4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> What Made You Want To Play The Guitar?
rokchik
post Jul 6 2007, 01:36 AM
Post #1

Moderator - The Dark Canuck
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Member No.: 1.395

Hello everybody! biggrin.gif

Someone asked me the other day why I wanted to play the guitar. Since I started learning, guitar playing has become more of a lifestyle than a hobby. It's all I really want to do when I have spare time. This person knows I have no intentions of joining a band or making a career out of it, so they just thought it was a waste of time...and money. ( especially since I've invested a lot of both into it) And they kind of made it a big deal that I was a female playing guitar. It was an even bigger deal when they realized I was into learning RATM and Led Zeppelin and not playing country all the time or learning some mellow Jewel song. It's a very narrow minded person I'm talking about by the way. This got me thinking about the subject and I figured I pose the question to my fellow GMC'ers especially the ladies.

What made you pick up this glorious instrument and make you want to play?

For me it was nothing more than something I just always wanted to do. I can remember bugging my parents to by me a guitar when I was little but they never would get me one. That longing to learn was always with me. When I turned 28 something clicked...I was getting really close to 30. (All down hill from there... laugh.gif ) and I hadn't really done a lot of the stuff I had hoped to do by the time I was 30. I decided then that I would learn how to play guitar (and go on a Shark dive...was planned for this fall but now is booked for next fall can't wait) and I haven't looked back. I turned 30 in April and I love every minute that I have a guitar in my hand. My only regret is that I never learned sooner.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Aaron
post Jul 6 2007, 01:42 AM
Post #2

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 1.820