2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Podfarm Vs Guitar Rig?
Finny
post Sep 2 2011, 11:38 AM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 12-June 11
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 13.093



I need something new for recording, but i'm not sure what to buy..
This will mainly be used for direct input to my pc and recording with reaper.

So what I am looking at is a decent soundcard and guitar rig or a pod studio gx with podfarm.. any exerience or suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 2 2011, 08:48 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Well, GR is lacking in dynamics on most presets, but so does the POD Farm. Clean presets are bit better on POD Farm, while GR models better some of the crunch and hi gain amps. If you have the money for better interface and GR - it's a better solution. POD Farm is OK, but POD Studio is not very strong sound card.

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Sep 2 2011, 08:48 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Finny
post Sep 3 2011, 02:40 AM
Post #3


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 12-June 11
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 13.093



Thanks man!

Im into metal so i guess that GuitarRig is the way to go by your advice:)
What soundcard do you sugest? I have looked at the SB fatality, but it is kinda expencive here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Sep 3 2011, 04:35 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



Hey man, i just got an endorsement deal with a great sim called the Overloud TH2, it might be what are you looking for, it have been using guitar rig for ages and the th2 blows it away in my opinion.

check it out, you may like it, i like in particular the Lynch Box, check it out it has a lot of different setting and models.


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 3 2011, 05:48 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.149
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



QUOTE (Adrian Figallo @ Sep 2 2011, 11:35 PM) *
Hey man, i just got an endorsement deal with a great sim called the Overloud TH2, it might be what are you looking for, it have been using guitar rig for ages and the th2 blows it away in my opinion.

check it out, you may like it, i like in particular the Lynch Box, check it out it has a lot of different setting and models.


Me Too! I'm a new OVERLOUD endorsee and I have to say it's AMAZING. I"m a big fan of Guitar RIg as you all may know but I have to say, for shear Metal Mayhem you can't beat TH2. It's just the best out of the box playing tone I"ve found.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 3 2011, 10:26 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Haha, you guys are advertizing big now biggrin.gif

Well, I will have to agree with the guys, Overloud does sound better than GR4 wink.gif

BTW, sound blaster is not an option, believe me. Just let us know what is your budget, and I'll dig up just the thing for you. Diggin up interfaces for x number of cash became my professional hobby laugh.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Finny
post Sep 3 2011, 03:05 PM
Post #7


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 12-June 11
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 13.093



I hope 100€ should be enough for a soundcard?

I tried the demo for overlord, but it was really dissapointing in my opinion.. The program may be awsome, but the demo really disappointed me..

Thanks for all replys though:)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 3 2011, 03:25 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.149
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



QUOTE (Finny @ Sep 3 2011, 10:05 AM) *
I hope 100€ should be enough for a soundcard?

I tried the demo for overlord, but it was really dissapointing in my opinion.. The program may be awsome, but the demo really disappointed me..

Thanks for all replys though:)



Which preset did you try? Can you post a sample of a quick riff with the plugin? I suspect there may be a configuration issue to be honest. Here is a sample of a stock patch called SCREAM RTM. If yours doesn't sound like this, there's a problem somewhere.

Attached File  th2.mp3 ( 819.31K ) Number of downloads: 362


As for Soundcards, try looking at External Audio Interface options. USB or Firewire.


For Under $100 your options are limited but you can get a USB 2.0 External unit like this one from Tascam.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/t...ELAID=419454673


For a bit more you can get a great deal on a M-Audio unit that will allow you to run Pro Tools or Reaper or whatever. Here is a link to my forum thread where I review my current audio interface. But it may be a bit pricey for your range.

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=35615

This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Sep 3 2011, 03:38 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gitarrero
post Sep 3 2011, 04:12 PM
Post #9


Accomplished Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 4.059
Joined: 24-June 08
From: Rottweil, Germany
Member No.: 5.361



Adrian and Todd, you guys freakin rock smile.gif So...can you get us students a special deal for the TH2? I just downloaded the Demo, maybe you can show me or us a few tricks tonight, Todd. But it is pretty expensive, 260 Euros in Germany (Taxes...). So I'll have to wait a couple of months before I could buy it.


