Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Audacity?
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post May 24 2007, 04:06 AM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



Does anyone know anything about it? How does it record? Do i use a mic or play into my computer? Also, would it be possible to record an entire band (seperately or together) using this program? what all do i need (mics, cords etc.) to use it? thanks


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post May 24 2007, 09:06 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



audacity can record from any input source that's available to you OS.
Recording from different sources I guess you should use something like cubase I guess (this isn't really my area, haven't come to recording yet).


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Igorrr
post May 24 2007, 04:38 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 7-April 07
From: Campinas / São Paulo - Brazil
Member No.: 1.501



I use Audacity from time to time... it is a cool and FREE wave editor... It can only work up to Stereo, so you will not be able to record with more than 2 mono channels. But for what it does to single wave files it's a great tool... you can also use VST plugins with it!!!

I've heard that Rosegarden is a good free sequencer, but it only runs on Linux.
I know that some time ago there were also free versions of Logic, Cubase, Sonar and Pro-Tools LE but don't know if they still exist...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RodneyU
post May 24 2007, 08:08 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 17-February 07
From: Detroit, MI USA!
Member No.: 1.210



QUOTE (Igorrr @ May 24 2007, 11:38 AM) *
I use Audacity from time to time... it is a cool and FREE wave editor... It can only work up to Stereo, so you will not be able to record with more than 2 mono channels. But for what it does to single wave files it's a great tool... you can also use VST plugins with it!!!

I've heard that Rosegarden is a good free sequencer, but it only runs on Linux.
I know that some time ago there were also free versions of Logic, Cubase, Sonar and Pro-Tools LE but don't know if they still exist...


Also, you can save as MP3 with an additional plug in.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post May 24 2007, 10:04 PM
Post #5


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



can i plug my guitar into my computer and play? and is so...where on my comp?


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RodneyU
post May 24 2007, 10:11 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 17-February 07
From: Detroit, MI USA!
Member No.: 1.210



QUOTE (Stevie·Ray·Vaughn @ May 24 2007, 05:04 PM) *
can i plug my guitar into my computer and play? and is so...where on my comp?



In your sound card, mic or IN port. It's a smaller hole, so you'll need to a 1/4'' to Mini port adapter, something like this one..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Igorrr
post May 24 2007, 10:26 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 7-April 07
From: Campinas / São Paulo - Brazil
Member No.: 1.501



1.)Guitar to Computer connection
Actually there is a slight problem. Electric guitar outputs have a difference impendance (1kOhm) whereas microphone are usually between 300-600 Ohms and Line 10kOhms, this means that the sound will not be that good.
Some actually prefer the Line level input.

But the best option is to have a proper instrument input in your sound card or preamplifier.
If you have a any type of floor pedal it's recommended to use that one with the line input (even small distortion pedals can already lift the signal close to line level).
If you have multi-effect boards they all have line-level outputs. Everything that has a headphone output is close to line level.

----

2.)Guitar Sound.
If you directly connect the guitar to your computer you will only get an unprocessed an clean sound.
There is a lot software to manipulate the sound on your computer such as Revalver MKII, Amplitube 2, Guitar Rig etc.... (most of them are costly). There is one free one which is really great: It's Guitar Suite something.
For that to work in real time (meaning you play and hear the sound) you need ASIO sound card drivers (if you sound card doesn't have those you can check out this wrapper: ASIO4ALL).
Unfortunately Audacity is not a realtime client so you need to check other programs for realtime sound manipulation.

This post has been edited by Igorrr: May 24 2007, 10:30 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 06:11 PM