Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Drop D On Floyd Rose
besip
post Aug 22 2011, 10:50 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798




i be can try this by my self but with mi knowledge be better to ask first rolleyes.gif
can i change the regular string settings where we have E-A-D-G-B-E to drop D on floyd rose without fear from put guitar or floyd rose out of tune???

and also if this don't be problem.Do be enough to drop the low E to D with the Fine tunning knobs?
thanks


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris Evans
post Aug 22 2011, 10:55 PM
Post #2


Learning Tone Guru - Community Coordinator & Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.319
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Sittingbourne, UK
Member No.: 2.860



QUOTE (besip @ Aug 22 2011, 10:50 PM) *
i be can try this by my self but with mi knowledge be better to ask first rolleyes.gif
can i change the regular string settings where we have E-A-D-G-B-E to drop D on floyd rose without fear from put guitar or floyd rose out of tune???

and also if this don't be problem.Do be enough to drop the low E to D with the Fine tunning knobs?
thanks


it is possible, but I doubt you`ll be able to do it on the fine tuning knobs, it may throw out the tension on the floyd rose as well as the bottom E string wont have as much tension.

certainly possible but will need some fiddlling around on the general set up.

This post has been edited by Chris Evans: Aug 22 2011, 10:56 PM


--------------------
Show us what part of the world you live in and get yourself
ON THE GMC:er Location MAP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Aug 23 2011, 05:39 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



it's probably going mess with your overall intonation, but give it a try and if it doesn't work go back to the regular tuning, that should work just fine, but if you don't have any experience take your guitar to a pro smile.gif


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris Evans
post Aug 23 2011, 09:51 AM
Post #4


Learning Tone Guru - Community Coordinator & Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.319
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Sittingbourne, UK
Member No.: 2.860



QUOTE (Adrian Figallo @ Aug 23 2011, 05:39 AM) *
it's probably going mess with your overall intonation


Intonation should be fine, provided it was ok in the first place of course, and provided you set your trem right once your drop tune the bottom E

Shame you live soooo far away, I could do this for you no problem. Floyd Rose guitars are not hard to set up, theres plenty of video`s on youtube to help you with trem spring tension adjustment so that your bridge remains horizontal to the guitars body.

Just to double check, is your Floyd Rose a full floating trem (they are not always fully floating) or can you only dive bomb? if its the later then you`ll have no problems just detuning the Bottom E smile.gif


--------------------
Show us what part of the world you live in and get yourself
ON THE GMC:er Location MAP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Aug 23 2011, 10:24 AM
Post #5


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



There's a system that make this in a flick of the switch.
Look up D-Tuna.
Don't know how reliable it is, never tried it myself. Seem to be working for Van Halen.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris Evans
post Aug 23 2011, 10:36 AM
Post #6


Learning Tone Guru - Community Coordinator & Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.319
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Sittingbourne, UK
Member No.: 2.860



QUOTE (MickeM @ Aug 23 2011, 10:24 AM) *
There's a system that make this in a flick of the switch.
Look up D-Tuna.
Don't know how reliable it is, never tried it myself. Seem to be working for Van Halen.


yea it was fitted to the Wolfgang guitars as standard, but they are dive bomb only trems, thats the only way that will work

fitting a D-Tuna if you want to go back n forth on tunings is a way to go but you`ll defo have to "stabalize" the bridge in order to fit one.

check out this page http://www.dtuna.com/setup.php

This post has been edited by Chris Evans: Aug 23 2011, 10:55 AM


--------------------
Show us what part of the world you live in and get yourself
ON THE GMC:er Location MAP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
besip
post Aug 23 2011, 03:33 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798



thanks all cool.gif


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Aug 23 2011, 03:51 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



QUOTE (Chris Evans @ Aug 23 2011, 04:36 AM) *
yea it was fitted to the Wolfgang guitars as standard, but they are dive bomb only trems, thats the only way that will work

fitting a D-Tuna if you want to go back n forth on tunings is a way to go but you`ll defo have to "stabalize" the bridge in order to fit one.

check out this page http://www.dtuna.com/setup.php


uhh.. this looks interesting, checking it out.


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
besip
post Aug 24 2011, 12:12 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798



QUOTE (Chris Evans @ Aug 23 2011, 10:36 AM) *
yea it was fitted to the Wolfgang guitars as standard, but they are dive bomb only trems, thats the only way that will work

fitting a D-Tuna if you want to go back n forth on tunings is a way to go but you`ll defo have to "stabalize" the bridge in order to fit one.

check out this page http://www.dtuna.com/setup.php



it's look like great tools...if this stuff work well then lot of guys can save moneyand don't buy second axe for drop D tuning
to me just look like the dtuna is to close to guitar body and i'm afraid with using the whamy bar i be can scratch the guitar rolleyes.gif


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post Aug 24 2011, 12:54 AM
Post #10


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.487
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



Yeah, if it's a floating trem you definitely will have to readjust things a bit. It's not so drastic though. Just a few spring screw turns.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Aug 24 2011, 02:37 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.774
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



change the strings , block the trem.in the proper(original) position,from moving (down, not up), tune the guitar, slowly tighten the screws until the block loosens slightly
now you should be close enough to do a final tunig and be good to go
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th May 2017 - 01:20 PM