2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Logic Pro X, looks pretty cool
Taka Perry
post Jul 17 2013, 01:15 AM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



Apple released the newest version of Logic Pro X.

It looks quite powerful, and for $200 seems like a bargain. I don't have a Mac, but is anyone gonna try this?

http://www.apple.com/logic-pro/





--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Socky42
post Jul 17 2013, 01:30 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 569
Joined: 3-July 10
From: Manchester, UK
Member No.: 10.762



Finally...MIDI plugins are in!

I'll probably wait a bit before upgrading, I use too many 3rd party plugins.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
verciazghra
post Jul 17 2013, 02:48 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 307
Joined: 10-July 13
Member No.: 18.475



$200??? What a steal! If I had a mac I'd buy it in an instance. pretty happy with my Cubase 7 for $600 tho but man... logic is so neat!


--------------------
"To achieve great things, two things are needed; a plan, and not quite enough time." -Leonard Bernstein

"The only love affair I have ever had was with music." -Maurice Ravel

"There's no such place as dumb question." -Dose One
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taka Perry
post Jul 17 2013, 02:59 AM
Post #4


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



QUOTE (verciazghra @ Jul 17 2013, 11:48 AM) *
$200??? What a steal! If I had a mac I'd buy it in an instance. pretty happy with my Cubase 7 for $600 tho but man... logic is so neat!


Yeah, it looks really good. I'm still a devoted user of Studio One smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jul 17 2013, 05:15 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.836
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



It looks very good! I've never used this software but it looks very futurist. biggrin.gif


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 17 2013, 06:33 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.465
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



200 is a great price. I'm going to have to see what the file management is like because that's what killed FCP X for me and most of the other folks that were using FCP7. It went from a pro app to something so proprietary that you couldn't easily share a project/files anymore. But at that price, it's almost impossible to beat.


quote name='Taka Perry' date='Jul 16 2013, 08:15 PM' post='651009']
Apple released the newest version of Logic Pro X.

It looks quite powerful, and for $200 seems like a bargain. I don't have a Mac, but is anyone gonna try this?

http://www.apple.com/logic-pro/


[/quote]


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VilleFIN
post Jul 17 2013, 12:54 PM
Post #7


Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.426
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Finland
Member No.: 4.519



200e isn't bad price. I wonder will this run on my Macmini with 5GB ram ? I didn't find any info about system requirements.
Edit: Found it


QUOTE
4GB of RAM
Display with 1280-by-768 resolution or higher
OS X v10.8.4 or later
Requires 64-bit Audio Units plug-ins
Minimum 5GB of disk space. 35GB of optional content available via in-app download.


Dang I have OS X Lion v10.7.5 mad.gif

This post has been edited by WeePee: Jul 17 2013, 12:57 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taka Perry
post Jul 17 2013, 12:57 PM
Post #8


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



QUOTE (WeePee @ Jul 17 2013, 09:54 PM) *
200e isn't bad price. I wonder will this run on my Macmini with 5GB ram ? I didn't find any info about system requirements.


200 sure is a good price. Apple is often vague about system requirements, but in terms of RAM, 5gb should be plenty for any DAW.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dieterle
post Jul 17 2013, 05:58 PM
Post #9


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.324
Joined: 21-March 12
Member No.: 15.492



Thats what i have been waiting for rolleyes.gif

Gonna check the next 2 or 3 months a german mac user community site how the first experiences look like cool.gif

The price seems to be fair !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Jul 17 2013, 06:31 PM
Post #10


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jul 17 2013, 05:33 AM) *
200 is a great price. I'm going to have to see what the file management is like because that's what killed FCP X for me and most of the other folks that were using FCP7. It went from a pro app to something so proprietary that you couldn't easily share a project/files anymore. But at that price, it's almost impossible to beat.


FYI, there's a big difference between Logic and FCP in this regard. The initial release of FCP came from Apple and has been developed ever since by Apple employees in Cupertino. Logic was already a mature product when Apple acquired it from EMagic and the development in Germany is still led EMagic veterans. Consequently, Logic development is somewhat independent and doesn't necessarily follow the trends of other Apple apps. That's why, unlike FCP X, Logic X doesn't remove many features. In fact, about the only thing significant that was removed was support for 32 bit plugins, which I know might seem painful, but trust me, it's a good thing smile.gif.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spock
post Jul 17 2013, 10:06 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.277
Joined: 26-December 12
From: South Carolina, U.S.A.
Member No.: 17.265



It is a GREAT program - BEST $200 I have spent for anything to do with music.

