Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hello
Nihilist1
post Sep 2 2011, 05:46 PM
Post #1

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 13.756

Hi fellow members of GMC. I have been lurking around for awhile now, but I finally decided it was time to join and learn. I have been playing for six years now(three or four of them serious years), but I am self taught. As a result, I suffer from poor technique and a lack of theoretical knowledge. I joined in the hopes that I could fix this. I plan on doing the Steve Vai 30 hour workout this weekend(since it is labour day here in the States), that way I can find out exactly what needs to be fixed.

My main concern is that I can learn theory, but often times, I can't apply it to a song or the guitar; and as a result I forget most of what I learn. Can someone point me in the right direction so that I may remedy this problem. Thank you!

PS. Nice to meet you all.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the music I usually listen to is metal, rock, jazz, acid jazz, classical, and folk. I love Norse folk especially. Bands I generally listen to include Opeth, Burzum, Agalloch, Yes( Peter Banks and Steve Howe eras), Porcupine Tree, Death, Infestus, Nevermore, Devil Doll(Italian-Yugo band from the 80's and 90's),and Krohm. Black metal and progressive Rock/metal are easily my favourites.

This post has been edited by Nihilist1: Sep 2 2011, 06:06 PM

--------------------
All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

Heal her now...

Grandfather elk
Turned to me
And spoke:

Light the fire deep inside.
Light the fires!

Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Sep 2 2011, 06:08 PM
Post #2

Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Member No.: 9.820

Hey there, great to see you in the forums. Welcome, again cool.gif

When you do the Steve Vai workout, make sure you've had a good breakfast ! wink.gif