2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Webcam Questions :)
Mertay
post Jan 4 2014, 01:36 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.851
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



So I made a quick search on options for webcams, prices go from almost a pack of cigarettes to a beginner level guitar smile.gif

would something like this work well in a bedroom lighting?

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/product/hd-webcam-c270?crid=34

also, I play guitar from the computer. When recording visual from one and sound (+plug-ins) from another program, does one need to increase the soundcard buffer rate?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Barthandelus
post Jan 4 2014, 03:41 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 16-September 13
Member No.: 18.762



Nothing wrong with that cam, mate. I have a Logitech at work, and have no worries at all. It adapts to the light pretty good.

Depending on your card (ASIO drivers?), if you increase the buffer, you'll introduce some lag which will make playing bl00dy hard - a delay between when you hit the note and hear the sound.

Webcams are not really processor intensive, so you should get by without increasing buffers. Most cams process the video internally, and just stream the video to your machine - kinda like watching a YouTube video. You'll be fine - unless you have an old 486 computer running Windows 95... :-) Just dont forget to select the correct inputs for your video recording software.

This post has been edited by Barthandelus: Jan 4 2014, 03:41 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yash
post Jan 4 2014, 11:00 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.100
Joined: 4-April 12
From: Tver, Russia
Member No.: 15.579



So, on a slightly related note, is it OK to record the video and audio via an onboard webcam from the laptop ? tongue.gif Because I feel like recording some videos now, BUT, I don't have any camera to record, except the webcam.


--------------------
Play with emotion. Playing with all technique and no emotion makes you boring. And most importantly, Make faces while bending.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Jan 4 2014, 11:40 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.338
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Mertay - that's exactly the cam I have. Unfortunately I'm not able to stream full quality thruogh live chats but it gives really nice quality and i think it's a very good price to quality relation. I also didn't wanted to go for "beginner guitar" price level wink.gif Cam works very well smile.gif

QUOTE (Yash @ Jan 4 2014, 11:00 AM) *
So, on a slightly related note, is it OK to record the video and audio via an onboard webcam from the laptop ? tongue.gif Because I feel like recording some videos now, BUT, I don't have any camera to record, except the webcam.



Laptop webcam is ok if You ain't got any better Yash smile.gif Just make sure You have descent lightening. In case of video/photography a good ligth is a 75% of the job. Try to record in a daylight as often as possible and even those built-in cams from notebooks will do the job smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lexman
post Jan 4 2014, 11:41 AM
Post #5


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 11-June 12
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 16.046



I got a Logitech HD Webcam C525 for christmas, you can check my profile for the latest videos I have recorded with it.
It's a good webcam but the logitech software included keeps crashing. I use open broadcaster software instead (free) and I record the sound via yamaha preamp THR10 and Reaper.
The sound quality of the webcam is good for voice recording, but pretty bad for recording an instrument smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jan 4 2014, 12:07 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.851
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Thanks everybody! smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gitarrero
post Jan 4 2014, 12:30 PM
Post #7


Accomplished Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 4.059
Joined: 24-June 08
From: Rottweil, Germany
Member No.: 5.361



the Logitech webcam you posted is the cam I use for quick recordings (like in my bootcamp thread with Todd), it works great with room lighting.
For my green screen videos, I use my laptop with integrated webcam, which also works great when I put on some additional lights.
So Mertay, buy this cam and Yash, use your integrated cam.


--------------------
Check my band project with fellow GMCer VilleFIN
Facebook
Youtube
Soundcloud
Twitter
Instagram



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eMGie
post Jan 4 2014, 12:52 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 21-February 12
From: Poland - Wroclaw
Member No.: 15.228



I use Logitech HD Pro Webcam C920 for my videos and I'm pretty happy with the results. smile.gif

You can see them here: https://www.youtube.com/user/MJShred


--------------------
My band SKAZA - Facebook or Official website
My SoundCloud
My YouTube Channel

Guitars: BC Rich Kerry King Signature V and Schecter JLV-7-FR
Amp: Marshall JVM 410H -> Marshall 1922
Effects Front: Dunlop Zakk Wylde Signature Wah -> Boss TU-3 -> Boss NS-2
Effects Loop: MXR Black Label Chorus -> Digitech DigiDelay
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jan 4 2014, 03:39 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.197
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



From my own experience I can say that Logitech Webcams are really good. You will be able to do all the things that you are planning so go for it and start recording videos! smile.gif


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jan 11 2014, 06:21 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.851
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Hey everyone smile.gif

Since the price difference was so small I went with the upper model C310, I think its only plus is having a better auto-light function.

This function seems to be using the hardware, it works pretty good considering the lighting in the room is currently bad but the downside is it doesn't capture movement as good as when the auto-light is off (movements gets shady like ghost effect? tongue.gif)

Finally I'd only like to ask if anyone knows a good (if possibly free smile.gif ) video recording program that has good auto-light correction? I'd like to test for myself to see whats the best option when recording at room light (since most of the time I have a job or stuff to do on day time besides guitar sad.gif )


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Jan 11 2014, 10:06 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.338
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Your webcam comes with some software. IT makes You able to record vis and gives pretty nice adjustment options smile.gif Before looking for external software take a look at the logitech soft smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 11 2014, 10:14 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.739
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



This is a good time to suggest that you actually buy a few cheap lights (clip on lights, work lights, etc.) just to get started trying to light your setup so that when you go to record, you just turn on your lights and go smile.gif

I leave all of my lights setup ( I use a lod of LED based lights) and I have a remote control that turns the power to them on and off. These are cheap too.

