Reply to this topicStart new topic
> From Pentatonic To Diatonic: Help
timrobwall
post Jan 27 2012, 05:11 PM
Post #1

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 9.092

Some advice needed. I have been focusing for the past several months on mastering major and minor diatonic scales -- really understanding the CAGED chord foundations for these and the underlying arpeggio forms all over the neck. I can visualize these patterns fairly well now. But my problem is "so what." I don't seem to be able to use this knowledge very well in improvising and making music that sounds melodic. I'm not effectively working these what for me are new, non-pentatonic tones into interesting jamming during my practice routine -- let alone during a live performance. Then it's always falling back to same old boring pentatonic bag of tricks and licks. Does anyone have any advice on this subject. Any lessons here that would be helpful. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Alexiaden93
post Jan 27 2012, 05:16 PM
Post #2

Learning Rock Star

Member No.: 7.072

The next step, seeing as you've now memorised the scale shapes in all positions, or at least some positions, would be to work with chord progressions and improvisation. There are several good lessons you can search for here on GMC that explain how to play something that "sounds good" over different chords.

Essentially you need to be aware of what chord is playing in the background, and try to emphasize one of the notes of the chord when playing. These are called the "strong notes" and will always sound good. Later on you can experiment with the sound of "weaker" notes that don't overlap with any of the notes in the particular chord played, in which case you can get several effects.