Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New Usb Mic Won't Work?
Chris S.
post Dec 8 2011, 08:50 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 810
Joined: 3-June 11
From: United States
Member No.: 12.988



Hello,

I just purchased a Samson USB GoMic and I am having problems trying to get everything set up.

Basically, I open REAPER and select the GoMic as the input device and my Realtek speakers as my output device : same configuration when I used my Sing Star mic.

Problem is, it won't record. I hit record and it's super laggy and glitchy and all it does it produce this crazy weird glithy sound, almost like when you're using dial-up. The sound isn't what I'm recording, it's not taking my sound and distorting it, it's basically making its own sound.

I have no idea, I've tried the manual and the site and I've come up with nothing sad.gif

Any ideas?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Dec 8 2011, 09:08 PM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



does it come with it's own sound driver? Is that driver installed?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris S.
post Dec 8 2011, 09:15 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 810
Joined: 3-June 11
From: United States
Member No.: 12.988



QUOTE (MickeM @ Dec 8 2011, 08:08 PM) *
does it come with it's own sound driver? Is that driver installed?


I'm not sure. Once I plugged it in it said: "New hardware found." followed by "hardware is installed and ready to use."


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sollesnes
post Dec 8 2011, 09:43 PM
Post #4


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.940
Joined: 18-January 09
Member No.: 6.623



Did it come with a CD?
Did you check the manufacturers homepage for driver information?

/checked the homepage myself - no driver required. smile.gif
Are you on a mac or pc?

This post has been edited by Sollesnes: Dec 8 2011, 09:45 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris S.
post Dec 8 2011, 10:13 PM
Post #5


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 810
Joined: 3-June 11
From: United States
Member No.: 12.988



QUOTE (Sollesnes @ Dec 8 2011, 08:43 PM) *
Did it come with a CD?
Did you check the manufacturers homepage for driver information?

/checked the homepage myself - no driver required. smile.gif
Are you on a mac or pc?


PC, I'm running XP which it says is compatible.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sinisa Cekic
post Dec 9 2011, 12:10 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.649
Joined: 15-October 08
From: Belgrade,Serbia
Member No.: 6.085



Be sure to put it in a USB 2.0 port, not USB 1.0 !

This post has been edited by Sinisa Cekic: Dec 9 2011, 12:11 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris S.
post Dec 9 2011, 03:05 AM
Post #7


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 810
Joined: 3-June 11
From: United States
Member No.: 12.988



QUOTE (Sinisa Cekic @ Dec 8 2011, 11:10 PM) *
Be sure to put it in a USB 2.0 port, not USB 1.0 !

All of my USB ports are 2.0. I tried on my laptop which is running Windows 7 and still the same problem.

This is what it sounds like when I record (file included)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nihilist1
post Dec 9 2011, 03:11 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 974
Joined: 1-September 11
From: Chino Hills, California
Member No.: 13.756



QUOTE (Christopher Stortz @ Dec 9 2011, 02:05 AM) *
All of my USB ports are 2.0. I tried on my laptop which is running Windows 7 and still the same problem.

This is what it sounds like when I record (file included)


This might seem like a basic question, but did you arm the track?
Did you adjust all the microphone levels in your sounds and hardware settings?
Did you download the Asio4All driver(even if you are using a microphone, it is a great tool to have)?

If anything, maybe it is the cable or the jack on your computer. Hell, your computer might not even be compatible. Check all the specs.

EDIT: Typo

This post has been edited by Nihilist1: Dec 9 2011, 03:57 AM


--------------------
All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

Grandfather elk
Turned to me
And spoke:

Light the fire deep inside.
Light the fires!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th May 2017 - 02:22 PM