Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Audio Interface & Recording Help
Vaidya
post Sep 9 2011, 04:30 PM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 31-July 10
From: Chennai, India
Member No.: 10.951



I recently bought 2 mics and a line 6 pod studio ux2 so that I could start recording.But i'm not sure how to set them up.The pod has 2 mic inputs,2 instrument inputs,2 line inputs,monitor in and 2 analog outs.I have installed Pod Farm and all the drivers for the device.
When I connect my guitar through the instrument input,I am able to use the tones available on Pod Farm and I get the sound through my amp using the phones output.
I need some help with the following issues.
1.I want to use my headphones instead of my amp.I've tried changing the settings but i've failed.
2.I dont know how to use Ableton or Cubase to record since I have to do some input assignment and stuff and I have no clue how to do that.
3.How do I integrate the tones from Guitar Rig/Pod Farm and use them while recording through Ableton/Cubase?

If somebody could help me through skype or TeamViewer I would really appreciate it.
Can't wait to start recording some covers smile.gif

Thanks in advance


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dark dude
post Sep 9 2011, 05:10 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.081
Joined: 27-September 09
From: London, UK
Member No.: 7.668



1) There's a headphone out on the UX2 itself

I use Reaper so I can't help you with 2 & 3, but the general way is: New Track, enable live monitoring, arm the track, click the effects button -> select Guitar Rig VST or whatever you want to use -> GR UI pops up, input the settings you want, hit record.


--------------------
Ibanez 2550E
LTD EC-1000 VB
Roland Cube 30W
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vaidya
post Sep 9 2011, 05:37 PM
Post #3


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 31-July 10
From: Chennai, India
Member No.: 10.951



Oh when I said headphones,I meant through the headphones output in the laptop.


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Sep 9 2011, 07:10 PM
Post #4


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (Vaidya @ Sep 9 2011, 05:30 PM) *
I recently bought 2 mics and a line 6 pod studio ux2 so that I could start recording.But i'm not sure how to set them up.The pod has 2 mic inputs,2 instrument inputs,2 line inputs,monitor in and 2 analog outs.I have installed Pod Farm and all the drivers for the device.
When I connect my guitar through the instrument input,I am able to use the tones available on Pod Farm and I get the sound through my amp using the phones output.
I need some help with the following issues.
1.I want to use my headphones instead of my amp.I've tried changing the settings but i've failed.
2.I dont know how to use Ableton or Cubase to record since I have to do some input assignment and stuff and I have no clue how to do that.
3.How do I integrate the tones from Guitar Rig/Pod Farm and use them while recording through Ableton/Cubase?

If somebody could help me through skype or TeamViewer I would really appreciate it.
Can't wait to start recording some covers smile.gif

Thanks in advance


Hi there! smile.gif I have a similar unit so here are some tips:

1.I want to use my headphones instead of my amp.I've tried changing the settings but i've failed.
Oh when I said headphones,I meant through the headphones output in the laptop.

Pod Studio UX2 has a phones out. You just need to connect your headphones to it when playing/recording.
Pod Studio is an external sound card so there is no possibility to use your laptop internal sound card - at least you don't want to do that.
You need to connect your speakers or headphones directly to POD.

Regarding 2 and 3 :

To record a track you need to do the following :

1. Start Pod Farm and dial the guitar tone you like (have headphones/speakers connected to your POD so you can hear the sound from it).
2. Start your recording software.
3. Go into preferences of the recording software and choose Pod Studio UX2 or Asio UX2 as default sound device/primary sound card for usage.
4. Make a new track in the recording software and arm it for recording.
5. Hit the record button.

That should be it. Main trick is to set the Pod Studio UX2 asio driver as VST audio system.

In Cubase that option can be found under : devices > device setup :http://pix.thefarm.se/20110628003030/20110909200846/

Routing the device to have stereo mic inputs (do you need that right now?) is a bit more complicated but when you get a hang of it - its easy.

Let me know how it works.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 9 2011, 07:41 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Hey mate I use TeamViewer often, and I can help you no problem, just PM me.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th September 2017 - 11:12 AM