Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem With Sound Output
Brandon Earman
post Apr 6 2011, 01:30 PM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



Hello GMC. I'm having trouble on my new PC with my sound. The only soundcard I have installed is my Focusrite Saffire 6 USB. I also have integrated motherboard sound, and an old sound blaster Audigy which my motherboard doesn't even support I don't think.

My issue is, when I load up Amplitube Fender, I cannot have any other sound applications going. Even YouTube videos - there's a conflict of sorts. It tells me that the desired sample rate is already in use or something (I will post the exact message later).

Do I need to enable my onboard sound to handle the YouTube videos and .mp3 backing tracks or what? I can't even play along with Guitar Pro sad.gif


--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 6 2011, 09:54 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



What sample rate are you using on the Saffire?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brandon Earman
post Apr 7 2011, 02:50 AM
Post #3


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Apr 6 2011, 03:54 PM) *
What sample rate are you using on the Saffire?


Hmm.. 2 channel, 16 bit, 44100 Hz I think?

I just plugged in my Digitech GSP 1101 tonight. I am having more sound issues. I can get guitar sound fine, but I need something to play my PC sounds... how should my sound configuration output be? As far as Playback Devices under your sound controls in the windows taskbar.

Right now I have guitar plugged straight into GSP 1101 --> USB into computer, and from GSP 1101 ---> Line out (left, then right) to each monitor, 1/4 inch to XLR into the monitors.

I am not using my Saffire atm, because I only have one 1/4 inch cord at the moment.

Any sound that comes from my PC (windows sounds, music, etc.) is extremely distorted and you can hardly decipher it. Even when my GSP is on a clean channel/bypassed.

This post has been edited by Brandon Earman: Apr 7 2011, 02:58 AM


--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 7 2011, 04:00 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.739
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Can you assign your audio interface as your primary sound card? That way all audio will pass in and out of that and you can use one sample rate. I"m using a Tascam M164 UF and all computer and sound audio goes through it. Even the audio from my tv routes through it. I used to run two audio systems, one 5.1 and one 2.1 for music creation. I"m just using my Tascam and KRK speakers at the moment and it's working well.

One bonus is that I can finally put a compressor on audio from TV/DVD/Cable so that at low volume you can still hear everything. I run it through Garage Band or Logic and I can have music or TV in the background when working on music and just mute the track when needed. It's pretty handy.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brandon Earman
post Apr 7 2011, 04:10 AM
Post #5


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



LOL Todd, now that is what I call fancy TV viewing.. that is smart.

Wait I found it! I had to open my volume controls for the GSP device. It was set to 100, it needed to be at the middle line, at 50. I think that fixes my problem for now.

I guess I will start running the GSP into the Input on my Saffire interface. However, I am worried that Fender Amplitube will still give me a Sample rate error when I try to have to sound sources at once (Amplitube/Backing track etc.).


--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 7 2011, 03:05 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Amplitube gave me some problems similar like you described, if my session is not set like it's default session of Amplitube

For example: Amplitube is running on 48KHz by default, and you're running 44.1

Try to open DAW software, and use Amplitube through that, see if it works like that. Also, make sure that you have selected Saffire as the default sound card of the system, as Todd suggested.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brandon Earman
post Apr 7 2011, 03:30 PM
Post #7


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 12-September 09
From: College Station, Texas
Member No.: 7.632



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Apr 7 2011, 09:05 AM) *
Amplitube gave me some problems similar like you described, if my session is not set like it's default session of Amplitube

For example: Amplitube is running on 48KHz by default, and you're running 44.1

Try to open DAW software, and use Amplitube through that, see if it works like that. Also, make sure that you have selected Saffire as the default sound card of the system, as Todd suggested.


Ok Ivan, I will try to get it all sorted out tonight.


--------------------
"That's alright I still got my guitar, look out now!" -Hendrix
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2017 - 01:53 AM