Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Noise Issues Amplitude 3
Todd Simpson
post Jan 17 2013, 05:58 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.760
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I have had some questions recently about folks having noise/hum issues using guitar VST/plugins. I feel your pain. The good news is, REAPER has a pretty spiff noise gate built in called REAGATE. Most guitar VST plugins have their own noise gate as well. The amplitude noise gate is a tad less configurable than the reaper gate, and learning to use the REAPER gate on guitar will hopefully help you be able to use it on other types of tracks. Here is a cool vid describing how to use the built in REAPER noise gate. Enjoy!!



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vonhotch
post Jan 17 2013, 10:22 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 836
Joined: 25-April 12
From: Franklin, New York
Member No.: 15.741



Good info. I do not like the noise gate in amplitube, it feels to me like I have to choose between sustain or noise, and can never get it just right. I have read good things about the stock fx in reaper, but haven't messed with them enough. I am gonna give this a shot it is definitely waaaaaaaay more adjustable.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sammetal92
post Jan 24 2013, 11:01 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 760
Joined: 21-January 13
Member No.: 17.500



Thank you Todd! I was looking for lessons on using ReaGate smile.gif


--------------------

Download my free guitar and Floyd Rose setup guide: http://www.samsguitars.tk/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 25 2013, 07:53 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.760
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



BINGO!!! You should not have to give up sustain for noise suppression. I stack two gates in the chain in OVERLOUD in addition to the main gate in order to stagger them and have each working on a different noise level so I can keep some sustain. THe pedal noise gates in overloud are also Limiters/Expanders so you can tweak them to adjust the signal itself so it needs less gate. Getting WADS of gain and not having CRAZY noise is an ART smile.gif WHen using AMPLITUDE I always had to use Gates/compressors/expanders external to AMPLITUDE which increased CPU drain quite a bit on each guitar channel. Even AMPLITUDE METAL has the same issue.


Todd


QUOTE (vonhotch @ Jan 17 2013, 04:22 PM) *
Good info. I do not like the noise gate in amplitube, it feels to me like I have to choose between sustain or noise, and can never get it just right. I have read good things about the stock fx in reaper, but haven't messed with them enough. I am gonna give this a shot it is definitely waaaaaaaay more adjustable.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2017 - 05:41 AM