Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording 1 Guitar With 2 Mics?
dcz702
post Mar 31 2013, 04:46 AM
Post #1


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



i was on craigslist today browsing and saw someone selling a sm57 mic for cheap. i already have 1 that i use to mic my amp.

in my daw i have a option to record in stereo using inputs 1 and 2, if i miced a 212 cab with 2 mics is there any benifit in sound quality? or is it overkill?

This post has been edited by dcz702: Mar 31 2013, 05:30 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Mar 31 2013, 11:54 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.841
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



QUOTE (dcz702 @ Mar 31 2013, 04:46 AM) *
i was on craigslist today browsing and saw someone selling a sm57 mic for cheap. i already have 1 that i use to mic my amp.

in my daw i have a option to record in stereo using inputs 1 and 2, if i miced a 212 cab with 2 mics is there any benifit in sound quality? or is it overkill?
if you have 2 distinctly different mics , than recording could blend tones , but I wouldn't use the same style mics
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Mar 31 2013, 12:44 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.365
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ Mar 31 2013, 10:54 AM) *
if you have 2 distinctly different mics , than recording could blend tones , but I wouldn't use the same style mics

Exactly!
Most people tend to use something like an SM57 in one position and a Ribbon Condenser Mic in another position and then blend the resulting sounds.
smile.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Mar 31 2013, 09:37 PM
Post #4


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



i see, thanks, do you have any recomendations on a second good mic for a good price?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Apr 1 2013, 09:23 AM
Post #5


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Just to add that you also can use a second (or indeed more) mics to allow you to add ambience and other things.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Apr 1 2013, 03:46 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.204
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



If you use them in different positions you will get different equalization that can be combined to get the sound that you are looking for without too much eq during the mix.

I found this videos at youtube about this topic:






--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
steenamaroo
post Apr 1 2013, 04:03 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-January 13
From: UK
Member No.: 17.367



QUOTE (dcz702 @ Mar 31 2013, 03:46 AM) *
i was on craigslist today browsing and saw someone selling a sm57 mic for cheap. i already have 1 that i use to mic my amp.

in my daw i have a option to record in stereo using inputs 1 and 2, if i miced a 212 cab with 2 mics is there any benifit in sound quality? or is it overkill?


You've had some good advice there.
Another thing to consider is that some people intentionally mismatch their speakers in a 2x12 or 4x12 and then mic up more than one of them.
The choice of mic and positioning may be similar, or even the same, but the speakers sound different.

There's a thread on GS called something like "pics of miced guitar cabs" or something like that.
There's an overwhelming number of marshall 4x12s with md421/sm57 on one driver, but there's also a wealth of different techniques on there.
Might be worth a look?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Apr 1 2013, 09:17 PM
Post #8


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



thanks everyone very helpfull as always. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Apr 2 2013, 02:00 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.338
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Apr 1 2013, 09:23 AM) *
Just to add that you also can use a second (or indeed more) mics to allow you to add ambience and other things.



That's a good point - you can use it on a different speaker in the same cab, to record ambience or record with different angle - not in front of the cone.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Apr 2 2013, 02:02 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.204
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



QUOTE (dcz702 @ Apr 1 2013, 05:17 PM) *
thanks everyone very helpfull as always. smile.gif


No problem mate! Feel free to share some samples here and we will give you feedback! wink.gif


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 12 2013, 09:04 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.746
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Bingo!!! Put them at different angles and pan them a bit off center in the mix and it will give it a BIG sound smile.gif Be careful about phase cancellation though. If you notice it sounding thin, move one of the mics.

Todd
QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Apr 2 2013, 09:00 AM) *
That's a good point - you can use it on a different speaker in the same cab, to record ambience or record with different angle - not in front of the cone.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Apr 16 2013, 10:03 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Great post and videos from Gabriel - I am picking up things myself smile.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klasaine
post Apr 16 2013, 03:18 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.849
Joined: 30-December 12
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 17.304



Here's a very common set-up for two mics/two cabs (or even just one cab) ...

Attached Image

The 4x10" (closed back) has a Royer 'ribbon' on it about 22 cm away (de riguer for overdriven sounds). The smaller cab which is a single 12" open back has a Shure SM 57 right up on it - between the dust cap and the edge and angled in.
This combination is great for rock guitar of all styles. *And if you can do it - a condensor somewhere up in the room a meter or more away from the cab (in other words - a 'room' mic).

This post has been edited by klasaine: Apr 16 2013, 03:35 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Apr 16 2013, 06:40 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.204
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Apr 16 2013, 06:03 AM) *
Great post and videos from Gabriel - I am picking up things myself smile.gif



It's awesome how much you can learn just from youtube. smile.gif


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klasaine
post Apr 17 2013, 12:59 AM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.849
Joined: 30-December 12
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 17.304



yes, thanks Gab. that second video of the bogner is really instructive.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Apr 17 2013, 07:35 AM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Apr 16 2013, 05:40 PM) *
It's awesome how much you can learn just from youtube. smile.gif


Indeed! I think that what makes the difference is the experience that you already have behind you which will teach you WHAT to look for and HOW to use the information you are acquiring.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd July 2017 - 01:54 PM