With just 2 or three cheap work lights, you can get good light on your videos and keep them from looking like about 90 percent of the poorly lit, grainy, videos that one sees on youtube. You've got your cam! Just add some cheap lights and bingo!

Todd



QUOTE (Mertay @ Jan 11 2014, 12:21 PM) *
Hey everyone smile.gif

Since the price difference was so small I went with the upper model C310, I think its only plus is having a better auto-light function.

This function seems to be using the hardware, it works pretty good considering the lighting in the room is currently bad but the downside is it doesn't capture movement as good as when the auto-light is off (movements gets shady like ghost effect? tongue.gif )

Finally I'd only like to ask if anyone knows a good (if possibly free smile.gif ) video recording program that has good auto-light correction? I'd like to test for myself to see whats the best option when recording at room light (since most of the time I have a job or stuff to do on day time besides guitar sad.gif )


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jan 12 2014, 01:06 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.851
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Jan 11 2014, 09:06 PM) *
Your webcam comes with some software. IT makes You able to record vis and gives pretty nice adjustment options smile.gif Before looking for external software take a look at the logitech soft smile.gif


Ah thanks smile.gif I previously installed the driver and the main program but didn't notice the extras as they needed to be downloaded tongue.gif installing them now smile.gif



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jan 11 2014, 09:14 PM) *
This is a good time to suggest that you actually buy a few cheap lights (clip on lights, work lights, etc.) just to get started trying to light your setup so that when you go to record, you just turn on your lights and go smile.gif

I leave all of my lights setup ( I use a lod of LED based lights) and I have a remote control that turns the power to them on and off. These are cheap too.

With just 2 or three cheap work lights, you can get good light on your videos and keep them from looking like about 90 percent of the poorly lit, grainy, videos that one sees on youtube. You've got your cam! Just add some cheap lights and bingo!

Todd


Thanks smile.gif hopefully I'll make my tests this week and soon share something to get further opinions. Led's are a good idea as such custom solutions are rather affordable where I live, I'll keep this in mind smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jan 21 2014, 01:45 AM
Post #14


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.851
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



which program renders to .mp4? smile.gif

The webcam saves default .wma

The freeone I got with the webcam (magix) save only .wma (can edit video length but can't on audio)
Latest reaper can do .mkv (and .avi but it gives error) but crashes if any editing done smile.gif

incase needed my workflow is I record directly from the webcam program thats on the taskbar and record guitar from daw, seems to work fine after 1-2 adjustments. Current problem is combining sound+video, edit and render, pm's are also welcome biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Jan 21 2014, 09:39 AM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (Mertay @ Jan 21 2014, 12:45 AM) *
which program renders to .mp4? smile.gif

The webcam saves default .wma

The freeone I got with the webcam (magix) save only .wma (can edit video length but can't on audio)
Latest reaper can do .mkv (and .avi but it gives error) but crashes if any editing done smile.gif

incase needed my workflow is I record directly from the webcam program thats on the taskbar and record guitar from daw, seems to work fine after 1-2 adjustments. Current problem is combining sound+video, edit and render, pm's are also welcome biggrin.gif


The quickest and handiest way to do it: http://www.convertfiles.com/convert/video/WMV-to-MP4.html

It usually helps a lot when you need a quick solution wink.gif Let me know how it works, ok?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jan 21 2014, 10:23 AM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.197
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Besides that converser that Cosmin suggested, you also have software like Vegas and Adobe Premiere that are great to edit video, audio, add effects and export to endless formats. However, if you just want to convert files, the converser will do the job perfectly.


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jan 21 2014, 12:12 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.851
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Jan 21 2014, 08:39 AM) *
The quickest and handiest way to do it: http://www.convertfiles.com/convert/video/WMV-to-MP4.html

It usually helps a lot when you need a quick solution wink.gif Let me know how it works, ok?


Needs a coffee break but yeah it worked thanks smile.gif

QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Jan 21 2014, 09:23 AM) *
Besides that converser that Cosmin suggested, you also have software like Vegas and Adobe Premiere that are great to edit video, audio, add effects and export to endless formats. However, if you just want to convert files, the converser will do the job perfectly.


Thanks smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Jan 21 2014, 02:16 PM
Post #18


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.338
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Good points by Gabriel and Cosmin. You can try any on-line converter. Unfortunately I haven't found and option to record mp4 directly from this webcam.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jan 21 2014, 09:02 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.851
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



I checked a lot of freeware today before going a "different route" and realized the video edit guys don't have something like our reaper. Pretty much all freeware feature non-linear editing which to me makes no sense. Anyway, problem solved...

This post has been edited by Mertay: Jan 21 2014, 09:03 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Jan 22 2014, 08:54 AM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Glad to have been of help mate - sometimes, when I am away from my studio PC, I find it handy to use all sorts of online format transformers, for a wide range of objects. Another very trustworthy and efficient one would be: http://media.io/


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2017 - 01:47 PM