--------------------
Check my band project with fellow GMCer VilleFIN
Facebook
Youtube
Soundcloud
Twitter
Instagram



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Sep 3 2011, 04:40 PM
Post #10


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



If you can afford the Echo Audiofire 4, buy it! smile.gif
That's probably the best soundcard in that pricerange and it's better than quite a few more expensive soundcards I've tried too.
I had one, and only sold it to buy a bigger solution. Check it out smile.gif

Guitar Rig 5 is out and should be better than Guitar Rig 4.
Amplitube 3 and TH2 (as others have mentioned) are great alternatives as well..
My favorites are the Softube Vintage Amp Room and Softube Metal Amp Room,
both sound great and although it is limited in features compared to the above mentioned solutions,
it sounds very, very good!

Check them all out and choose something that works for you smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Finny
post Sep 3 2011, 06:43 PM
Post #11


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 12-June 11
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 13.093



100 Euro, not USD:)


That doesent sound to bad Todd:) but it doesent even sound close to that here.. Sure you used the Scream RTM default preset?



Attached File  untitled.mp3 ( 429.79K ) Number of downloads: 153


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 3 2011, 07:57 PM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You can find Fastrack on Thomman for just bellow 100e



With it, you can start creating songs right away in ProTools M-Powered version, or choose another DAW by your choice.

As for modellers, if you want some cool hi-gain tones, Peavey ReValver MKIII is also a very good option.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Finny
post Sep 3 2011, 08:21 PM
Post #13


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 12-June 11
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 13.093



That looks like a pretty decent option Ivan! Thanks:) Cheapest I can find in Norway is 130€.. but who cares;)

Thanks for all the suggestions on software! But now I'm even more confused. hehe

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Sep 3 2011, 08:50 PM
Post #14


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



QUOTE (Finny @ Sep 3 2011, 09:21 PM) *
That looks like a pretty decent option Ivan! Thanks:) Cheapest I can find in Norway is 130€.. but who cares;)

Thanks for all the suggestions on software! But now I'm even more confused. hehe

I have the Softube Amp Rooms and Amplitube 3, so if you like I can record some sounds for you to compare?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Finny
post Sep 4 2011, 12:36 PM
Post #15


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 12-June 11
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 13.093



Amplitude Metal could be interesting! The samples on the website is not to bad:) and the price is not to frightening eighter:)
I am not sure if I would know how to use Amp Rooms... and it is not possible to run the demo without an iLock(wtf??)

Samples would be much appretiated if it is not to much trouble for you:)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 4 2011, 02:18 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



How much would you give for a software? Try Peavey ReValver HP, it's one of the best higain plugins.



--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Finny
post Sep 4 2011, 06:15 PM
Post #17


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 12-June 11
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 13.093



100$ is not bad for that software:)

The samples sounds great, but i couldnt get anything like that out of the demo.. Guess I should upgrade some hardware first, and then try out the diferent demos.

Will it be sufficient with that Fast track soundcard, or do I also need a direct box?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Davidian
post Sep 4 2011, 06:55 PM
Post #18


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 411
Joined: 15-August 07
From: Brugge, Belgium
Member No.: 2.536



About the M-Audio Fast Track: Is it possible to use that and record my amp (through the emulated output)? Or do I have to use modelling software?


--------------------
Music is supposed to break down walls, smash through barriers; and free your mind!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Sep 4 2011, 07:24 PM
Post #19


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



QUOTE (Finny @ Sep 4 2011, 01:36 PM) *
Amplitude Metal could be interesting! The samples on the website is not to bad:) and the price is not to frightening eighter:)
I am not sure if I would know how to use Amp Rooms... and it is not possible to run the demo without an iLock(wtf??)

Samples would be much appretiated if it is not to much trouble for you:)

Sure, I'll get a few riffs down tomorrow smile.gif

QUOTE (Davidian @ Sep 4 2011, 07:55 PM) *
About the M-Audio Fast Track: Is it possible to use that and record my amp (through the emulated output)? Or do I have to use modelling software?

If you have speaker emulated outputs on your amp, you can use them instead of modelling software smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Finny
post Sep 4 2011, 08:27 PM
Post #20


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 12-June 11
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 13.093



Way cool man! takk:)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 10:52 PM