Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Amp Sims Live, Has anyone here done it?
Taka Perry
post Jul 21 2013, 06:48 AM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



I'm wondering, is it possible to do a performance with just amp sims. All the effects, amps, and cabs done through a program like TH2 or something. Maybe you could have a MIDI footswitch and you'd get some cool stuff happening. I don't know. Has anyone here tried it before?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PosterBoy
post Jul 21 2013, 07:53 AM
Post #2


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.384
Joined: 26-October 11
From: Galway, Ireland
Member No.: 14.225



There are those that do definitely, though having a computer that isn't likely to freeze/BSOD etc mid performance would scare me.



--------------------
Currently Working on

PosterBoy's Modern Riffing with Gabriel

PosterBoy's Bootcamp with Todd



Gear
Tyler Burning Water 2K
Burny RLG90 with BK Emeralds
Fender US Tele with BK Piledrivers
Axe Fx Ultra - GCP Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taka Perry
post Jul 21 2013, 02:21 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



QUOTE (PosterBoy @ Jul 21 2013, 04:53 PM) *
There are those that do definitely, though having a computer that isn't likely to freeze/BSOD etc mid performance would scare me.


Definitely. Having your rig crash in a performance would be disastrous. I've found the software setups to be quite reliable though, and the flexibility you have on a computer is amazing.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jul 21 2013, 03:13 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.421
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Taka Perry @ Jul 21 2013, 01:21 PM) *
Definitely. Having your rig crash in a performance would be disastrous. I've found the software setups to be quite reliable though, and the flexibility you have on a computer is amazing.


Though not experienced I agree, DJ's been doing this for a very long time and they use much more processing power. A laptop dedicated to this should have a very low risk.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Jul 21 2013, 06:13 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.190
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



A friend of mine uses a laptop with Guitar Rig 4 for live work, it's controlled with a Behringer FCB 1010 pedal board.
Similar to this:-

His brother uses an iPad with a Digitech iPB-10:-


I have been toying with the idea of doing something similarwith a Laptop myself. it's quite easy to set-up as you can see:-


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jul 21 2013, 06:22 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.068
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Yes, this is possible and there are professional guitar players that are already using amp simulators live. However I have never used it in a live situation so I can't give my point of view about how it works.


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Jul 21 2013, 07:35 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.217
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



I've seen people doing this but when I tried it for my own playing it never worked. I mean...All that sounds were cool till some particular voule level. Than plug-in the cable for a change to a regular amp and to the sim rig always...the regular amp wins in my case.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jul 21 2013, 08:19 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.421
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Jul 21 2013, 06:35 PM) *
I've seen people doing this but when I tried it for my own playing it never worked. I mean...All that sounds were cool till some particular voule level. Than plug-in the cable for a change to a regular amp and to the sim rig always...the regular amp wins in my case.


Thats very understandable, but what worrys me is always the guy behind the mixing desk smile.gif

at least when there is just computer to the desk there is a lesser change he can mess-up the tone that goes to the audience (for those who don't know; sound inside stage and aduience is adjusted very different and usually the guitarist can't hear exactly what the audience hears).

This post has been edited by Mertay: Jul 21 2013, 08:21 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Jul 21 2013, 09:47 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.217
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



QUOTE (Mertay @ Jul 21 2013, 07:19 PM) *
Thats very understandable, but what worrys me is always the guy behind the mixing desk smile.gif

at least when there is just computer to the desk there is a lesser change he can mess-up the tone that goes to the audience (for those who don't know; sound inside stage and aduience is adjusted very different and usually the guitarist can't hear exactly what the audience hears).



Yeah...this is another issue. One of my friends lately sad to me that at some june gigs my sound on the front was like 5% of how it usually is :/ I'm thinking of taking my own mix and micro "preamp/eq| section to I would ask for the direct plug instead of giving some microphone that I don't know how it works with my stuff.

I also hate when sound engeneer treats me like and amateur and makes conflicts about the mic placement etc...Especially if I know that mic and P.A so I can predict what mic angle will work best for the tone I like with a currently used cab/speakers


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jul 21 2013, 10:01 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.421
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Jul 21 2013, 08:47 PM) *
Yeah...this is another issue. One of my friends lately sad to me that at some june gigs my sound on the front was like 5% of how it usually is :/ I'm thinking of taking my own mix and micro "preamp/eq| section to I would ask for the direct plug instead of giving some microphone that I don't know how it works with my stuff.

I also hate when sound engeneer treats me like and amateur and makes conflicts about the mic placement etc...Especially if I know that mic and P.A so I can predict what mic angle will work best for the tone I like with a currently used cab/speakers


Arguing about mic placement to cab. with the guitarist is a pretty stupid thing if you ask me smile.gif I mean, who's he/she to mess with someones personal sound!? I find it career damaging...