GarageBand was very intuitive and once I learned my way around GB, I made the switch and have not looked back. Logic is powerful, packed full of features and accepts all the plugins of any major software like this.

Logic use to cost $500, but Apple changed their model and all programs are downloaded from the Apple store now, no disks - hell, Apple doesn't even put DVD drives in their computers anymore.

Anyway, they did away with packaging, production, shipping, distribution, shelf space, etc. and passed the savings on to us.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Jul 17 2013, 10:34 PM
Post #12


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



QUOTE (Spock @ Jul 17 2013, 09:06 PM) *
It is a GREAT program - BEST $200 I have spent for anything to do with music.

nice, ive used nothing but logic, currently i use logic express, used it when i started playing in 2009. so accustomed to it i dont think ill ever switch. it time for a upgrade for me to. im wonering if i upgrade and then purchase a new mac next year if i can instal it on new system?
so what new bout X? it looks cool! i think ill read up about it today while im bored at work
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Socky42
post Jul 17 2013, 11:07 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 569
Joined: 3-July 10
From: Manchester, UK
Member No.: 10.762



QUOTE (dcz702 @ Jul 17 2013, 10:34 PM) *
nice, ive used nothing but logic, currently i use logic express, used it when i started playing in 2009. so accustomed to it i dont think ill ever switch. it time for a upgrade for me to. im wonering if i upgrade and then purchase a new mac next year if i can instal it on new system?
so what new bout X? it looks cool! i think ill read up about it today while im bored at work


You buy it through the app store, so can download it again if you want to reinstall I guess.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spock
post Jul 17 2013, 11:16 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.277
Joined: 26-December 12
From: South Carolina, U.S.A.
Member No.: 17.265



Yes - you can install on multiple computers, I have it on 3 of my computers and my son's laptop.

Check out the new feature - especially the drummer one, you can build your own kits! There are some videos at this link too..

Logic Pro X
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taka Perry
post Jul 17 2013, 11:39 PM
Post #15


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



QUOTE (Spock @ Jul 18 2013, 08:16 AM) *
Yes - you can install on multiple computers, I have it on 3 of my computers and my son's laptop.

Check out the new feature - especially the drummer one, you can build your own kits! There are some videos at this link too..

Logic Pro X


Yeah, I saw the drummer feature. But can you do snare hits without getting the 'machine gun' effect?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Socky42
post Jul 18 2013, 02:01 AM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 569
Joined: 3-July 10
From: Manchester, UK
Member No.: 10.762



After reading all the good reviews, I just went and upgraded. Opens all my old projects fine, Logic Pro X converts your old projects to its own format. All my old plugins work fine and less crashes than Logic 9. I use a 15 inch Macbook Pro and it gets a bit cluttered when compared to Logic 9, theres a fixed font size with some parts of the UI, so some things have to be a specific size.

The Drummer feature is great, you can use any drum plugin you want with it (It'll stick to GM drum notes, so more complex Superior Drummer stuff etc. isnt going to be used). But seems like you still have to download extra some kits if you want a different 'drummer'. So if you want all 16 drummers thats an extra 5GB of space, even if you aren't using those samples.

Works surprisingly well, but the fills feel off sometimes. Heres a test I did with one of my WIP songs. Soloed the drums and guitars. Obviously the 'drummer' in logic wasn't made for metal and doesn't really fit with my idea for the song. The drum sound is coming from Superior Drummer w/ Metal Machine.

This one is my original drum idea.
https://soundcloud.com/socky42/logic-pro-x-drummer-test-off

This one is the 'Drummer' generated track, linked up the drum and snare to an audio guitar part to see how well the drummer could read it. If you drag the yellow drummer region to another track, it converts it to midi, but I didn't do it in this picture.http://i.imgur.com/VD11wda.png
https://soundcloud.com/socky42/logic-x-drummer-test-on

edit: picture of the midi generated - http://i.imgur.com/LwmJ6PM.png

This post has been edited by Socky42: Jul 18 2013, 02:21 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taka Perry
post Jul 18 2013, 06:10 AM
Post #17


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



QUOTE (Socky42 @ Jul 18 2013, 11:01 AM) *
After reading all the good reviews, I just went and upgraded. Opens all my old projects fine, Logic Pro X converts your old projects to its own format. All my old plugins work fine and less crashes than Logic 9. I use a 15 inch Macbook Pro and it gets a bit cluttered when compared to Logic 9, theres a fixed font size with some parts of the UI, so some things have to be a specific size.

