Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Blackstar Ht1 Problem
liveOASISforever
post Apr 22 2013, 07:04 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 611
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Scotland
Member No.: 9.844



Hi

At christmas I bought myself a little Blackstar HT1. I have now upgraded to a Blackstar HT5R and want to sell the HT1. The problem is when I play the HT1 from the the 12th fret up on the E A D strings it makes a kind of ringing noise. I have tried different guitars through the amp and I get the exact same problem. I seen on a forum that it could be a bad set of tubes. Does anyone know what it could be as I dont want to sell it on Ebay without giving a detailed description about the problem.

Cheers Sean
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Apr 23 2013, 07:45 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Hey Sean,

I guess that if the tubes are at work here, the sound quality would've been affected no matter where you played on the neck of the guitar, so I am assuming it could be something else.

I've never encountered such a problem, so what I'd do: I'd call the support line at Blackstar and try to talk to them about the problem, first hand. Or better yet, write about it on a Blackstar Amps dedicated forum. I am sure there are people there who could help out with this issue.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
liveOASISforever
post Apr 23 2013, 06:52 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 611
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Scotland
Member No.: 9.844



Hi Cosmin

Yeah i think that is the best idea. I will first call Blackstar support line and see if they can resolve my problem.

It only happens on the overdrive channel it will be interesting to find out what Blackstar have got to say about because i find it kind of weird.

Cheers Sean
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ConnorGilks
post Apr 24 2013, 05:51 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 230
Joined: 1-December 12
From: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Member No.: 17.078



QUOTE (liveOASISforever @ Apr 23 2013, 05:52 PM) *
Hi Cosmin

Yeah i think that is the best idea. I will first call Blackstar support line and see if they can resolve my problem.

It only happens on the overdrive channel it will be interesting to find out what Blackstar have got to say about because i find it kind of weird.

Cheers Sean


Also, we may be able to help you more if you could record the issue for us.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Apr 24 2013, 07:16 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (liveOASISforever @ Apr 23 2013, 05:52 PM) *
Hi Cosmin

Yeah i think that is the best idea. I will first call Blackstar support line and see if they can resolve my problem.

It only happens on the overdrive channel it will be interesting to find out what Blackstar have got to say about because i find it kind of weird.

Cheers Sean


I'd be curious as well, although it really sounds like a problem from the amp... Let us know when you talk to the guys.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
liveOASISforever
post May 5 2013, 02:23 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 611
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Scotland
Member No.: 9.844



QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Apr 24 2013, 07:16 AM) *
I'd be curious as well, although it really sounds like a problem from the amp... Let us know when you talk to the guys.


Hi Cosmin

I contacted Blackstar and they never replied back. So I done a little searching on google and came across something called a microphonic tube. I believe that this could be the problem although I am not 100% sure.

Here is what wiki has to say about it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microphonics

Cheers Sean
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post May 6 2013, 08:47 AM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



I think I understand the phenomenon but still, since it is not sure at all, I'd also take some time to do a little research on Blackstar dedicated forums, where I am sure you will find some answers from people that use Blackstar amps. But tell me, have you tried to call Blackstar or just write? Maybe insisting with a phone call would do the trick....


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
liveOASISforever
post May 6 2013, 05:32 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 611
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Scotland
Member No.: 9.844



Hi Cosmin

I tried the Blackstar forums and never really got anywhere with it. I contacted Blackstar through a online support forum.

Once I heard about microphonic tubes I searched for it on YouTube and found a video that was making the exact same noise as I was getting on a different brand of amp. I read that you can test if the tubes are microphonic by tapping them and you hear a ping noise.

I will also take your advice and contact backstar with a phone call. That way I can speak to someone direct.

Cheers Sean
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post May 7 2013, 07:55 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Alright mate, keep us updated then and I really hope you sort this out - it would bug the hell out of me not being able to use such a fine amp!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th March 2017 - 10:49 PM