Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording / Eq
AmirZino
post Jul 30 2011, 03:33 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 25-May 11
From: Israel
Member No.: 12.908



Hey guys

Usually when I record my guitar I need to "fix" the sound later with an EQ but I can't predict the sound before I record it so the final mix is bad.

Do you know any DAW that allows to adjust the EQ and hear the results live?

- Amir
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sinisa Cekic
post Jul 30 2011, 10:20 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.649
Joined: 15-October 08
From: Belgrade,Serbia
Member No.: 6.085



You mean in real time? While you play? Let see: Sonar, Nuendo, Pro tools,Cubase...
But you should have a good sound card and enough memory for that or you gonna have a lot of latency !


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AmirZino
post Jul 31 2011, 04:30 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 25-May 11
From: Israel
Member No.: 12.908



Yeah I mean in real time
Just like in guitar rig or amplitube, the minute you add the EQ the sound changes immediately but I don't know how to do that in the DAW so I have to record and add the EQ later.

Do I need to install a plugin?

- Amir
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sinisa Cekic
post Jul 31 2011, 10:17 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.649
Joined: 15-October 08
From: Belgrade,Serbia
Member No.: 6.085



As I said - every a bit professional DAW has that option, and has its own integral EQ which you can activate in real time.Of course, also, each DAW have different settings, so if you want to know how to patch an effect to audio track can you explain which DAW you use ?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 31 2011, 10:48 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You don't need to install the plugin, just tell us what DAW you are using.


BTW, if you play a backing, and you play over it, don't you hear if it sounds good or not?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 3 2011, 03:33 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.123
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Have you tried Reaper? It's a free download and a great daw. Reduce the SAMPLES in preferences to 128 or even 64 and it will eliminate any lag/latency. It's the DAW we use for collaboration in the quadrium project.

If you amp is in the same room with you when you are recording, then it's tough to tell what is coming from the amp and what is going through the mic and coming out the speakers. That's why studios isolate guitar amps in a separate room. One way around this is to go direct and use software like guitar rig and take the amp out of the equation. If you want to use your amp, try to put it somewhere, like a closet, or even in the bathroom to get it away from your main listening/mixing position. This is basic reccording/tracking stuff but if you haven't had experience with it, it's all a bit new an confusing.

So
1.)Try going direct and using software.
2.)Try isolating your amp in a closet or bathroom

Then make sure you can trust your speakers/monitors that you are using when recording. You can't really trust headphones and you certainly can't trust ear buds, but that's what some folks have to use as it's what's available. If that's the case, start saving for some really nice headphones (KRK makes some good ones) and a good pair of speakers/monitors, (again KRK makes good stuff and it's fairly cheap)

Hope this helps smile.gif

Todd


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AmirZino
post Aug 3 2011, 03:46 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 25-May 11
From: Israel
Member No.: 12.908



I'll try Reaper smile.gif
I used Cubase and I found out that I should have press the monitor button in order the here the EQ in real time.

Thank you all!!!

- Amir
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Aug 3 2011, 03:54 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.427
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



I always try to get the sound that I'm looking for from my amp and then from the mic position. I also try to avoid adding a EQ processor when I'm recording. I'er tried it but It must be easy to do from a DAW changing setting in the input channel. In my case I could do it in the Soundcard Input Setting but I don't know which sound card you have.


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Aug 3 2011, 05:54 PM
Post #9


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Aug 3 2011, 03:54 PM) *
I always try to get the sound that I'm looking for from my amp and then from the mic position. I also try to avoid adding a EQ processor when I'm recording. ...


100% this. As Gab says you should not really be using much, if any, EQ, Compression etc at the recording/tracking stage. You should work on your guitar and amp tne and positioning of the mic and amp and choice of mic and preamp etc instead smile.gif .


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Aug 4 2011, 01:18 AM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Aug 3 2011, 11:54 AM) *
100% this. As Gab says you should not really be using much, if any, EQ, Compression etc at the recording/tracking stage. You should work on your guitar and amp tne and positioning of the mic and amp and choice of mic and preamp etc instead smile.gif .


+1 here, leave the eq for the mixing part, now if you want to jam with a sound and not record it inside your daw, use the eq as an insert smile.gif


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th March 2017 - 03:06 AM