Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording
besip
post Jan 23 2012, 02:15 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798



Hi i was buy podxt few days ago and i start allready made some experiment with this item smile.gif
Today i was download also the free program Audacity and i was try record some tones from podXt becouse i wondering how the audocity work and sound after recording


lot of you around recording your self and play GMC lessons over backing track but i was find out that i don't know how to add the backing track to audocity?? If this possible??????
thanks
Rene

btw- if you maybe know some better program please let me know
Free program-because i am not so good with my playing to record as PRO biggrin.gif

also somethime when i play over headphones over backing{trying play rolleyes.gif } then i have like 1 second backing track sound break...it's some way how to avoid it???

This post has been edited by besip: Jan 23 2012, 02:16 AM


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
post Jan 23 2012, 04:22 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 951
Joined: 8-May 11
From: Warren, Ohio
Member No.: 12.764



QUOTE (besip @ Jan 22 2012, 09:15 PM) *
Hi i was buy podxt few days ago and i start allready made some experiment with this item smile.gif
Today i was download also the free program Audacity and i was try record some tones from podXt becouse i wondering how the audocity work and sound after recording


lot of you around recording your self and play GMC lessons over backing track but i was find out that i don't know how to add the backing track to audocity?? If this possible??????
thanks
Rene

btw- if you maybe know some better program please let me know
Free program-because i am not so good with my playing to record as PRO biggrin.gif

also somethime when i play over headphones over backing{trying play rolleyes.gif } then i have like 1 second backing track sound break...it's some way how to avoid it???


Audacity I believe is a Wave Editor so you can't really do what your looking to do that I know of.

Recording with a DAW you would just import it to a track then record on another track for your part.

Free I can't help you with but! Cheap I can Reaper costs only $60 USD.

As for the sound break sorry, but I can't answer it.

- Travis S.


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez RG920QM (Black Ice) , Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez RG470XL (Black Perl) , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)
Gear:
Kemper Profiling Amp , Mesa Mark 5:25

My YouTube Page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
besip
post Jan 23 2012, 07:45 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798



QUOTE (SpaseMoonkey @ Jan 23 2012, 03:22 AM) *
Audacity I believe is a Wave Editor so you can't really do what your looking to do that I know of.

Recording with a DAW you would just import it to a track then record on another track for your part.

Free I can't help you with but! Cheap I can Reaper costs only $60 USD.

As for the sound break sorry, but I can't answer it.

- Travis S.



so that's meat that all guys here who recording Gmc lesson have better sound editor or they just simply ask instructors for backing track download to their PC or laptop??

Rene

This post has been edited by besip: Jan 23 2012, 07:46 PM


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jan 23 2012, 07:54 PM
Post #4


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



yes, you need to have the backing track as a downloaded file before you can play against it. That is currently possible for some but not all GMC lessons.
Also, another shout out for Reaper ... It is free to try and capable of very professional results if used correctly.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
besip
post Jan 23 2012, 07:57 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Jan 23 2012, 06:54 PM) *
yes, you need to have the backing track as a downloaded file before you can play against it. That is currently possible for some but not all GMC lessons.
Also, another shout out for Reaper ... It is free to try and capable of very professional results if used correctly.



ok thanks
i be have to ask Liam for some backing but i don'rt see him around few days smile.gif


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SirJamsalot
post Jan 23 2012, 07:59 PM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.226
Joined: 4-May 10
From: Bay Area, California
Member No.: 10.312



+1 Reaper
It is free, however on the site they list it as 60 bucks. You don't have to pay the 60 to play is my understanding. However, you will be greeted with a message every time you fire it up? Something like that. Others who use Reaper for "free" can verify this.

Also, do we have a REAPER thread for discussing REAPER ?


--------------------
The more I practice, the more I wish I had time to practice!
My Band Forum: http://passionfly.site/chat

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
besip
post Jan 23 2012, 08:20 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798



QUOTE (SirJamsalot @ Jan 23 2012, 06:59 PM) *
+1 Reaper
It is free, however on the site they list it as 60 bucks. You don't have to pay the 60 to play is my understanding. However, you will be greeted with a message every time you fire it up? Something like that. Others who use Reaper for "free" can verify this.

Also, do we have a REAPER thread for discussing REAPER ?



good question i also after downloading the reaper had message that the reaper is trial version for 30 days
maybe we just have to download some older version!!!??


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JTaylor
post Jan 26 2012, 12:37 PM
Post #8


Apprentice Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 495
Joined: 5-December 11
From: Florida, USA
Member No.: 14.530



Actually, it is very easy to use the downloadable backing tracks provided by the instructors. This is what I do with Audacity:
1. Click on the download button beside the instructor's backing track. If the button is not there, it means that the track is not meant to be downloaded and you will have to find one that is. If you send them a PM and ask, they will usually send it to you unless, of course, it is copyrighted. smile.gif
2. To make it easy to find, I just (temporarily) save it to my desktop.
3. Open Audacity.
4. Click and drag the icon into the open area of the open Audacity screen.
Hit the "record" button and you can play along with it.
Hope this helps!


