Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Instructors, Please Include Amp Model In Lesson Description
Digimortal
post May 27 2013, 10:35 PM
Post #1


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 27-July 10
From: Holland
Member No.: 10.920



In the main page of a lesson instructors are always kind enough to mention the gear used to make the recording (Guitar/Amp/Plugin/DAW etc.).

Many instructors use amp modeling nowadays but then i often see only the hardware/software named but not the amp model used.

Would be great if you guys could name the amp model (and maybe some basic bass/mid/treble settings) used so guys with modeling equipment can get in the ballpark of the tone of the lesson quickly.

So instead of :

Guitar Rig 4
Amplitube

This :

Guitar Rig 4 - Fender Twin Reverb
Amplitube 3 - Marshall Plexi (lots of mid)



--------------------
Guitars : Jackson DXMG, Jackson DK6, Charvel model 2, Hamer slammer, Ibanez RG 7string, Ibanez soundgear 6string bass, Fender strat, LTD MH1000, Jackson Adrian Smith SDX, Taylor acoustic

Amp : Line6 spider 75 watt

FX : Maxon OD9, BBE sonicstomp, Boss CS3/NS2/TU2/DD5
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post May 28 2013, 02:12 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.709
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Hi man! Cool nickname! It's that because of Fear Factory??

I use Lines 6 Pod HD 500 and I use to share my tones or specify the amp model used. wink.gif


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post May 28 2013, 08:49 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



True, this is a very good observation - since I only use analogue devices concerning the raw tone - I always write down the tone corrections of my AMT unit. Don't know if it helps, but I know at least 2 guys here that own one of those smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post May 28 2013, 11:07 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.387
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Good idea. I think I'll post the screens of amp setup if this would be possible smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post May 28 2013, 11:13 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ May 28 2013, 10:07 AM) *
Good idea. I think I'll post the screens of amp setup if this would be possible smile.gif


Best idea! +1


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Digimortal
post May 28 2013, 06:03 PM
Post #6


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 27-July 10
From: Holland
Member No.: 10.920



QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ May 28 2013, 01:12 AM) *
Hi man! Cool nickname! It's that because of Fear Factory??

I use Lines 6 Pod HD 500 and I use to share my tones or specify the amp model used. wink.gif



Yes, is from Fear Factory. Although Digimortal is probably my least favorite FF album I like the story/theme behind it.

Thanks all for considering my request, looking forward to more easily dial in the lesson tones on my Kemper !


--------------------
Guitars : Jackson DXMG, Jackson DK6, Charvel model 2, Hamer slammer, Ibanez RG 7string, Ibanez soundgear 6string bass, Fender strat, LTD MH1000, Jackson Adrian Smith SDX, Taylor acoustic

Amp : Line6 spider 75 watt

FX : Maxon OD9, BBE sonicstomp, Boss CS3/NS2/TU2/DD5
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post May 31 2013, 08:27 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.160
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



How about including the actual preset? I always include the preset/patch I'm using in a given video chat lesson. Usually in two formats at least. Guitar Rig 4/5 and Overloud TH2. That way the student can simply load up the patch and shred away smile.gif

Todd





QUOTE (Digimortal @ May 27 2013, 05:35 PM) *
In the main page of a lesson instructors are always kind enough to mention the gear used to make the recording (Guitar/Amp/Plugin/DAW etc.).

Many instructors use amp modeling nowadays but then i often see only the hardware/software named but not the amp model used.

Would be great if you guys could name the amp model (and maybe some basic bass/mid/treble settings) used so guys with modeling equipment can get in the ballpark of the tone of the lesson quickly.

So instead of :

Guitar Rig 4
Amplitube

This :

Guitar Rig 4 - Fender Twin Reverb
Amplitube 3 - Marshall Plexi (lots of mid)



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 11:17 AM