Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Gp 5 Vs Win 7 64 Bit, help needed
Darius Wave
post Nov 10 2013, 05:56 PM
Post #1


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.218
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Hello. Some of You already know I'm switching to a new machine. Currently all of my free time I spend on trying to get all necessary things working on this one. Unfortunately some things just don't work.

I made an instalation of guitar pro 5 and it seems like the installation goes ok but it don't want to launch. I see the starting sceen but when everything loads I just dissappear. Anybody had similar problems?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Headbanger
post Nov 10 2013, 06:43 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 18-January 13
From: 3rd stone from the Sun
Member No.: 17.478



Did you install it into : Program files (x86) ?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Nov 10 2013, 08:22 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.218
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



I think I try both (program files 32 bit too) but I'll recheck again


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 10 2013, 10:29 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.432
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



I remember some programs (or something inside the program) compatibility came with update later on


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Nov 10 2013, 10:44 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.218
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Checked it out. As I said - x86 folder does not work too. I insert the serial number, then it goes ok and when You think You almost got it , the window become closed ...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Socky42
post Nov 10 2013, 11:15 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 546
Joined: 3-July 10
From: Manchester, UK
Member No.: 10.762



What version of GP5 is it?

Guitar Pro 5.2 works on my 64-bit Windows 7

http://getsatisfaction.guitar-pro.com/arobas_music is their official support site, so you could try asking there.

Hopefully they won't just tell you to buy Guitar Pro 6 laugh.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Nov 11 2013, 12:50 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.218
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



QUOTE (Socky42 @ Nov 10 2013, 11:15 PM) *
What version of GP5 is it?

Guitar Pro 5.2 works on my 64-bit Windows 7

http://getsatisfaction.guitar-pro.com/arobas_music is their official support site, so you could try asking there.

Hopefully they won't just tell you to buy Guitar Pro 6 laugh.gif



This is exactly what I thought at fisrt! Unfortunately this is something that probably most of producers would do. Saying "Man...there is GP6 why do You bother us with an old version tongue.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
korblitz
post Nov 11 2013, 01:19 PM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 397
Joined: 16-August 12
Member No.: 16.462



http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...de-in-windows-7

Have you tried emulating windows xp on windows 7?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Nov 11 2013, 02:24 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.218
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



I heard of this but seems like I have a home premium 7...gotta buy and upgrade to Professional at least to be able to use that mode. But thanx for the tip. I try to search the net..maybe someone found the reason of this bug. I think I'll go back to it once I get my all other soft done.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mad
post Nov 11 2013, 04:42 PM
Post #10


Accomplished Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 686
Joined: 27-December 10
From: Germany
Member No.: 11.900



Hey Darius,

did you tried the XP-compatibility-mode? Just right-click the gp5-icon -> properties -> compatibility and check that box which enables compatibility mode for Windows XP SP3

btw GP5 runs fine on my machine (Win7 64bit) and I did a normal installation...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Headbanger
post Nov 11 2013, 06:57 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 18-January 13
From: 3rd stone from the Sun
Member No.: 17.478



I just found quite an interesting thread on Gearslutz.com which might be worth reading Darius...someone experiences same problems but with Pro tools Ten instead Guitar Pro. A number of suggestions are made....It may help?

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/pro-tools-1...ws-7-64bit.html


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Nov 12 2013, 09:45 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.218
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



QUOTE (mad @ Nov 11 2013, 04:42 PM) *
Hey Darius,

did you tried the XP-compatibility-mode? Just right-click the gp5-icon -> properties -> compatibility and check that box which enables compatibility mode for Windows XP SP3

btw GP5 runs fine on my machine (Win7 64bit) and I did a normal installation...



Thanx mad! Yes I tried but didn't work. All situation end up the same. I was wondering maybe it's not the GP5 that has a problem but the windows itself. You know - it's a pretty fresh instalation...maybe I missed to install some basic component...hmmm

QUOTE (Headbanger @ Nov 11 2013, 06:57 PM) *
I just found quite an interesting thread on Gearslutz.com which might be worth reading Darius...someone experiences same problems but with Pro tools Ten instead Guitar Pro. A number of suggestions are made....It may help?

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/pro-tools-1...ws-7-64bit.html



Thanx Rod! I'll try to dig that. Maybe I'll find some help there smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th January 2017 - 12:37 AM