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jan 26 2012, 01:22 PM
Post #9


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (SirJamsalot @ Jan 23 2012, 06:59 PM) *
+1 Reaper
It is free, however on the site they list it as 60 bucks. You don't have to pay the 60 to play is my understanding. However, you will be greeted with a message every time you fire it up? Something like that. Others who use Reaper for "free" can verify this.

Also, do we have a REAPER thread for discussing REAPER ?


Reaper isn't free - a licensed copy for non-commercial use costs 60USD. However, you can download a trial version for free and there is no time limit set for how long you spend assessing it. Once you complete your assessment you need to pay for a license or you should deleat it from your computer. Those who continue to use it after they've finished their assessment but who do not purchase a license aren't just breaching the terms of agreement, they are also affecting the future viability of the product. Reaper isn't produced by a large multinational company but by a small number of independent software writers and if they can't earn money from it then they will go out of business.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JTaylor
post Jan 26 2012, 10:18 PM
Post #10


Apprentice Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 495
Joined: 5-December 11
From: Florida, USA
Member No.: 14.530



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Jan 26 2012, 12:22 PM) *
Reaper isn't free - a licensed copy for non-commercial use costs 60USD. However, you can download a trial version for free and there is no time limit set for how long you spend assessing it. Once you complete your assessment you need to pay for a license or you should deleat it from your computer. Those who continue to use it after they've finished their assessment but who do not purchase a license aren't just breaching the terms of agreement, they are also affecting the future viability of the product. Reaper isn't produced by a large multinational company but by a small number of independent software writers and if they can't earn money from it then they will go out of business.


I certainly agree. I personally believe Reaper is better than Audacity but don't have the $ to purchase it right now, so I just use Audacity.


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
derper
post Jan 26 2012, 10:32 PM
Post #11


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 691
Joined: 8-November 11
From: Portland Oregon
Member No.: 14.316



I'm going through Ivan's tutorial on free recording software right now.... https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=playe...p;v=18Kh2LB7K_E


I'll keep you posted with results. Hopefully a finished track!!


--------------------



Check out my awesome Nintendo Cover-band, EMULATOR!!
http://www.reverbnation.com/emulator

Now.....go practice!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
derper
post Jan 26 2012, 10:59 PM
Post #12


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 691
Joined: 8-November 11
From: Portland Oregon
Member No.: 14.316



Unfortunately, my experience is going horribly so far.... I can't seem to "find" the amplitute VST to plug into Reaper. At this point, I'm only getting awful noise with Amplitude. Without, I could hear the clean guitar. I'll keep troubleshooting to see if I can get there.... blink.gif


--------------------



Check out my awesome Nintendo Cover-band, EMULATOR!!
http://www.reverbnation.com/emulator

Now.....go practice!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 26 2012, 11:06 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.147
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



QUOTE (JTaylor @ Jan 26 2012, 04:18 PM) *
I certainly agree. I personally believe Reaper is better than Audacity but don't have the $ to purchase it right now, so I just use Audacity.


As was mentioned you can use the unlicensed version of REAPER for as long as you like until you can work out buying the license. So if you like it better, just start using it smile.gif



QUOTE (SirJamsalot @ Jan 23 2012, 01:59 PM) *
+1 Reaper
It is free, however on the site they list it as 60 bucks. You don't have to pay the 60 to play is my understanding. However, you will be greeted with a message every time you fire it up? Something like that. Others who use Reaper for "free" can verify this.

Also, do we have a REAPER thread for discussing REAPER ?


As Tony mentioned, REAPER will let you use it free forever, but the guys at reaper will go out of business is nobody ever buys a license so if you use it a lot, eventually do try to buy a real license. I"m sure the reaper guys would really appreciate it wink.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
derper
post Jan 27 2012, 02:30 AM
Post #14


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 691
Joined: 8-November 11
From: Portland Oregon
Member No.: 14.316



I've pretty much wasted the whole day downloading programs and failing at my mission. Haven't even got to record (haven't tried yet) because Amplitube still sounds HORRIBLE, despite many tweaks, and is so badly delayed that I can't imagine effectively using it to play to a track. Even if it worked, I can't load it into Reaper (manually placed the .dll file, but still doesn't show in the VST list) in order to record.

