Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Stoner Rock Rec Take Screen Shot
dcz702
post May 27 2013, 09:51 AM
Post #1


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



Darius,
i didnt use any effecs, and the chorus sound i noticed also, thinking that that must by out of phase. cause thats how the last rec sounded and i didnt know much but out of phase. so i thought thats why it must sound like that on the 2nd take. here are the screen shots starting with the riff that starts with a E5 and repeats till the solo
and then 3 screens of the solo im not sure if these screen shot is the first or second rec take as i delete files to free up space and cut the cluter, but its 1 of the 2 and panned to middle. vid for audio was not saved when i closed the project i chose dont save, but i saved the file before i imported vid and vid audio, i do that so its easier to start over on future takes, but i do mute audio from vid, but the vid audio is captured from audio input not the cams mic, but i mute it anyway smile.gif
audio 1 is condensor
audio 2 is sm57
audio 3 is backing

This post has been edited by dcz702: May 27 2013, 10:19 AM
Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post May 27 2013, 12:25 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.641
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



I have a question off this topic, how to you get a picture of your screen in your post like you did
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post May 27 2013, 01:23 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.213
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



print screen button on Your keyboard jstcrsn smile.gif

Backing guitar look and sound ok - I suppose the phase is ok or very close to ok but the solo need more zoom. Best way is to find the highest point of the sm57 drawing and compare to the same point of the Audiotechnica track. Also...correct me if I'm wrong but do You play with the main video lesson audio? It's sound like the chorus effect is made with the guitar that was already recorded by the lesson maker. I hear some guitar in the backing. Is there also another guitar solo in the backing track?

To be more clear I'm asking if You use the original lesson audio with ALL GUITARS including guitar solo recorded by the owner of the lesson


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post May 27 2013, 09:40 PM
Post #4


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ May 27 2013, 12:23 PM) *
print screen button on Your keyboard jstcrsn smile.gif

Backing guitar look and sound ok - I suppose the phase is ok or very close to ok but the solo need more zoom. Best way is to find the highest point of the sm57 drawing and compare to the same point of the Audiotechnica track. Also...correct me if I'm wrong but do You play with the main video lesson audio? It's sound like the chorus effect is made with the guitar that was already recorded by the lesson maker. I hear some guitar in the backing. Is there also another guitar solo in the backing track?

To be more clear I'm asking if You use the original lesson audio with ALL GUITARS including guitar solo recorded by the owner of the lesson

i dont play with the main lesson i use backing only, it just occured to me while i was recording instead of recording a clean signal by turning down my monitors and using my headphones, i recorded while my monitors were turned up! hahaha maybe thats what we are hearing? dry.gif

This post has been edited by dcz702: May 27 2013, 10:18 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post May 28 2013, 01:16 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.641
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ May 27 2013, 01:23 PM) *
print screen button on Your keyboard jstcrsn smile.gif

doesn't do anything when I press it
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post May 28 2013, 01:32 AM
Post #6


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ May 28 2013, 12:16 AM) *
doesn't do anything when I press it

I do it by shift. Command. 3. Then it saves to desktop.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Blister
post May 28 2013, 04:08 AM
Post #7


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 772
Joined: 31-January 11
From: Florida
Member No.: 12.141



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ May 27 2013, 07:16 PM) *
doesn't do anything when I press it

Pressing the "Print Scrn" button is like doing a "copy". Then just right-click & paste it into a word processor or whatever. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post May 28 2013, 02:42 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.059
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Basing on those pics, there is not apparent phase problem. How did you exactly panned this two mics and what effects/process did you added to the mix?


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post May 29 2013, 09:18 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.213
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ May 28 2013, 12:16 AM) *
doesn't do anything when I press it



You have to open any image editor like Irfan view and "ctrl+v" to paste the printed image to see it at all smile.gif

QUOTE (dcz702 @ May 27 2013, 08:40 PM) *
i dont play with the main lesson i use backing only, it just occured to me while i was recording instead of recording a clean signal by turning down my monitors and using my headphones, i recorded while my monitors were turned up! hahaha maybe thats what we are hearing? dry.gif


Turned on monitors can be a part of the problem. If it's possible always record with headphones when You record regular amp through the mic.

Try to do some experiments with only solo guitar tracks - Make biggest possible zoom (You will see the bits (squares)) and try to move the atm track to find the best spot. Don't use any low cut filter cause the lows are best reference point for checking the phase. If You hear the chorus effect move the atm track i hear when it goes bigger and when You start to hear like there is one guitar with no "phase fx" smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th January 2017 - 07:49 AM