Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Axe Fx Ii
maharzan
post Sep 20 2011, 05:54 AM
Post #1


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Hey Guys,

As you might have known already, I got an Axe FX II about 3 weeks ago but didn't have chance to turn in on until a week ago. I was traveling all around US while Axe FX sat in a corner of my friend's apartment alone. I am glad that shes with me now in front of my eyes all the time. smile.gif

Attached Image

Anyway, I have been playing around as a total newbie. I haven't seen other old generation stuff but this is pretty easy for a user. They said they did a total revamp on the UI which was complicated in the older version. The presets are amazing. I like how the "attack" comes to life with this unit unlike other digital processors or apps. This also sounds "creamy" and resembles what tube amps produce. I have been having mixed feelings about this unit though. Sometimes it sounds awesome and sometimes I am not happy, mainly because I have this "digital unit" in mind I guess. Well, I have not had good experience with tube amp anyways. Its always like that, you want it badly and once you get it, you kinda start scratching your head. Perhaps, once I get used to tweaking things I can get the tone at its best.

Fractal just now released a version 2.0 firmware and they had couple of new amps. I upgraded and created a patch from scratch. The amp is Recto Orange Modern. I recorded a random playing moments ago and wanted to share it with you guys. Lot of things to explore. smile.gif

http://soundcloud.com/nazraham/audio-recording-on-tuesday

Cheers!
Chandra

This post has been edited by maharzan: Sep 20 2011, 05:59 AM


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Sep 20 2011, 06:13 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



hey dude, woa, i want one of those units, they are really cool, your preset sounds good man, i think it needs a bit of more treble on the rhythmic part tho.

i like it, it sounds super clean, even with that all dist.


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Sep 20 2011, 06:17 AM
Post #3


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Thanks Adrian. My airplane cheap headphones (don't have any other) was piercing my ears ha! I thought it was too trebly. Anyways, thanks for your feedback.

You know what, the cleans are the best!! I am digging the fender sims.


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Sep 20 2011, 06:20 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



do you have a blackface over there? post post post!


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 20 2011, 06:29 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.782
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Killer unit! Nice preset too smile.gif Those things are just awesome processors. Basically a computer stuffed in a rack mount chasis with wads of killer guitar tones! The AXE FX is built around two Tigershark DSP chips that are fast enough to run all the tone chaos in real time without any lag. One issue that sometimes plagues guitar emulation on a PC/MAC is latency. As the axe FX is a dedicated system, it's not a general purpose processor doing system tasks like virus scan and emulation on the side, it just does emulation. So it's like a PC/MAC that focuses entirely on running Guitar Rig or TH2. The motherboard layout is really quite simple and the brilliant aspects of the box IMHO are in the code/algorithms behind the tone shaping. Getting that right is not easy and fractal audio have done a great job.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Sep 20 2011, 06:38 AM
Post #6


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



There are 2 Bassman models, one of them says Blackface but different circuit design. I will post some clips a bit later. smile.gif

Yup Todd. Totally agree. I was thinking of getting the Ultra when I was planning to go to US some 6 months back. Luckily they came out with II and I was so excited about it. smile.gif I really like the USB feature as I don't have to plugin all those wires in the audio interface plus the sounds are much better. I feel like I have been a better player since I got this unit. I didn't play for a month in US (not a single friend had a guitar, sucks!) but in a week, I already feel it. I need to play more now. smile.gif


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Sep 20 2011, 07:29 AM
Post #7


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Heres one for you Adrian. Blackface sim. As always, random playing sucks!

http://soundcloud.com/nazraham/bassman-blackface-tone-test

Ah, this might be better: http://soundcloud.com/nazraham/clean-tone-test

This post has been edited by maharzan: Sep 20 2011, 07:43 AM


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 20 2011, 08:22 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Don't like it biggrin.gif

Just kiddin, it's very good, and the unit is killer. I think it's capable of lots of good sounds, just need some time to find the right presets.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Sep 20 2011, 09:49 AM
Post #9


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



hehe Ivan. I wouldn't mind if you don't like it. smile.gif Yea, need to find some nice presets. smile.gif


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Sep 20 2011, 02:11 PM
Post #10


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Heres another new amp testing.. Solando 99 Lead channel.

http://soundcloud.com/nazraham/knocking-on-heavens-door


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Sep 20 2011, 03:36 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



those blackface sims are prob the best i ever heard, GREAT sound man, you got a killer clean tone over there.
the dist are a bit muddy still, keep tweaking those!

can you reamp with this unit connected via usb? that's a great exercise to train your ears, record with one sound and strat reamping, that way you only focus on the tone and not on playing.

BTW are u using a noise gate?


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Sep 20 2011, 03:53 PM
Post #12


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



I still have to figure out how to reamp. I am directly recording to that site for now. Theres no noise gate in the chain, so probably I am not using it. I will keep researching.


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 20 2011, 03:58 PM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



The last preset is a bit boomy, but I must agree with Adrian that bassman sounds very authentic and sparkly. Cannot duplicate that crunch with software easily. smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Sep 20 2011, 11:49 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



it kinda sounds like you are using a noise gate on the dist one, but maybe is my imagination.
what i can tell you is that the first part of the soldano is peaking out your input or output and generates distorsion, check that out smile.gif.


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Daniel Realpe
post Sep 21 2011, 12:04 AM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.655
Joined: 11-October 09
From: Bogota
Member No.: 7.694



it does sound really present and genuine! so convenient too! I want one!


--------------------
Visit my:
INSTRUCTOR PROFILE

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music."
Gustav Mahler


Subscribe to my Youtube Channel here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Sep 21 2011, 02:47 AM
Post #16


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Yup Adrian, I noticed the peaks. Interesting thing is it doesn't show red while playing but it does when you play the record. need to figure whats happening.

Daniel, GAS? biggrin.gif


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd January 2017 - 03:56 PM