Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help Needed W/ Recording A Backing
JaxN4
post Sep 27 2011, 09:19 AM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 863
Joined: 24-June 11
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 13.200



Hi all, I was after some help cause I am stuck.... mellow.gif

I have a backing track.....it's on an DVD......I need to get it into reaper somehow....

So, does anybody know how I can record this backing track from DVD to a sound file at least? If i can get that far i can do the rest and convert it....

Thanks

Help is much appreciated....Cheers unsure.gif

This post has been edited by JaxN4: Sep 27 2011, 09:20 AM


--------------------
Washburn N4 Wenge
Washburn N5 AT-100

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Sep 27 2011, 09:45 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.785
Joined: 11-March 10
From: England
Member No.: 9.820



Hmm, wish I could help. I don't know Reaper at all. mellow.gif

If it were Cubase I would pop the disc in, then from my main drop down menu in Cubase I'd select 'Import audio CD' or something like that, then you get the opportunity to select which track to import, then it lays it into the timeline.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Sep 27 2011, 10:15 AM
Post #3


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



May depend on the audio format that is stored on the DVD - i.e. whether its a wav/mp3 etc audio file or whether its the audio for a video/dvd recording.

I don't have Reaper to hand but from memory it can recognise and import most standard standard audio formats. The one that sometimes is a bit of a pain is mp3 as many daws are not licensed to use the Fraunhofer encoder and so do not always have an mp3 encoder/decoder as standard. If it doesn't then you may need to download and run something like LAME with Reaper. If it's an audio that has ben encoded as video/dvd you might need to convert the track to a format that Reaper can recognise and workwith. If it's a commercial pre-recorded dvd be aware of possible copyright IP issues since if you format change and/or store the audio by ripping or any other means you may breach the owner's DMCAI, DMCAII and any enbedded DRM.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaxN4
post Sep 27 2011, 11:10 AM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 863
Joined: 24-June 11
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 13.200



QUOTE (Ben Higgins @ Sep 27 2011, 08:45 AM) *
Hmm, wish I could help. I don't know Reaper at all. mellow.gif

If it were Cubase I would pop the disc in, then from my main drop down menu in Cubase I'd select 'Import audio CD' or something like that, then you get the opportunity to select which track to import, then it lays it into the timeline.


Yea Cubase seems like it is eaiser to use than Reaper....Cheers mate :-)

QUOTE (tonymiro @ Sep 27 2011, 09:15 AM) *
May depend on the audio format that is stored on the DVD - i.e. whether its a wav/mp3 etc audio file or whether its the audio for a video/dvd recording.

I don't have Reaper to hand but from memory it can recognise and import most standard standard audio formats. The one that sometimes is a bit of a pain is mp3 as many daws are not licensed to use the Fraunhofer encoder and so do not always have an mp3 encoder/decoder as standard. If it doesn't then you may need to download and run something like LAME with Reaper. If it's an audio that has ben encoded as video/dvd you might need to convert the track to a format that Reaper can recognise and workwith. If it's a commercial pre-recorded dvd be aware of possible copyright IP issues since if you format change and/or store the audio by ripping or any other means you may breach the owner's DMCAI, DMCAII and any enbedded DRM.


Thanks Tony.... I guess the eaisest way would be to enable reaper to record the backing from the dvd....somehow set the options for reaper to pickup the dvd's audio directly...I have tried and am still trying but no good. Thanks for the reply though


--------------------
Washburn N4 Wenge
Washburn N5 AT-100

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaxN4
post Sep 27 2011, 11:50 AM
Post #5


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 863
Joined: 24-June 11
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 13.200



OK I did it....(eventaully)... rolleyes.gif

VLC - Audacity - Reaper..... biggrin.gif

thanks for the reply guys....

This post has been edited by JaxN4: Sep 27 2011, 12:17 PM


--------------------
Washburn N4 Wenge
Washburn N5 AT-100

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Sep 28 2011, 02:22 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730



nice! does it lose quality that way?


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaxN4
post Sep 28 2011, 02:24 AM
Post #7


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 863
Joined: 24-June 11
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 13.200



QUOTE (Adrian Figallo @ Sep 28 2011, 01:22 AM) *
nice! does it lose quality that way?



Hey mate....I'm sure it loses some minor qualities but....i kept in .wav so it had the best quality possible, honestly, I don't notice a difference at all....


--------------------
Washburn N4 Wenge
Washburn N5 AT-100

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adrian Figallo
post Sep 28 2011, 02:27 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.466
Joined: 24-October 09
From: lima peru
Member No.: 7.730





QUOTE (JaxN4 @ Sep 27 2011, 08:24 PM) *
honestly, I don't notice a difference at all....


That's the important thing smile.gif


--------------------


Check my Instructor Profile Rockers!
Got a Blog too!, www.adriantracks.com


Follow me on facebook and youtube!
-Facebook
-Youtube




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th March 2017 - 12:23 PM