Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mac Vs Windows
David.C.Bond
post Jan 30 2013, 11:17 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 442
Joined: 1-December 07
From: Leeds, UK.
Member No.: 3.415



This might have been discussed before, but I recently switched over to Mac OS, I was given a iMac as a wedding present and I'm finding it amazing to work with both at home and in the studio.

What are you guys using?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jan 30 2013, 11:37 AM
Post #2


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



PC. For many years our hardware and daw (sadie) needed to run on a pc so it was a legacy decision.
As it stands there is no reason for me to switch to mac as a pc is fine for our needs. Our daw is happy on a pc and for mastering our processing is hardware/out the box so we use very little software.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
osiris
post Jan 30 2013, 12:35 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 19-January 13
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 17.487



I use both, but a lot of my go to plugins are Windows-only VSTs, so I usually end up in Windows.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jan 30 2013, 01:52 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.197
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



I use PC. I am very attracted by Mac's world but I'm scared too... I'm so comfortable with Windows and all the software. Let's see what happens in the future...


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 31 2013, 04:24 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.739
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I'm a Mac guy smile.gif But I"ve used both. These days you can go either way and still get great results. Try to get a copy of LOGIC if possible. It's pretty spiff and at $300 it's affordable compared to some others and has 5 DVDs worth of stuff. Sounds, instruments etc.

QUOTE (David.C.Bond @ Jan 30 2013, 05:17 AM) *
This might have been discussed before, but I recently switched over to Mac OS, I was given a iMac as a wedding present and I'm finding it amazing to work with both at home and in the studio.

What are you guys using?



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th July 2017 - 09:42 PM