Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Get The Webcam To Record From Guitar Rig Directly
sumitnxt
post Jul 28 2013, 06:38 AM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 22-August 12
From: India
Member No.: 16.500



i am trying to figure out how to get my webcam to record directly from Guiat Rig. Currently i have to manualy sync the audio and video.
i have the focusrite scarlet 2i2 audio interface. If possible i don't want to use a mic.
When i see the recording sources in webcam I see either the laptop mic or the line in from focusrite audio interface. I choose line in from focusrite. The guitar recording happens but the effects from guitar rig don't get recorded.


Please suggest.

This post has been edited by sumitnxt: Jul 28 2013, 06:48 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PosterBoy
post Jul 28 2013, 07:29 AM
Post #2


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.457
Joined: 26-October 11
From: Galway, Ireland
Member No.: 14.225



The problem is that you actually want to record the output of the Focusrite not the input.

I think syncing is still probably the best way


--------------------
Currently Working on

PosterBoy's Modern Riffing with Gabriel

PosterBoy's Bootcamp with Todd



Gear
Tyler Burning Water 2K
Burny RLG90 with BK Emeralds
Fender US Tele with BK Piledrivers
Axe Fx Ultra - GCP Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taka Perry
post Jul 28 2013, 07:33 AM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



I've been wondering about the same thing for a while. I have an M-Audio Fast Track. There must be a way to capture the output of the DAW into the video. Maybe Stereo Mix?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sumitnxt
post Jul 28 2013, 07:37 AM
Post #4


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 22-August 12
From: India
Member No.: 16.500



ok thanks, smile.gif

i just bought the focusrite. my first audio interface. There is one difference i find compared to the normal computer and laptop soundcards. The sound i get by connecting my 2.1 speaker system to the line out of audio interface is much lower in volume and has much less bass compared to the laptop soundcard . Is this normal ? Is it because they are meant to be connected to studio monitors only ?

This post has been edited by sumitnxt: Jul 28 2013, 07:38 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Taka Perry
post Jul 28 2013, 07:58 AM
Post #5


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 642
Joined: 16-July 13
From: Australia
Member No.: 18.500



QUOTE (sumitnxt @ Jul 28 2013, 04:37 PM) *
ok thanks, smile.gif

i just bought the focusrite. my first audio interface. There is one difference i find compared to the normal computer and laptop soundcards. The sound i get by connecting my 2.1 speaker system to the line out of audio interface is much lower in volume and has much less bass compared to the laptop soundcard . Is this normal ? Is it because they are meant to be connected to studio monitors only ?


Not necessarily. I have a laptop too, and I can say that the onboard sound card on any laptop is horrible. I don't use studio one monitors, I just use regular stereo system speakers. Here's what I can suggest:

  • Firstly, I'd try using a different cable/lead.
  • Use headphones to see if it's the speakers.
  • Look at the settings in the Focusrite driver (probably somewhere in Control Panel or the system tray). Maybe you could increase the buffer size, and see where it takes you.


I'm sure it can be fixed, Focusrite is a good company and I wouldn't imagine that kind of sound being normal smile.gif

This post has been edited by Taka Perry: Jul 28 2013, 07:59 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sumitnxt
post Jul 28 2013, 08:26 AM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 22-August 12
From: India
Member No.: 16.500



Update -
the problem of bass from focusrite was fixed by changing the cables and Y connector
Thanks a lot TakePerry

This post has been edited by sumitnxt: Jul 28 2013, 10:00 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Jul 28 2013, 11:12 AM
Post #7


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



hey man, when i joined i had the same question. it turned into a very informative topic heres the link
https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=48126
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Jul 28 2013, 03:51 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Just wrote in your thread as well mate - the best solution is to record video and audio simultaneously through the web cam and Scarlet and mount them in a video editing software, in my opinion smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sumitnxt
post Jul 28 2013, 06:00 PM
Post #9


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 22-August 12
From: India
Member No.: 16.500



ok got it smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 28 2013, 06:55 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.751
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



The good news is the answer is simple.

1.)Windows Answer
*Run a cable from the headphone/line out of your recording interface, to the line in on your internal soundcard.
*use the free logitech cam utility to select your internal sound card for audio and cam for vid.

--Here is the link to the forum post where this came up previously and the response illustrates how to use the software.
https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...st&p=635829

The result should be perfectly synched vid with audio smile.gif Providing your rig is brisk enough of course.


2.)Macintosh Answer
*Use the free quicktime utility built in to Mac OS which allows you to do the same thing as above.

That's all there is to it smile.gif

QUOTE (sumitnxt @ Jul 28 2013, 01:38 AM) *
i am trying to figure out how to get my webcam to record directly from Guiat Rig. Currently i have to manualy sync the audio and video.
i have the focusrite scarlet 2i2 audio interface. If possible i don't want to use a mic.
When i see the recording sources in webcam I see either the laptop mic or the line in from focusrite audio interface. I choose line in from focusrite. The guitar recording happens but the effects from guitar rig don't get recorded.


Please suggest.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2017 - 01:42 PM