If budget wasn't an issue best would be finding a freelance guy to do the sound work. Keep in mind college students who study audio-engineering are very open to this idea, they don't require too much money (paid per gig not regularly) since its sort of like learning the job for them and fun. Usually after max 2-3 shows they start to understand the overall sound the band wants.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taka Perry
post Jul 21 2013, 10:28 PM
Post #11


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



QUOTE (Sensible Jones @ Jul 22 2013, 03:13 AM) *
A friend of mine uses a laptop with Guitar Rig 4 for live work, it's controlled with a Behringer FCB 1010 pedal board.
Similar to this:-

His brother uses an iPad with a Digitech iPB-10:-


I have been toying with the idea of doing something similarwith a Laptop myself. it's quite easy to set-up as you can see:-


That's very cool. That particular foot switch looks very popular in the computer realm. I would love to try this. I believe that if you are running it through a DAW, you can do much more than turn effects on/off, you can trigger samples, arm tracks etc.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Jul 22 2013, 08:09 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.217
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



QUOTE (Mertay @ Jul 21 2013, 09:01 PM) *
Arguing about mic placement to cab. with the guitarist is a pretty stupid thing if you ask me smile.gif I mean, who's he/she to mess with someones personal sound!? I find it career damaging...

If budget wasn't an issue best would be finding a freelance guy to do the sound work. Keep in mind college students who study audio-engineering are very open to this idea, they don't require too much money (paid per gig not regularly) since its sort of like learning the job for them and fun. Usually after max 2-3 shows they start to understand the overall sound the band wants.



We have "our guy" but he's also a musician and sometimes we even play a gig together. Also You already mentioned the second issue - the budget. There happens gigs were we won't afford to hire our sound guy (let's say...playing at gig is a kind of favor for the man who organize it)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 28 2013, 04:26 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



This is something that has been building for quite some time now. Folks are finally starting to use laptops and such live more and more as well as tablets and such. It's still a bit niche but growing faster than I thought it would. IT's a natural thing given the relative costs/results etc. I"m sure amps will start having a slot for your ipad just like the digitech floor board does now smile.gif

I've quite using amps to record entirely. Sims are just easier to deal with in terms of production and post production (mixing) and can honestly generate results far beyond the quality of any amps I currently own. Not to mention they can do it without requiring a call from the neighbors to the police with a noise complaint smile.gif

But still, in some situations, it's hard to beat a hairy high watt stack when sound guy pulls you out of the mix and you still want to be heard. smile.gif

Todd


But
QUOTE (Taka Perry @ Jul 21 2013, 05:28 PM) *
That's very cool. That particular foot switch looks very popular in the computer realm. I would love to try this. I believe that if you are running it through a DAW, you can do much more than turn effects on/off, you can trigger samples, arm tracks etc.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taka Perry
post Jul 28 2013, 07:37 AM
Post #14


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jul 28 2013, 01:26 PM) *
This is something that has been building for quite some time now. Folks are finally starting to use laptops and such live more and more as well as tablets and such. It's still a bit niche but growing faster than I thought it would. IT's a natural thing given the relative costs/results etc. I"m sure amps will start having a slot for your ipad just like the digitech floor board does now smile.gif

I've quite using amps to record entirely. Sims are just easier to deal with in terms of production and post production (mixing) and can honestly generate results far beyond the quality of any amps I currently own. Not to mention they can do it without requiring a call from the neighbors to the police with a noise complaint smile.gif

But still, in some situations, it's hard to beat a hairy high watt stack when sound guy pulls you out of the mix and you still want to be heard. smile.gif

Todd


But


Great words Todd. I think it's quite economical to use software. I think amp sims are just as great as real amps if you take the time to set them up nicely. I've been playing with the idea of using MIDI automation so I can automate everything from going clean to distortion, changing volume, and enabling/disabling effects. That way, if I'm playing live, I don't have to worry about any footswitches, and the performance will have the same levels every time.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jul 29 2013, 01:58 AM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.068
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Jul 21 2013, 05:47 PM) *
Yeah...this is another issue. One of my friends lately sad to me that at some june gigs my sound on the front was like 5% of how it usually is :/ I'm thinking of taking my own mix and micro "preamp/eq| section to I would ask for the direct plug instead of giving some microphone that I don't know how it works with my stuff.

I also hate when sound engeneer treats me like and amateur and makes conflicts about the mic placement etc...Especially if I know that mic and P.A so I can predict what mic angle will work best for the tone I like with a currently used cab/speakers



Very interesting Darius. I'm planning to start taking my own mic too, for the gigs, because sometimes I find really bad mics. I didn't thought about the pre amp but it's not a bad idea. What are you planning to use?


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 29 2013, 10:09 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Be sure not to annoy the sound guy folks, as these posters will tell you, even if he barely knows what he's doing, if you hack him off, he will probably pull you out of the mix. sad.gif At least that's how it goes here smile.gif

As for live mics, it's always a good idea to bring an SM57 to every gig in your guitar case as a backup. Beer on the mic can happen right before you go on stage. Sometimes, sound guys don't have backup mics!! So having a SM57 handy is a good idea smile.gif

Bringing your own preamp for the mic sounds like a bit much to be honest. But hey, whatever works!!






QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Jul 28 2013, 08:58 PM) *
Very interesting Darius. I'm planning to start taking my own mic too, for the gigs, because sometimes I find really bad mics. I didn't thought about the pre amp but it's not a bad idea. What are you planning to use?



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2017 - 07:13 PM