Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I Am Having A Problem With Reaper, Static Spike
Nihilist1
post Jan 15 2012, 02:49 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 974
Joined: 1-September 11
From: Chino Hills, California
Member No.: 13.756



Within this post I have embedded a sound file that Demontrates a problem I am having with Reaper. I have a static spike that appears whenever I am set to record anything. I do not know why this happens, but I would surely love to solve this problem, and I have a hunch someone here on GMC can help me. Thank you!

http://soundcloud.com/nihilist1/test


--------------------
All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

Grandfather elk
Turned to me
And spoke:

Light the fire deep inside.
Light the fires!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Uncreator
post Jan 15 2012, 05:49 AM
Post #2


Fire Up The Blades, Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 8.933
Joined: 6-March 07
From: St. Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 1.304



Sounds like your input signal is too hot, how is your guitar or whatever instrument this happens on going into your PC? is it through a DI interface or Pedal? If so try dialing down the volume, or adding a gate in the effects chain if its something like a POD.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nihilist1
post Jan 15 2012, 06:19 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 974
Joined: 1-September 11
From: Chino Hills, California
Member No.: 13.756



QUOTE (The Uncreator @ Jan 15 2012, 04:49 AM) *
Sounds like your input signal is too hot, how is your guitar or whatever instrument this happens on going into your PC? is it through a DI interface or Pedal? If so try dialing down the volume, or adding a gate in the effects chain if its something like a POD.



Believe it or not, I am just plugging a 1/4 female to 1/8 male adapter into my microphone jack. I had purchased a POD in the past, but I was not a fan. I thought it sounded horrible. Then again, I really suck at dialing in tones. That is the place where I lack the least skill.

Thank you for the tip! I will see what I can do to bring it down!


--------------------
All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

Grandfather elk
Turned to me
And spoke:

Light the fire deep inside.
Light the fires!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 15 2012, 01:25 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Hmm, it sounds like something generated by some plugin or something (because I can still hear the guitar signal in the background). Do you happen to use some plugins, like Guitar Rig or anything?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Jan 15 2012, 06:45 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.785
Joined: 11-March 10
From: England
Member No.: 9.820



I had this sound when I was using a demo version of Amplitube. After the free trial runs out it does this audio spike every few seconds. I'm wondering the same thing as Ivan.. are you using any plugins ? smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 15 2012, 08:07 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Yeah, Amplitube does that too, I confirm.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nihilist1
post Jan 15 2012, 10:16 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 974
Joined: 1-September 11
From: Chino Hills, California
Member No.: 13.756



It is the free Amplitube trial, then. I will uninstall and reinstall it. Thank you for the help! I am kind of broke right now so it will be awhile before I can really get much.


--------------------
All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

Grandfather elk
Turned to me
And spoke:

Light the fire deep inside.
Light the fires!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Jan 16 2012, 08:13 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.785
Joined: 11-March 10
From: England
Member No.: 9.820



QUOTE (Nihilist1 @ Jan 15 2012, 09:16 PM) *
It is the free Amplitube trial, then. I will uninstall and reinstall it. Thank you for the help! I am kind of broke right now so it will be awhile before I can really get much.


Yeah I was so annoyed when it happened to me.. I'd only just discovered how to get a decent, juicy tone (by adding an extra distortion pedal) when it did that noise thing dry.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 16 2012, 11:09 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Try installing Amplitube 3 Free, it has two fender and one marshall emulation. If you do it properly, you can do some cool tones with it.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Jan 16 2012, 11:12 AM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.785
Joined: 11-March 10
From: England
Member No.: 9.820



I was using one called Amplitube Metal, that's worth a look as well smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nihilist1
post Jan 16 2012, 11:17 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 974
Joined: 1-September 11
From: Chino Hills, California
Member No.: 13.756



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jan 16 2012, 10:09 AM) *
Try installing Amplitube 3 Free, it has two fender and one marshall emulation. If you do it properly, you can do some cool tones with it.


I am using Amplitube 3 free. Everything I have for recording is what you described in your "How To Record "video. The only difference is that I am using a better computer.

I have to thank you for that video as well. It is a very good one!


--------------------
All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

All the elders have fallen down...

Heal her now...

Grandfather elk
Turned to me
And spoke:

Light the fire deep inside.
Light the fires!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 16 2012, 11:31 PM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Cheers mate, glad you liked the video. It's great too install in on better PC, that can improve the performance. It could be that you used some of the models that were in demo section, so this is why this noise appears.

As Ben said, Amplitube Metal is also interesting, but it's not free. There is Metal Amp Room, which is quite good too. For hi-gain metal tones, I believe ReValver MKIII and it's 6505 emulations are the best IMHO.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd March 2017 - 11:22 AM