Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Latency Update
Brandon Earman
post Apr 5 2011, 03:13 PM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



Hey GMC, I recently made a post with concerns on latency issues with my Focusrite Saffire 6 USB, and Fender Ampltiube. I was getting 12 ms buffer size at best.

Last night I built my new PC.. Intel Core i7 with 6gb ram, 1TB hard drive.

I now could set my buffer as low as 1-2ms and run Fender Amplitube fine. Granted this was not through a DAW/VST on a track, but stand alone Amplitube.

It's still a great improvement! It is nice to play with little lag between your fingers and the sound. biggrin.gif


--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Giacinto
post Apr 5 2011, 04:33 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 11-January 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 1.069



hmm which components of your PC matter for that processing? the CPU and RAM?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Apr 5 2011, 07:02 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



nice brandon! i was running it on a phenom II quad core 16gb ram pc, and it rocks too, but 1-2 secs is amazing, great job.


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 5 2011, 10:01 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Well done mate smile.gif

In demanding projects, sometimes it is good to set latency a bit high, to put off some work on the CPU, but i7 should handle most situations.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Apr 5 2011, 10:05 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



in mixing you are going to have to boost it as much as you can smile.gif


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 5 2011, 11:46 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.480
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Glad to hear it smile.gif Throwing some Beefy hardware at the problem often works wonders.
QUOTE (Brandon Earman @ Apr 5 2011, 09:13 AM) *
Hey GMC, I recently made a post with concerns on latency issues with my Focusrite Saffire 6 USB, and Fender Ampltiube. I was getting 12 ms buffer size at best.

Last night I built my new PC.. Intel Core i7 with 6gb ram, 1TB hard drive.

I now could set my buffer as low as 1-2ms and run Fender Amplitube fine. Granted this was not through a DAW/VST on a track, but stand alone Amplitube.

It's still a great improvement! It is nice to play with little lag between your fingers and the sound. biggrin.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post Apr 6 2011, 12:52 AM
Post #7


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.487
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



I have somewhat latency on my POD Farm, but it's not much. Just a tiny bit.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th May 2017 - 01:30 PM