Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Anything I Should Add To My Keys Routine?
XJapan
post Jul 21 2012, 03:36 AM
Post #1

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 16.290

Hey there, being self taught, I never really took much notice of theory, I don't read music, but thought It could be very beneficial at the very least knowing all keys very well.

At the moment, I go through each key in the circle of 5ths, in this system

- memorizing the Major/relative minor triads for each key, (Ex, C E G, A C E, G B D, E G B, etc)
- Outlining 3 Major/Minor triads on the EBG string and 3 Pentatonic patterns that sits over them
- Playing the Seven 3 note per string patterns up the fretboard and down (And also doing Permutations..or "Shredmutations" (3s, 4s, 3rds, etc) )
- assortment of horizontal shred lines on the B and E strings
- E string horizontal lines
-playing through and finding different harmonic minor patterns to use
-Playing through triads systematically with the root on the B string (ex--C Maj and D min>-)

E-3-0-------0-3--5-1-------1-5
B-----1---1----------3---3----
G-------0--------------2------

-Diminished "Malmsteen sweep pattern" up and down the neck
-Knowing what sharps/flats are in each key, Example, G Major/e minor has F#, etc.

I wrote this up myself using other players methods as a skeleton.

Would anybody have an opinion on this method? It is very much personally catered to me and styles that i enjoy so keep that in mind.
I do see lots of ways of expanding it when i REALLY have it "pat down and in the bag" but I wonder if there's something simple that could be adjusted/introduced

Cheers in advance!

-X-
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Jul 22 2012, 02:34 PM
Post #2

Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Member No.: 9.820

Hey, it looks like a really good and comprehensive routine. Nothing to criticise here smile.gif