011, 04:12 PM
Post #14


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.941
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



Nice! Well played man, tone is great too cool.gif


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brandon Earman
post Mar 31 2011, 04:24 PM
Post #15


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



oh yeah, and my new motherboard has USB 3.0.. does anyone know if this will be noticeably faster if I hook my saffire interface up to it?


--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Mar 31 2011, 04:50 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



QUOTE (Brandon Earman @ Mar 31 2011, 05:24 PM) *
oh yeah, and my new motherboard has USB 3.0.. does anyone know if this will be noticeably faster if I hook my saffire interface up to it?


Not it will not be faster......only if your interface is USB 3 Supported, but not many devices have that today.

But your new computer will be fast enough for everything.......I have simular setup, and everything is smooth and fast, no matter what I throw at it. smile.gif

Just buy as much memory as you can....all the VST plugins will eat it up fast, 6Gb minimum.....12GB is better. I have only 6GB, and Superior Drummer 2 sometimes cries out for more, if I run large project. wink.gif



--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 31 2011, 05:27 PM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Brandon, your new machine will be definitely a pleasure to work with smile.gif

The latency will cut down to around 5-7, it's hard to go bellow that. But this should be enough.

Also, bare in mind, that in time you will adapt to latency.


QUOTE (Gilmore @ Mar 31 2011, 05:50 PM) *
Just buy as much memory as you can....all the VST plugins will eat it up fast, 6Gb minimum.....12GB is better. I have only 6GB, and Superior Drummer 2 sometimes cries out for more, if I run large project. wink.gif


Hmm, that's strange. SD 2.0 only eats up around 600MB for it's NY Avatar samples. Possibly something else is eating the RAM. 6GB of RAM should be well enough for Superior Drummer 2.0



--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Mar 31 2011, 05:57 PM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Mar 31 2011, 06:27 PM) *
Brandon, your new machine will be definitely a pleasure to work with smile.gif

The latency will cut down to around 5-7, it's hard to go bellow that. But this should be enough.

Also, bare in mind, that in time you will adapt to latency.




Hmm, that's strange. SD 2.0 only eats up around 600MB for it's NY Avatar samples. Possibly something else is eating the RAM. 6GB of RAM should be well enough for Superior Drummer 2.0


I´t happened when I had a large project running with many copy´s of Guitar Rig and other plugins, not very well organized, and when I loaded Metal Foundry kit in SD 2, then it wouldn´t load all the samples because SD stated that I did not have enough free memory, probably because of other things running. smile.gif


--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2017 - 12:13 PM