Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tremolo Help Please ?
Ben Higgins
post Nov 21 2013, 01:54 PM
Post #1


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.788
Joined: 11-March 10
From: England
Member No.: 9.820



Hi guys. I'm most likely going to have to replace my double locking tremolo on my Jackson. It's a 'licensed under Floyd Rose' system. I've never had an original FR.

Only thing is, the measurements of all of the tremolos I've been looking at are bigger than what I have. Some of them are giving measurements of up to 70mm from the front of the plate to the fine tuners. Something of that size would foul on the wood of the guitar. The routed recess is not big enough to accommodate most of the trem systems I've seen on Ebay. In fact, the recess is only approx 73mm long from front to end.

The trem system I've got now is about 58mm from front to back, not including the string things that poke out of the back (whatever they're called ! I call myself a guitar player ??)

So, can any fellow Jackson users help shed some light on this ? Are Jackson tremelo systems smaller than the average systems ? Have any of you needed to swap your stock Jackson trems for a replacement ? If so, did it fit without any modification ?

Help ! wacko.gif




--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Nov 22 2013, 09:54 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Hey Ben smile.gif If you wish, I can speak to the official dealer here in Romania and maybe he can pinpoint me to the correct answer - I'll write them an email today and keep you posted!



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Nov 22 2013, 10:03 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.788
Joined: 11-March 10
From: England
Member No.: 9.820



QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Nov 22 2013, 08:54 AM) *
Hey Ben smile.gif If you wish, I can speak to the official dealer here in Romania and maybe he can pinpoint me to the correct answer - I'll write them an email today and keep you posted!


Man, that would be really helpful - thank you smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Nov 22 2013, 10:39 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Nothing to it mate - writing the email right away!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Nov 27 2013, 02:02 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.755
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



You might look at the EDGE PRO as it's got a much more shallow depth for the cavity required. smile.gif Here is a pic and a link.


http://www.thomann.de/gb/ibanez_floyd_rose...molo_chrome.htm

Attached Image




QUOTE (Ben Higgins @ Nov 21 2013, 07:54 AM) *
Hi guys. I'm most likely going to have to replace my double locking tremolo on my Jackson. It's a 'licensed under Floyd Rose' system. I've never had an original FR.

Only thing is, the measurements of all of the tremolos I've been looking at are bigger than what I have. Some of them are giving measurements of up to 70mm from the front of the plate to the fine tuners. Something of that size would foul on the wood of the guitar. The routed recess is not big enough to accommodate most of the trem systems I've seen on Ebay. In fact, the recess is only approx 73mm long from front to end.

The trem system I've got now is about 58mm from front to back, not including the string things that poke out of the back (whatever they're called ! I call myself a guitar player ??)

So, can any fellow Jackson users help shed some light on this ? Are Jackson tremelo systems smaller than the average systems ? Have any of you needed to swap your stock Jackson trems for a replacement ? If so, did it fit without any modification ?

Help ! wacko.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Nov 27 2013, 02:49 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Hey Ben - unfortunately, these guys weren't able to help out, as they told me they will have to write to their USA counterpart to find out... sad.gif If it's not a rush, I will bug them a bit more to manage to come up with an answer..


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Nov 27 2013, 03:19 PM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.540
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



When I changed my licensed under FR on my 7 string, I had to file out a bit more room for the Original FR, but it worked out fine in the end, but that was only like a 10th of an inch. I'm guessing that's not really an option?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Nov 27 2013, 04:31 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.788
Joined: 11-March 10
From: England
Member No.: 9.820



QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Nov 27 2013, 01:49 PM) *
Hey Ben - unfortunately, these guys weren't able to help out, as they told me they will have to write to their USA counterpart to find out... sad.gif If it's not a rush, I will bug them a bit more to manage to come up with an answer..


No it's ok, C-Man - thanks for doing that - it's my responsibility really smile.gif

QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Nov 27 2013, 02:19 PM) *
When I changed my licensed under FR on my 7 string, I had to file out a bit more room for the Original FR, but it worked out fine in the end, but that was only like a 10th of an inch. I'm guessing that's not really an option?


Well I don't know how it would work.. does it not affect the lacquered finish ?

QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Nov 27 2013, 01:02 PM) *
You might look at the EDGE PRO as it's got a much more shallow depth for the cavity required. smile.gif Here is a pic and a link.


http://www.thomann.de/gb/ibanez_floyd_rose...molo_chrome.htm


Cheers T-Master smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Insidious
post Nov 27 2013, 04:37 PM
Post #9


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 21-March 12
From: Arlington, Texas USA
Member No.: 15.493



I could be wrong, but there should be a model # on the underside of your old tremolo. If so, you could google it and find the right part.


--------------------
"Everything in your life is a reflection of a choice you have made. If you want a different result, make a different choice."

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klasaine
post Nov 27 2013, 07:27 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.849
Joined: 30-December 12
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 17.304



QUOTE (Insidious @ Nov 27 2013, 07:37 AM) *
I could be wrong, but there should be a model # on the underside of your old tremolo. If so, you could google it and find the right part.


Jackson may be able to help you - ? I would (literally) call them.
http://www.jacksonguitars.com/company/contact.php

You've probably seen all this but just in case ...
http://www.jacksonguitars.com/products/sea...rtno=0062565000
http://www.guitarpartssite.com/Floyd-Rose-Parts-s/227.htm
http://www.allparts.com/floyd-rose



This post has been edited by klasaine: Nov 27 2013, 07:32 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Nov 28 2013, 12:55 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.841
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



if you cant find ones that will fit, first you will have to find some dowels to fill the holes that you have when you remove the pivot pegs, then glue new dowels in place making sure the dowels are a tight fit and I would use gorilla glue or something that will expand to fill any gaps( I would prefer to have as few and tiny gaps as possible) let cure then drill new holes for new tremolo( as long as you drill holes in right place)and drillin holes in right place is the part that people usually let a pro do, but if they are in the right place- they are in the right place
if you need routing so that the new system will fit, I would take it to a shop at that point
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Nov 28 2013, 09:23 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ Nov 27 2013, 11:55 PM) *
if you cant find ones that will fit, first you will have to find some dowels to fill the holes that you have when you remove the pivot pegs, then glue new dowels in place making sure the dowels are a tight fit and I would use gorilla glue or something that will expand to fill any gaps( I would prefer to have as few and tiny gaps as possible) let cure then drill new holes for new tremolo( as long as you drill holes in right place)and drillin holes in right place is the part that people usually let a pro do, but if they are in the right place- they are in the right place
if you need routing so that the new system will fit, I would take it to a shop at that point


I assume it could get bloody with the costs (since I went to the UK, everything seems expensive there laugh.gif ) but I would go for pro work myself. Oh, but wait - I nearly forgot that your dad is in the business, Ben. What did he say about this?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2017 - 07:53 PM