Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Clicking Monitors
llibach
post Jan 25 2013, 11:48 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 245
Joined: 19-November 11
From: Waunfawr, Wales
Member No.: 14.392



I've just set up my new presonus audio box with a pair of tannoy active monitors, the sound is great but when there's no sound they do a low clicking noise so do the headphones. Is this normal? Or have I done something wrong. I've basically set up like this.
Audiobox (usb into mac) monitors hooked up from audiobox with jack to xlr cables. While the clicking ain't loud it's annoying to hear constantly when it should be silent.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 26 2013, 12:45 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.461
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



To be safe, I'd unhook the monitors until you know what's going on. Try them on something else to see if they function normaly. Same with headphones.

Todd

QUOTE (llibach @ Jan 25 2013, 05:48 PM) *
I've just set up my new presonus audio box with a pair of tannoy active monitors, the sound is great but when there's no sound they do a low clicking noise so do the headphones. Is this normal? Or have I done something wrong. I've basically set up like this.
Audiobox (usb into mac) monitors hooked up from audiobox with jack to xlr cables. While the clicking ain't loud it's annoying to hear constantly when it should be silent.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jan 26 2013, 01:41 AM
Post #3


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



I think this might have something to do with power/electrics in your home. I also hear those low static noises/clicks from time to time (randomly). Not sure what is causing it. Also, if I would turn on some electric appliance - I could hear some noise at the moment of turning it on.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ConnorGilks
post Jan 26 2013, 02:54 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 230
Joined: 1-December 12
From: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Member No.: 17.078



I've had this issue about 6 times in the past 6 months. It wasn't loud, it wasn't constant, it happened rarely, and it always passed after a short amount of time. Usually if I turn my monitors and audio interface off and then back on the problem goes away, or it goes away on its own.

My only thoughts are that it must be the wiring in the house. The house if from the 60's and we've got a couple other small quirks in the electricity around the house, so I'm assuming it's that.

If the issue is so bad that you can't stand it, try using a power conditioner of some kind (not just a power bar, but a power conditioner to deliver consistent power) and plug your computer, audio interface and monitors into that.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 26 2013, 04:06 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.461
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Let us know what happened when you plugged the gear in to a different wall outlet/room outlet, could be electrical. Also, do the speakers do this when not connected to your interface?

You may need to get a POWER CONDITIONER. Go go musiciansfriend or whatever music shop you prefer, and search for POWER CONDITIONER. You can get a nice Furman rack mount unit fairly cheap and it will help with dirty power and spikes. Though it may not fix this issue.

Todd

QUOTE (llibach @ Jan 25 2013, 05:48 PM) *
I've just set up my new presonus audio box with a pair of tannoy active monitors, the sound is great but when there's no sound they do a low clicking noise so do the headphones. Is this normal? Or have I done something wrong. I've basically set up like this.
Audiobox (usb into mac) monitors hooked up from audiobox with jack to xlr cables. While the clicking ain't loud it's annoying to hear constantly when it should be silent.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
llibach
post Jan 26 2013, 10:29 PM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 245
Joined: 19-November 11
From: Waunfawr, Wales
Member No.: 14.392



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jan 26 2013, 03:06 PM) *
Let us know what happened when you plugged the gear in to a different wall outlet/room outlet, could be electrical. Also, do the speakers do this when not connected to your interface?

You may need to get a POWER CONDITIONER. Go go musiciansfriend or whatever music shop you prefer, and search for POWER CONDITIONER. You can get a nice Furman rack mount unit fairly cheap and it will help with dirty power and spikes. Though it may not fix this issue.

Todd

Tried on another source and they were ok, I've got a lot of things running on power close to it so it's probably that. They seem to stop after a while so I'll see how they are in a few days and if it continues I'll invest in a conditioner.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2017 - 10:36 PM