The Drummer feature is great, you can use any drum plugin you want with it (It'll stick to GM drum notes, so more complex Superior Drummer stuff etc. isnt going to be used). But seems like you still have to download extra some kits if you want a different 'drummer'. So if you want all 16 drummers thats an extra 5GB of space, even if you aren't using those samples.

Works surprisingly well, but the fills feel off sometimes. Heres a test I did with one of my WIP songs. Soloed the drums and guitars. Obviously the 'drummer' in logic wasn't made for metal and doesn't really fit with my idea for the song. The drum sound is coming from Superior Drummer w/ Metal Machine.

This one is my original drum idea.
https://soundcloud.com/socky42/logic-pro-x-drummer-test-off

This one is the 'Drummer' generated track, linked up the drum and snare to an audio guitar part to see how well the drummer could read it. If you drag the yellow drummer region to another track, it converts it to midi, but I didn't do it in this picture.http://i.imgur.com/VD11wda.png
https://soundcloud.com/socky42/logic-x-drummer-test-on

edit: picture of the midi generated - http://i.imgur.com/LwmJ6PM.png


That's pretty cool. To be honest, I prefer the Superior Drummer one.

Can you lay out beats for 'Drummer' in a sequencer kind of layout, or are you restricted to pre-configured beats by Apple?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 18 2013, 03:07 PM
Post #18


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.465
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Can you make another virtual drummer track with just a kick drum and slightly varies settings? That way it might work out some crazy double bass stuff on its own?

QUOTE (Socky42 @ Jul 17 2013, 09:01 PM) *
After reading all the good reviews, I just went and upgraded. Opens all my old projects fine, Logic Pro X converts your old projects to its own format. All my old plugins work fine and less crashes than Logic 9. I use a 15 inch Macbook Pro and it gets a bit cluttered when compared to Logic 9, theres a fixed font size with some parts of the UI, so some things have to be a specific size.

The Drummer feature is great, you can use any drum plugin you want with it (It'll stick to GM drum notes, so more complex Superior Drummer stuff etc. isnt going to be used). But seems like you still have to download extra some kits if you want a different 'drummer'. So if you want all 16 drummers thats an extra 5GB of space, even if you aren't using those samples.

Works surprisingly well, but the fills feel off sometimes. Heres a test I did with one of my WIP songs. Soloed the drums and guitars. Obviously the 'drummer' in logic wasn't made for metal and doesn't really fit with my idea for the song. The drum sound is coming from Superior Drummer w/ Metal Machine.

This one is my original drum idea.
https://soundcloud.com/socky42/logic-pro-x-drummer-test-off

This one is the 'Drummer' generated track, linked up the drum and snare to an audio guitar part to see how well the drummer could read it. If you drag the yellow drummer region to another track, it converts it to midi, but I didn't do it in this picture.http://i.imgur.com/VD11wda.png
https://soundcloud.com/socky42/logic-x-drummer-test-on

edit: picture of the midi generated - http://i.imgur.com/LwmJ6PM.png



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Socky42
post Jul 18 2013, 04:23 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 569
Joined: 3-July 10
From: Manchester, UK
Member No.: 10.762



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jul 18 2013, 03:07 PM) *
Can you make another virtual drummer track with just a kick drum and slightly varies settings? That way it might work out some crazy double bass stuff on its own?


I downloaded the other drumkits and one of the drummers does actually work out a double kick for parts of the stop-start riff. But I doubt it would ever generate a full on 16th note double bass part.




https://soundcloud.com/socky42/logic-pro-x-test-double-bass

If there were separate parameters to set for kick and snare, the drummer tool would be a lot more useful for complex riffs. All I have to do for this part is drag down some of the extra snare hits for it to be usable.

So yeah, 'Drummer' tracks work well as a template to build upon.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
David.C.Bond
post Jul 18 2013, 10:09 PM
Post #20


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 442
Joined: 1-December 07
From: Leeds, UK.
Member No.: 3.415



Ah yes I've seen people taking about this, I'm on Mac but I'm using Studio One at the moment, might give this a try though!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2017 - 07:28 PM