Many hours wasted, much frustration..... apparently I'll have to just BUY something at guitar center if I ever have half of a hope at getting this to work. Even still, I'm wary since I'll have to install it to my laptop and get it working myself. This is why I leave recording to studio guys, and I just play live. Very bummed right now, since I was very excited to have the ability to record and submit decent tracks. Gonna have to step away from the computer and de-stress after all of this. ARGH!! mad.gif


**Just noticed that I've only been at it for 4 HOURS!!! Feels like days. Guess I'll keep trying.

This post has been edited by derper: Jan 27 2012, 02:32 AM


--------------------



Check out my awesome Nintendo Cover-band, EMULATOR!!
http://www.reverbnation.com/emulator

Now.....go practice!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JTaylor
post Jan 27 2012, 02:48 AM
Post #15


Apprentice Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 495
Joined: 5-December 11
From: Florida, USA
Member No.: 14.530



QUOTE (derper @ Jan 27 2012, 01:30 AM) *
I've pretty much wasted the whole day downloading programs and failing at my mission. Haven't even got to record (haven't tried yet) because Amplitube still sounds HORRIBLE, despite many tweaks, and is so badly delayed that I can't imagine effectively using it to play to a track. Even if it worked, I can't load it into Reaper (manually placed the .dll file, but still doesn't show in the VST list) in order to record.

Many hours wasted, much frustration..... apparently I'll have to just BUY something at guitar center if I ever have half of a hope at getting this to work. Even still, I'm wary since I'll have to install it to my laptop and get it working myself. This is why I leave recording to studio guys, and I just play live. Very bummed right now, since I was very excited to have the ability to record and submit decent tracks. Gonna have to step away from the computer and de-stress after all of this. ARGH!! mad.gif


**Just noticed that I've only been at it for 4 HOURS!!! Feels like days. Guess I'll keep trying.


Ivan makes it look so easy! biggrin.gif I never could get amplitube to work either. The ASIO sound driver and my computer did not like each other. Now all I do is run it through a modeling processor and keep the master volume low to medium.


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Olivier777
post Jan 27 2012, 12:26 PM
Post #16


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 70
Joined: 21-April 10
From: France, Lyon
Member No.: 10.214



It took me quite a while to get an OK sound when recording myself and a lot of researchs.The quest for the perfect sound seems endless ! I use pod gx which is the cheapest version of pods around here and I purchased the metal shop extension to go with it which is a "must have" in my opinion. No need for an uber guitar to get a good sound out of it either smile.gif At the time I was playing on an Ibanez from a guitar pack and got a descent metal sound with this setting smile.gif

And audacity is very easy to use, simply drag and drop your tracks inside your projects and it will automatically create an additionnal track in your current project.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JTaylor
post Jan 27 2012, 12:31 PM
Post #17


Apprentice Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 495
Joined: 5-December 11
From: Florida, USA
Member No.: 14.530



QUOTE (Olivier777 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:26 AM) *
It took me quite a while to get an OK sound when recording myself and a lot of researchs.The quest for the perfect sound seems endless ! I use pod gx which is the cheapest version of pods around here and I purchased the metal shop extension to go with it which is a "must have" in my opinion. No need for an uber guitar to get a good sound out of it either smile.gif At the time I was playing on an Ibanez from a guitar pack and got a descent metal sound with this setting smile.gif

And audacity is very easy to use, simply drag and drop your tracks inside your projects and it will automatically create an additionnal track in your current project.


Your research paid off! smile.gif I have only seen two of your REC's but the effects are great! Maybe you should charge admission? laugh.gif


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Olivier777
post Jan 27 2012, 01:25 PM
Post #18


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 70
Joined: 21-April 10
From: France, Lyon
Member No.: 10.214



QUOTE (JTaylor @ Jan 27 2012, 12:31 PM) *
Your research paid off! smile.gif I have only seen two of your REC's but the effects are great! Maybe you should charge admission? laugh.gif


Wow thank you for your kind words, I'm glad you liked my takes smile.gif

Well here I am posting my pod settings if any of you are interested.
I posted an example of what is easily acheivable with audacity and an Ibanez GRX70DX (a guitar included in a cheap beginner guitar pack)
at the time the secret for good sounding with this guitar was for me to be able to compensate the low output of the bridge pickup.

To do so I had to edited the parameters of the 4 bands EQ on the pod settings I linked just here and give a good boost of DB in the high and low frequency, my goal is to acheive a good metal sound.
So I give a boost of 12.6 DB on 115Hz frequency and 11.5 DB on 3.9 kHz frequency and to me it sounded ok smile.gif


Attached image(s)
Attached Image
 

Attached File(s)
Attached File  MetalRecordErnieBall.l6t ( 4.39K ) Number of downloads: 41
Attached File  In_the_Style_of_Black_SabbathIbanezaudacity.mp3 ( 1.46MB ) Number of downloads: 40
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th March 2017 - 11:42 PM