Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Video Lighting, advice on lighting
Larry F
post Apr 10 2013, 07:23 AM
Post #1

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 17.592

This probably isn't the best place to post on this, but it is starting to feel like home already here. What is a good way to approach lighting for a video? Multiple sources, colors, filters, diffusers? I have several Zoom Q3 HD cameras (long story) and good mics, interface, software for sound. I also have Final Cut Lite. I've been posted YouTube videos for a long time, but want to upgrade the video quality.

If the mods want to move this to a more appropriate forum, that would be great. I'm still learning my way around here. And, by the way, very, very impressive forum here.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Apr 10 2013, 08:05 AM
Post #2

Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Member No.: 10.636

Hey buddy!

I for one am using two Elinchrom studio lights - 300 W having a reflection umbrella attached and another one having 650 W, having a diffusion umbrella.

I usually position the big one in front-left and the small one left to shed some light on the neck of the guitar. They are quite expensive tho - I payed about 1000 dollars 2 years ago, but they will serve me a long time from now so, it is a good investment. Here's a little movie that shows a bit more about my setup:

Hope this helps wink.gif

--------------------

+Quote Post
Larry F
post Apr 10 2013, 08:47 AM
Post #3

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 17.592

QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Apr 10 2013, 07:05 AM) *
Hey buddy!

I for one am using two Elinchrom studio lights - 300 W having a reflection umbrella attached and another one having 650 W, having a diffusion umbrella.